EDFL Premier Division 2014

Epic last round of games.
The two in particular are EDS v Northern and Keilor v Avondale.
All will revealed at 5pm of who gets relegated and who plays finals.
Good luck to your clubs.

THE edfl twitter feed is keeping this up to date.

Essendon DFL ‏@EDFLfooty 1m
Progress live ladder in the last quarter -

Bvs_TkPIEAAgWpj.jpg

Wow. Just, wow.
An incredible round to finish off the year.
All year, I just wanted to see a close competitive league and I cannot say I am disappointed.

Keilor beat Avondale in a game that really came down to the last quarter. Only four points separating the two at the final change. They assure their spot in the four and I think from their season, it is deserved. It would have been heart breaking for them if they had of spent seventeen of eighteen weeks in the top four just to fall out in the last half hour of the season.

Abers took down Strathmore in what I can only imagine was a heart stopping, glute clenching game. Amazing that that the scores were neck and neck at three quarter time and ended up being less than a kick difference.

Marby were fighting to stay in premier division. Greenvale fighting for the chance to play next week. Trailing all day, a come from behind victory for Greenvale would have put both clubs on edge with the pending results of other matches to determine what happens to both clubs. Yet another tense game with a minimal margin.

Pascovale seem to have taken the game by the scruff of the neck after the first quarter. I had them pencilled in as the underdogs. They proved me wrong especially with that eight goal last quarter.

The game for relegation. What can I say?... two points. If it had of been Doutta getting up, it would have been Marby who went down. But it wasn't to be and sums up Doutta's season. So close but yet so far. Hats off to Northern who now manage to get at least another season in premier though might not have if things had of gone the other way.
I'm honestly sad to see Doutta relegated.

This final's series should shape up to be one of the most exciting. Three and four beating one and two today. One and two drawing a few weeks earlier. The team that holds that cup up in a few weeks time could be any.

Kudos to all the teams in premier division. I have been thoroughly entertained.

As much as I wanted results to go in such a way that, Douttas and Northern stayed up, it would have been a travesty if the Saints had of lost.

Moody Taleb was outstanding rucking virtually the whole game. The Caruso bros were fantastic and the way Northern were running on at the end was a credit to their fitness. In the end everyone contributed to a fine win.

It must be like back to the future for the club, when they first merged it raised eyebrows and then when they made it into Premier they raised eyebrows.
They just have to keep proving themselves right and everyone else wrong.

It must be like back to the future for the club, when they first merged it raised eyebrows and then when they made it into Premier they raised eyebrows.
They just have to keep proving themselves right and everyone else wrong.

Next step is to build that level below the senior side.

What a great game. Both sides performed brilliantly under pressure!. I don't follow either side but I reckon Northern Saints copped the rough end of the 50 metre penalty count (Mostly verbal stuff, I didn't hear what was said!).

There was also alot of "posters", especially at the Cooper St end. Both sides did a great job and support was great (especially Doutta's in the left forward pocket at the Cooper St end).

Doutta's look like a young side where as Northern seemed to have a few older guys. Overall, both sides put on a great game. I've watched alot of Eastern, Western and Northern this season and the standard was exceptional. Both clubs should be proud of themselves!

Great move. Best coach in the league imo.
Good to see the club spend money on a good coach who can develop the young guys, rather then get someone cheaper and buy some more players.

Well said - Mick is a champion coach and pleasing the boys backed it up for him and controlled their destiny.

In reference to the other post about the EDFL twitter account - outstanding yesterday!!

Live scores, live ladder and great post game follow up... Well done!

We're in for some amazing finals - I'm not sold on this Saturday/Sunday scenario yet and was very supportive when the league moved Premier finals from Sunday to Saturday!!

Well done to the Northerners, lets hope over the next few years they can establish the club as a regular Premier division Club.

Can anyone give a true account of what happened in the U18's game?

So far I've heard 5 x VicPol cars, 2 x ambulance and kids in hospital with severe head injuries??

If anyone on here was there can you provide a true account?

Even from info I got later from Douttas people it was 1 kid to hospital, but it was more precautionary, plus they thought the umps could've set the tone early. Sounds like 1 player in particular should never be allowed on any sporting field again.

footydude67 will probably know a lot more.

Even from info I got later from Douttas people it was 1 kid to hospital, but it was more precautionary, plus they thought the umps could've set the tone early. Sounds like 1 player in particular should never be allowed on any sporting field again.

footydude67 will probably know a lot more.

Junior footballer allegedly "kicked unconscious" in ugly incident in Melbourne's northwest -http://bit.ly/1AJkSwN

Glad the EDS kid is out of hospital as obviously head injuries can be pretty nasty.
Absolutely weak as piss by the "person" involved. It's another unfortunate black eye for Northern who have worked hard to improve their reputation.

On a more positive note, sounds as though it was otherwise a great round of footy yday. Good luck to all sides in their finals in coming weeks.
Tipping Abers to get it done

Didn't Northern Saints and a few of their players get into trouble with the police a few years ago after a massive Under 16's brawl at Greenvale? Iirc someone was hit with a hammer after the other team kicked a few goals in the last minutes to steal a grand final berth

Really had nothing to do with the actual club.... Was the brother of a player... Could have happened at any club

How could the club control that??

Edfl was happy with the action the club took after the fact despite the poor reporting by the herald sun

That's not quite right. It was someone who had never supported the club during the year who came onto the field with a mallet. 1 player was suspended for striking.

Either way Mutton Reserve has always had a tough reputation dating back from the 70's, the Club need to own the reputation and take ownership of whats gone on if anything is going to change.

Really had nothing to do with the actual club.... Was the brother of a player... Could have happened at any club

How could the club control that??

Edfl was happy with the action the club took after the fact despite the poor reporting by the herald sun
I wasn't having a crack at the club mate, I was just curious as I remember an incident with NS and the cops a few years back. There are unfortunately dickheads like that who support every club that wreck it for everyone else

That's not quite right. It was someone who had never supported the club during the year who came onto the field with a mallet. 1 player was suspended for striking.
I remember that the guy (rightfully) was locked up for a year. No need for stuff like that at local footy

EDFL Premier Division 2014