Picola & District NW 2014

And incase your wondering wilty I don't have a personal vendetta on the board nor league as I actually played along side the president then player and got on quite well.

Gman i would be more than happy to be playing there next weekend. It is a great surface and I don't have a problem with it. My comments were more around the current situation. Im not sure this is what is best for our league at the moment. A legal challenge 1 week out from the GF is not ideal. I can see Mathoura's and the leagues frustrations (im only looking from the outside as I don't know the inner workings or conversations between both parties) but we need to move forward not back. The shire has spend $90,000 on the facilities not to get the GF but for the improvement of the community. Whether Mathoura host the GF this year, next year or the year after the $$$ investment from the shire goes to the community not the hosting of a grand final. I just hope the Mathoura footy club isn't being bullied by the shire into legal action because at the end of the day each and every club needs to do what best for the club and league.

Crowds at this years finals would be up on last year iam guessing. A bumper crowd at Berrigan Last Sunday, as was Deni the week before. Lets hope the GF crowd is a Whopper as well. No matter where its played. The only dissapointing thing will be if extra money taken by the league through this years finals series is handed over to Lawyers & Solicitors, and not back to the clubs WHO ALL work extremely hard to keep their respective clubs going.

Is it just me or what? Should MFNC just give up all together or what? Blokes in suits etc today measuring our boundary line to the fence? Picking every little detail on our clubrooms/ovals/courts/facilities is it just me or is every other facility in our league 100% safe ohs wise?
On the weekend after the reserves game at jerilderie I seen in a passage of 5 min a young kid fall out of the tree near the playground equipment, do we cut the tree down or do we fence around the tree??? Come on really it shouldn't come to this petty stuff, should there be a huge net up behind the netball court end goals of the footy oval???? A girl who believe it or not was actually from Mathoura was hit in the head by a footy over at the courts, split her head open by the sunglasses on her head, a strathy spectator nothing against strathy, verbally hurling abuse at a Mathoura guy on field to the point calling him to the fence, do we stop spectators coming to games?? Goal umpire officials also hurling abuse at players do we look at paying professional all round for all grades?? All of which was bought to a board members attention who blew it off There's so many what ifs if onlys. Maybe the league could offer to put all $$ back into our clubs by bulldozing the facility's and bring them to a standard that meets 100% ohs safe?

Is it just me or what? Should MFNC just give up all together or what? Blokes in suits etc today measuring our boundary line to the fence? Picking every little detail on our clubrooms/ovals/courts/facilities is it just me or is every other facility in our league 100% safe ohs wise?
On the weekend after the reserves game at jerilderie I seen in a passage of 5 min a young kid fall out of the tree near the playground equipment, do we cut the tree down or do we fence around the tree??? Come on really it shouldn't come to this petty stuff, should there be a huge net up behind the netball court end goals of the footy oval???? A girl who believe it or not was actually from Mathoura was hit in the head by a footy over at the courts, split her head open by the sunglasses on her head, a strathy spectator nothing against strathy, verbally hurling abuse at a Mathoura guy on field to the point calling him to the fence, do we stop spectators coming to games?? Goal umpire officials also hurling abuse at players do we look at paying professional all round for all grades?? All of which was bought to a board members attention who blew it off There's so many what ifs if onlys. Maybe the league could offer to put all $$ back into our clubs by bulldozing the facility's and bring them to a standard that meets 100% ohs safe?
Gm the clubs do get back every cent made every year . Last year was the first time ever where the clubs got over $2 k , they got $5.3k and the league didn't earn one more cent. Simple cut costs . $3.3k may not sound a lot but times it by 16 and it equals around $50k plus beefing up netball development .
Don't forget the league is the defendant in this case and didn't initiate the action .
Send me a message on the issue involving the abuse , your player and the board member.

I was using it as an example it honestly doesn't effect me but it might the guy it was happening to. $50k is awesome don't get me wrong great effort for the league but honestly $2 k ain't gunna move our posts lol, could the grand final still be moved back to Mathoura roar or still no chance at all??

I was using it as an example it honestly doesn't effect me but it might the guy it was happening to. $50k is awesome don't get me wrong great effort for the league but honestly $2 k ain't gunna move our posts lol, could the grand final still be moved back to Mathoura roar or still no chance at all?
If the guy is effected he should send something to the league .

