The 'Recruit'

It's pretty good after a calf injury, which would tire very quickly
Corked calf, you have to play with them the next week.

Get the feeling the rest of the blokes think he's a work out warrior but he's been kept in the comp due to being the only one with AFL level endurance.

The draftable players are those with AFL attributes:
Waylen, Wagner, Goss - All goal kickers. AFL teams are always crying out for goal kickers
Brady - Because he's 204cm, anyone that size with athleticism
Maxwell the basketballer - because he has elite agility, good size for a midfielder and teams can convert basketballers

Jackel, Semmel, Moreland, DJ may well be gun midfielders, but they should hit the VFL
Brackin seems to be on the show for some personality
Smith's unfit and doesn't look a special talent, he should hit the WAFL
Hutchy looks ok, he's worth a watch but I haven't seen anything great

After the second episode it's clear they'll go through every AFL and reality TV cliche. Voss' coaching seems just one cliche after another. They've already exhausted the Waylen story without giving us, the players or Waylen any true insight.

I'm disappointed with the talent, even more disappointed with the quality of the show, but I'll keep watching just to see who wins but at the same time taking no notice of the sham decisions on who gets voted off each week.

I legit don't understand how a bloke that has barely played footy can be anywhere near draftable?

Coming from a soccer background i can't get my head around it.

I legit don't understand how a bloke that has barely played footy can be anywhere near draftable?

Coming from a soccer background i can't get my head around it.
If you are talking about the ruckman, it's simple, only so many 204cm guys try to play AFL. You don't have to be special to get a chance.

If you are talking about the midfielder.
Because AFL is all about athleticism. There's 22 a side. It's very hard to find natural skilled guys to fit all those spots, so at times you pick an athlete to develop.

Soccer is a skill game. Yes speed is important particularly for wingers right? But mostly it's about how well you can dribble, pass and tackle right?

AFL you have to have endurance and pace. There's only so many kids who try to play AFL who have the right mix of both. Basketball skills seem to translate really well in to the ability to find space in congestion. After that anyone can learn to handball and tackle. And AFL clubs back themselves to develop kicking and marking.

Entertaining show, but lets be honest, it's a shit idea. It's big brother AFL style. Immunity, players put up who they want delisted, seriously wtf is this? The ruckman was put up there, he is clearly a standout.

More matches and less BS would be good, I mean really they should be playing one match every week like a regular season and train like AFL player- have the whole lifestyle and everything involved with it.

BJ is a tosser, his one of those fitness freaks but when it comes down to playing footy I doubt he would impact the game. Doesn't look like much,all talk.

I think Hutchings is hiding something, looks like he could play and skill and talent.

But more matches, how else do you know if there not playing footy.

What did we all think of last nights episode right decision made by Vossy???
yes definitely the kid wasn't up to it. Frankly I'd like to see DJ go such a selfish human who is too fond of himself. Not sure if I liked the part with Burgess saying that Smithy was a fatty that couldn't run. Yeah sure be ruthless but remember that it is a tv show with impressionable kids watching. Not sure how much I will watch clearly the coaches love the basketballer and volleyballer for their athletic ability. Wagener is my pic but don't be surprised if one of these "athletes" get selected before him.

More matches and less BS would be good, I mean really they should be playing one match every week like a regular season and train like AFL player- have the whole lifestyle and everything involved with it.

BJ is a tosser, his one of those fitness freaks but when it comes down to playing footy I doubt he would impact the game. Doesn't look like much,all talk.

I think Hutchings is hiding something, looks like he could play and skill and talent.

But more matches, how else do you know if there not playing footy.

DJ*

I grew up with him, we were great mates back in the day. He is pretty arrogant and cocky, he was always the best at every sport in Tassie where he grew up, so I can see why he has the confidence and the attitude. But his impact on a game of football is pretty good. Pretty much a Nick Dal Santo type, he has a lethal left foot when he hits it sweetly. Was slotting goals from outside 50 when were only juniors.

Watched about 20 mins last night, has potential, but I saw a volleyball player, a basketball player, a 31 year old, a big dopey sauce head and a player who did nothing but whinge about the running.

I'm guessing there are some potential players in there?

Vossy was spot on with his decision. But to be brutally honest, I'm not totally sure how the hell he got on the show, and a few others to be honest. I won't wreck it for others but I know the final 4, all 4 boys have recorded endings as the winner which is strange but no-one knows who has actually gone through.

Waylan shouldn't be there full stop, I don't care what color your skin is, what country you're born, if your Italian/Arab/Aussie whatever, anyone with the attitude that he has should be punted before his negativity has an adverse effect on the rest of the guys. Before we know it the show will become based around Waylan and trying to hep him adapt rather than the efforts of the guys who have a passion to play AFL footy.

It makes me sick. Oh and the guy with nail polish... Oh dear.

Just watched the replay and I'm still baffled by the decision to de-list Tyrone Armitage over Waylan Manson. Smithy made the wrong call there.

Tyrone's power in his kick and efficiency in the goal kicking challenge wasn't great. But he makes up for his lack of kicking penetration in other areas whereas Manson is really only getting by on his raw ability. Mentally he isn't strong at all and that was proved in the rate your mate challenge where a lot of recruits picked him as the weakest and than he named himself as the weakest. His mental confidence is shot.

After the first episode I rated DJ's playing ability but last night he was an outright sook and potting his fellow team mates after the beep test wasn't neccesary. If he keeps up that attitude he won't win either because his shortcoming will be more visible.

I'll be watching R3 next week with interest.

Waylan shouldn't be there full stop, I don't care what color your skin is, what country you're born, if your Italian/Arab/Aussie whatever, anyone with the attitude that he has should be punted before his negativity has an adverse effect on the rest of the guys. Before we know it the show will become based around Waylan and trying to hep him adapt rather than the efforts of the guys who have a passion to play AFL footy.

It makes me sick. Oh and the guy with nail polish... Oh dear.

Why are you so pissed about Waylan's deficiencies? they are just as prevelant and real as the other boys. Are you upset that player X cant kick? does that make you sick? how come because Waylan doesn't have a work ethic your all over it but because someone cant kick you don't seem to care? Player X has to work on his kicking, Waylan has to work on his ethic, it's as simple as that.

Waylan has strengths and weaknesses just like all of the other boys, they are just different to any of them.

The 'Recruit'