List Mgmt. Trading Wellers for pick 18 (Grundy) and Dawes for pick 20 (Broomhead) was a masterstroke.

His heart was wavering in 2012. One of the problems we had with Wellers was application and attitude. Think he may have been on a strike or two too, he certainly got up to no good with his Buddy, Buddy. He wouldn't have been the difference in 2013 or 2014 and his trade value would have likely diminished.
I don't think they were sipping coffees together. Involved with models party life and rolling in dough. Lucky boys but stupid all the same.

Not sure where those "murmurs" would be coming from because they certainly wouldn't be coming from Tim or his management. It's not how either of them operate. For anyone that knows him, Tim is a very private person and not someone who will talk to anyone other than his management and possibly his parents regarding this decision. Any "murmurs" that anyone is hearing are made up by "forum posters" whether they be on here or on EBW whatever that is!

Good to hear.

C'mon mate, DH comes on and gives us a good insight into Tim so I don't think we need to pot him.
Well if you have the impression that Tim is that kind of character then you are a pretty poor judge of character!
Im not potting the bloke, nor am I saying I have that impression of Tim as I will be the first to admit I don't know him.
But from what it sounds like (unless ive missed something while I have been away) the source of this comes from the same source as all the other rumors who "know people"

Well whoever the "source" is that this comes from has not spoken to Tim or to his 4/5 confidants so as I said they are just made up murmurs from someone who doesn't know. As I also stated Tim is a very private person and will keep all of his contract negotiations confidential.

How did you know hes a private person? And how did this private information leak out to the public?

I'm working from memory here and its a long time ago. I remember an interview with David Parkin and he was coaching carlton at the time. A forward named Cook had kicked 7 or 8 goals for them, and Parkin was saying that Carlton had the choice in the draft directly above the Magpies but chose Cook over Jason McCartney because he had a bit of x-factor, even though they knew McCartney was a 100 game player. In the coming years, both players left their clubs and Cook didnt last too long at Footscray, if I remember correctly. McCartney had an indifferent career until he reached North and then settled into a pretty good defender. I'm not sure how many years Cook lasted. Now you can check all of this but I'm going senile so dont sue me.

My point is you should never judge trades etc too early. Wellingham has had injury problems but he might come back better than ever next year.

I'm working from memory here and its a long time ago. I remember an interview with David Parkin and he was coaching carlton at the time. A forward named Cook had kicked 7 or 8 goals for them, and Parkin was saying that Carlton had the choice in the draft directly above the Magpies but chose Cook over Jason McCartney because he had a bit of x-factor, even though they knew McCartney was a 100 game player. In the coming years, both players left their clubs and Cook didnt last too long at Footscray, if I remember correctly. McCartney had an indifferent career until he reached North and then settled into a pretty good defender. I'm not sure how many years Cook lasted. Now you can check all of this but I'm going senile so dont sue me.

My point is you should never judge trades etc too early. Wellingham has had injury problems but he might come back better than ever next year.

That would be great but I reckon I've seen you over the years judge player X harshly before he had a chance.

I absolutely could end up with egg on my face but I rate both Grundy as a ruckmen and Broomhead as a midfielder, potentially as A Graders in the future and for a much longer time if ever Wellers and Dawes can for a moment scrape the surface as an A Grader.

Well whoever the "source" is that this comes from has not spoken to Tim or to his 4/5 confidants so as I said they are just made up murmurs from someone who doesn't know. As I also stated Tim is a very private person and will keep all of his contract negotiations confidential.
Few people are doubting you DH. I believe the insinuation is that the Pies want to talk contracts with Broomy but he's stone walling us. Who knows why ? Perhaps the rumours have jumped to some conclusions, who really knows. Perhaps he wants to play some good footy and land a bigger contract ? I'm hoping that's the case.

That would be great but I reckon I've seen you over the years judge player X harshly before he had a chance.

I absolutely could end up with egg on my face but I rate both Grundy as a ruckmen and Broomhead as a midfielder, potentially as A Graders in the future and for a much longer time if ever Wellers and Dawes can for a moment scrape the surface as an A Grader.

lol... you must have read some of my bullshyte posts. oh well, I suppose I have to stand by all the dribble that i've written in this forum to entertain myself

Not sure where those "murmurs" would be coming from because they certainly wouldn't be coming from Tim or his management. It's not how either of them operate. For anyone that knows him, Tim is a very private person and not someone who will talk to anyone other than his management and possibly his parents regarding this decision. Any "murmurs" that anyone is hearing are made up by "forum posters" whether they be on here or on EBW whatever that is!