I was using it as an example it honestly doesn't effect me but it might the guy it was happening to. $50k is awesome don't get me wrong great effort for the league but honestly $2 k ain't gunna move our posts lol, could the grand final still be moved back to Mathoura roar or still no chance at all??

So Mathoura loose hosting the grand final. Its rewarded to Yarroweyah..... I ask , why did it go to Yarra. Ordinary facilities and ground surface.... surely, Deni Rovers, Blighty, Berrigan or Toc are the grounds that present all the facilities to host the GF.???

I will be clear I don't want it to go elsewhere if at all possible.

But wouldn't getting the posts moved be an improvement? All I'm saying is use your muscle and get that done and out of the way while you can get the money.

Yes I know about the visitors rooms and that's fantastic but tell me would that have got funded without the grand final coming in.

I'm not taking a pot shot I am trying to encourage you to get more done now while you have the chance.

Please stop assuming I am against you when I'm not.

The league has to be consistent in what it demands so they can carry that through as the granny does the rounds.

What is better $20k on legals or $20k on facilities? Answer that please.

As for other issues well sort those out as well. The poles were the object of the article that's why I stayed with that.

I am simply trying to suggest here to get every cent you can. Why keep
Padding poles when you can get them moved and out of the way?

The object of my saying move it elsewhere is to encourage the shire to help you more. They seem to have the funds for the legals why not the lights.

Then again perhaps these other issues which we don't know are more of an issue than the poles. Time will tell I guess.

Good luck with it.

But sadly I think the rotation of finals will be buried now.
Other netball courts have been deemed safe in the league that we have played on in the finals and 3 of them had padding on poles that were under the standard runoff. Why is Mathoura the only court that have been demanded to move the lights??? Just saying.

Because they are hosting the grand final.

Hopefully this will happen as the rotation goes around get the netball courts ,just as an example, as close to compliant as possible. Push the shire harder they found space in the budget for legal action.

Don't you want the best possible outcome for your netballers as a result of this? You can get more out of the shire you deserve more out of the shire.

GM, I actually do respect your passion for your club you could have come on as any ID but you used your known one.
Don't sell your club short mate. God if you got the approvals between us I reckon we now a few electricians that would do it for nothing as long as supplies covered plus a BBQ and a few beers.
But with your mayor behaving like a twat that offer isn't on the table.
Do you need it this year GM or would next year be ok? A deal struck with shire to get courts compliant, whatever the other issues are resolved, an independent party to oversee it all.
We want to maintain bargaining muscle I don't want the league giving in to a shire wanting to leave you with a court not compliant. That will sell other clubs short as well.
Think about it but be bloody quick.
If feasible take it to the league.

Because they are hosting the grand final.

Hopefully this will happen as the rotation goes around get the netball courts ,just as an example, as close to compliant as possible. Push the shire harder they found space in the budget for legal action.

Don't you want the best possible outcome for your netballers as a result of this? You can get more out of the shire you deserve more out of the shire.

GM, I actually do respect your passion for your club you could have come on as any ID but you used your known one.
Don't sell your club short mate. God if you got the approvals between us I reckon we now a few electricians that would do it for nothing as long as supplies covered plus a BBQ and a few beers.
But with your mayor behaving like a twat that offer isn't on the table.
Do you need it this year GM or would next year be ok? A deal struck with shire to get courts compliant, whatever the other issues are resolved, an independent party to oversee it all.
We want to maintain bargaining muscle I don't want the league giving in to a shire wanting to leave you with a court not compliant. That will sell other clubs short as well.
Think about it but be bloody quick.
If feasible take it to the league.
Yes Mathoura are hosting a grandfinal so it doesn't matter that other clubs have hosted grandfinals with poles padded and not the correct runoff and facing the wrong way, so has this only been compliant since late July this year, I think not.

So Mathoura loose hosting the grand final. Its rewarded to Yarroweyah..... I ask , why did it go to Yarra. Ordinary facilities and ground surface.... surely, Deni Rovers, Blighty, Berrigan or Toc are the grounds that present all the facilities to host the GF.???
Stuyd1 blightys ground Is the worst in the league

Yes Mathoura are hosting a grandfinal so it doesn't matter that other clubs have hosted grandfinals with poles padded and not the correct runoff and facing the wrong way, so has this only been compliant since late July this year, I think not.

Ok let's go back how many years?? This rotation system is in its 2nd year.

Is there a reason the poles can't be moved?

Maybe the league should just keep what operating profit that is gained every year and put it into a fund ,build a premier facility of its own with two grounds and 4 courts. Schedule 4 lots of matches there every week ( Friday night ) Saturday , Saturday night and Sunday and all finals . The league becomes the beneficiary of all catering and admission to these games and if clubs start struggling $$$ wise they appeal to the league for financial assistance .
Indirectly the league becomes the sole decider as such of who sinks and who gets thrown a life jacket .
Not ideal due to domination of the board but would save some plenty of situations that arise and provide the league with a shit hot facility .
Sounds a bit like something else which is transpiring doesn't it .

Question for Mathaz .....

let's say the process was by selection as it used to be. Decided on in July. The league says you are ahead in most areas but we need you to move the lights. Agree to that and clear up these other problems (don't know what they are so can't be specific) and you get full
Hosting rights.

Under that circumstance would you have complained about moving the lights or Agreed to move them?

Because at the end of the day this is what it came down to. It doesn't matter what the shire has spent other shires have as well it came down to this one question. Whether you or I think that's right is irrelevant as it is the leagues choice between Mathaz and let's say Jerilderie and Strathy. They are ticking league requirement boxes you have one last box to tick???? Forget personalities, it's a box to tick? Can you tick the box or not??

Question for Mathaz .....

let's say the process was by selection as it used to be. Decided on in July. The league says you are ahead in most areas but we need you to move the lights. Agree to that and clear up these other problems (don't know what they are so can't be specific) and you get full
Hosting rights.

Under that circumstance would you have complained about moving the lights or Agreed to move them?

Because at the end of the day this is what it came down to. It doesn't matter what the shire has spent other shires have as well it came down to this one question. Whether you or I think that's right is irrelevant as it is the leagues choice between Mathaz and let's say Jerilderie and Strathy. They are ticking league requirement boxes you have one last box to tick???? Forget personalities, it's a box to tick? Can you tick the box or not??
Wilty again you make out like it is only the light poles as an issue. Again the league has mentioned and maintained that there was a list of issues not addressed.
It is also probably not a simple box to tick. Underground power, crane to stabilise, suitable ground to fix the pole to. I still struggle with the argument about how a G/F needs to have a different standard to any other final (padded light posts v moved posts). Look at the crowds so far, plenty of people to showcase our league to.

GM Should Mathoura just give up? Short answer is YES, for now. There are no winners with MFC's current course of action. The only thing that can come from legal action is a huge lawyer's bill to either MFC or the other 16 clubs represented by the PDFNL. As I've previously stated Mathoura's situation is not one that any club would want to be in and I genuinely feel sorry for them. However, the decision has been made and taking the league to court 9 days before the the Grand Final is ridiculous. A better choice would have been to try and address the issue post season. There are 8 other NW clubs in limbo waiting on what will come of tomorrow's hearing. Im sure there are clubs that have booked buses to Yarroweyah , Grand Final Night functions, etc. What happens to Yarroweyah if MFC win the injunction?

Also GM, the spectators that had the verbal altercation with yourself and Kirby (assuming we are talking about the issue immediately before kirby was yellow carded?) were Tocumwal Supporters, Just wanted to clear that up.

Maybe someones in brucey boys pocket to keep his position..

wouldIlietoyou said:
Or they were next in the rotation having had the prelim last year. They don't have a final to organise this year. I guess that's the built in back up plan.

Look mate it really is one big joke its small town county footy not the AFL how many injuries have been caused ever due to these requirements the league ask for?? And it may be the league just following oh&s laws or whatever but comon there is that much politics in the game now its just a load of crap..

Maybe someones in brucey boys pocket to keep his position..
Feasible , after all being on the board is hugely rewarding to the individual board members, financially and other . But then again don't the clubs elect the board not individuals upon the board .
People who go onto football boards , do it solely for personally reward don't they ?