It is a forum like this although more archaic in posting style but has some very well connected pie posters who post there from club. ie scouts, to Eddie, to board members to your average joes even has some oppo teams higher up board members family who post on it. Also Colin Wisbey who is a freelance scout runs the site. I don't post on there but I do read it.

So yep they can get it wrong but usually they get it right or at least are telling the truth at the time of posting sometimes shit changes.

Whether or not the Broomhead "murmurs"/rumours are true I guess we all will wait and see. I hope he stays but even your posts on here suggest he isn't 100% on it either way, so maybe that is where these murmurs hold some truth?

Sounds to me he is 50/50 prospect.

Sounds like a masterstroke to me.

If Broomhead goes then it will be back to the drawing board (you cant stress over these things on draft day) but the fact is that he can play football. Should he want to leave we will just have to try and get maximum value out of that situation. Luckily both SA teams have good lists of players we might like to trade in to our club. Grundy will be a star for a long time for our club. He and Witts just need to learn how to get possessions around the ground (especially forward) and they will be an effective duo.

We dont miss Wellingham, his true colours have shown up in a weaker midfield. And Dawes is a good average low possession plodder who can only play one position. I still prefer White.

We do miss an in form Wellingham, a quick break the lines mid who worked forward and back and could hit up a lead.... yeah don't miss that at all.

We were lucky with Wellingham.
He had a tremendous season 2010, which helped us flag. But his output after that slid and we got the best deal we could out of a player who should have been on the up, but clearly was not.

Well the club was aware of his 'issues' however apparently we still wanted him. I got the impression through body language that Bucks was willing to trade him at the season ending 2012 though.

Mind you right now with Wellers and Dawes struggling and the fact we have so many experienced players who are liabilities or at best no-contributers, it is absolutely great to think we brought in two kids for what appears dead wood.

Rapt with these trades.

We do miss an in form Wellingham, a quick break the lines mid who worked forward and back and could hit up a lead.... yeah don't miss that at all.

West Coast seem to be doing ok without an in form Wellingham.
Dawes is going ok without setting the world on fire. Similar to White really.

Broomhead Kennedy and Grundy all look fantastic for the coming years.

Just hope Broomhead stays or that Dawes Trade look’s very 1 Sided

Not really.

It'll just be like the 'Wellingham for Pick 17' or 'Dawes for pick 20 (19)' trades.

We'll either be starting again with a (likely) comparable pick from the draft, or with a player we've traded for that our Recruiters think is of equivalent value to Broomhead.

Despite the criticism our recruiters have copped over the trades, they haven't done as badly as some would suggest ...

Adams for Shaw? Very high probability that we'll look back on that in 8 years time as a big win.

Wellingham for pick 17 (Grundy)? Clear win

Dawes for 20 (19, Broomhead)? Still a good chance that in 3 years we'll look back on that as a good win.

White for a second rounder? As much as he's been well below expectations, in what state would we be in if we didn't have him on our list this year? Who would have played in the absence of Reid / Lynch / Hudson / Gault all out with LTI for most of the season? Grundy would have been forced to play every game this year - not good.

Young as FA? As much as he's been below expectations, no way we could have gotten a player of anything close to his calibre in our next pick round of the draft (round 5?)

Lynch as FA? Surely he was worth the punt versus a draft round 6 pick?

Armstrong as a delisted FA? Surely he was worth the punt versus a draft round 6 pick?

Clarke and Elliott for a first rounder? Clear win there.

Jordan Russell for (effectively) Tom Young? That was a loss - Tom Young / Tom Langdon would have been competing for games this season.

West Coast seem to be doing ok without an in form Wellingham.
Dawes is going ok without setting the world on fire. Similar to White really.

Broomhead Kennedy and Grundy all look fantastic for the coming years.

Im not against the trades more the implication that an form wellingham wasn't a loss.
He had pace , a good kick, decent size, good above his head, was defensively sound and pushed fwd to kick goals.
An in form Wellers was a bigger loss then most realise to OUR side. His issues were between his ears.

Wellingham wasnt a loss. Sure we need players with his attributes (partly why Freeman was recruited) but Wellingham has done nothing since he left. Agree his issues are between the ears but I dont see what difference that makes.

An "in form" anybody is a loss. But it doesnt work that way. If they dont show that form from 4-5 years ago then its pointless to speculate.

List Mgmt. Trading Wellers for pick 18 (Grundy) and Dawes for pick 20 (Broomhead) was a masterstroke.