List Mgmt. AFC - 2014 Drafting and Trading

Can't argue with that, but the question is how much more.

I believe Nobes when he says he has calculated what each club will do with their first rounder/s and this down-grade won't cost us. (As others have said, it sounds like we are after Duggan, a quick outside left-footer, who the phantom drafts put around 10-17).

The other thing is what that range of picks should be littered with, in nearly every phantom draft the bulk of the players that are tipped to go in that range, are either fast outside players, or KPDs. Funny that as not only is rated quite even, but majority are a need :p

I reckon Duggan is our guy because i like the thought of an elite left leg and Phil's stated he does too, so it seems logical.

Rapt with our drafting in that we brought two players in meeting needs whilst preserving draft picks and sliding a few places early and improving later picks.

Walsh said we were ranked 11th for defense in 2014 and obviously that area needed addressing .....my opinion is we had attacking midsized defenders but no lock down defender such that Otten provided. We needed to add some steely defensive players to the defense as well as a KPD ......well we missed out on the later but really was there many options available at the trade table?

Cheney .....gee he reminds me of a Tourney ...hard tackling, plays taller than his size dictates and he's big bodied and aggressive :thumbsu: ...at 25 his best footy is in front of him.

Lowden .....We've all said big players take time to mature ...hell John Griffen took ages ...i prefer Lowden to Giles because he's a better forward, quicker & a left footer ...GEE HE REMINDS A LOT OF PETER EVERITT! :thumbsu:

Still have delisted Free Agents to choose from

Still can recruit a KPD before the draft ....local leagues and delisted Free Agents

Still preserved and improved draft picks ....i am really bullish about the club at present ....our trading was very calculated :thumbsu:
Speed via the draft

I was interested to read on the News site that "...informed judges believe they offered pick 12 for David Armitage, and sniffed around Adelaide’s Scott Thompson..." - if that is the case I'd be disappointed if we didn't strongly consider such an approach. If we could have got ourselves an early to mid 2nd round pick for Thommo I think that would have been very good business and freed up space for Grigg, Lyons, M. Crouch, et al to get a run whilst strengthening our hand in the draft. Wonder if there's truth to the rumour as I had not seen it anywhere else.

Sounds like crap.. Saints are rebuilding and what chance was there of Thompson wanting to play his last year for the wooden spooner ?

And how have we fixed / replaced our broken car from 2014?

Which best 22 player has left? Which talented player has come in to improve our side?

The issue is that we haven't fixed or replaced anything. Our car is lacking an engine and we are changing the windscreen wipers.

Last years concerns are more valid than 5 years ago, but you need to look at the steps we are taking to fix it.

Rome wasn't built in a day.

Here is one I prepared earlier.

Add to this the fact the players lost faith in the coach

List Improvement

OUTS

Rutten - big loss and will be missed, but didn't play a lot ofgames last year.

Porps - legend, but hasn't had any impact last 2 years

Petrenko - has been replaced by Eddie, and charlie, had very little impact last year.

McKernan - never achieved potential so no loss

Graham - never played or looked like he would - no loss

LJ - never looked like being able to put in - no loss.

INS

Cheney - solid med defender with some mongrel - nice upgrade on LT, Shaw.

Lowden - upgrade on Mckernan and Graham

Pick 14, 35,43,59

hopefully pick up at least 2 of the 4 that will develop and get a good career.

Lyons, and or Matt Crouch getting senior games regularly.

Tex fit and ready to tear defenders a new one

JJ having a full pre season.

A coach who can make moved on match day.

A coach who hopefully will have a better game plan

A new hardnose attitude.

No players playing injured.

Massive positives for improvements next year, with very few drawbacks.

Our list, and club has improved.

#inb4negativity

Not sure what my username has to do with anything. Silly immature posting and nothing to do with the discussion at hand. Lets try and not get personal.

To Cheney. He isn't very good. He just isn't. The fact that Hawthorn never game him more than 10 games in a season shows that. He has also NEVER played in a final for the Hawks. Pretty damning considering how many finals they played. Just not sure how people think he can come in and be an automatic best 22 player for us.
You thought we'd win in '10 and your username is a constant reminder of a poor decision. As compensation you are never being optimistic ever again.

Not immature, calling it as I see it.

No one is claiming magnificent glory. But given we were never trading completely out of the 1st round we enabled the clean out of dead wood to continue. We are moving forward.

I can't believe so many on here are that upset at the 10 for 14 swap! WTF!
do you think we can get something for nothing?
we slid 4 spots on our first round pick, 4 spots on our second round pick.
We Gained a back up ruck and an experience back and an extra 3rd round.
sure they are not super stars but what do you want for nothing.
I feel like Noble will be like the Ikea add "Start the car! Start the car!"

Last years concerns are more valid than 5 years ago, but you need to look at the steps we are taking to fix it.

Rome wasn't built in a day.

Here is one I prepared earlier.

Add to this the fact the players lost faith in the coach

List Improvement

OUTS

Rutten - big loss and will be missed, but didn't play a lot ofgames last year.

Porps - legend, but hasn't had any impact last 2 years

Petrenko - has been replaced by Eddie, and charlie, had very little impact last year.

McKernan - never achieved potential so no loss

Graham - never played or looked like he would - no loss

LJ - never looked like being able to put in - no loss.

INS

Cheney - solid med defender with some mongrel - nice upgrade on LT, Shaw.

Lowden - upgrade on Mckernan and Graham

Pick 14, 35,43,59

hopefully pick up at least 2 of the 4 that will develop and get a good career.

Lyons, and or Matt Crouch getting senior games regularly.

Tex fit and ready to tear defenders a new one

JJ having a full pre season.

A coach who can make moved on match day.

A coach who hopefully will have a better game plan

A new hardnose attitude.

No players playing injured.

Massive positives for improvements next year, with very few drawbacks.

Our list, and club has improved.

#inb4negativity

Fair enough.. Sure we might be improved...

A couple of young guns will get more experience. A bit of better luck might help us. New coaching will hopefully help. Sure we can bounce back and possibly finish top 6. But is it sustainable?

Top 5 sides added the following to their list so far:

Geelong: Mitch Clarke
Hawks: Frawley
Port: Ryder

Adelaide: Cheney, Lowden

See the difference? They were already streets ahead of us in 2014. All 3 of them added more than we have to further the gap.

You thought we'd win in '10 and your username is a constant reminder of a poor decision. As compensation you are never being optimistic ever again.

Not immature, calling it as I see it.

No one is claiming magnificent glory. But given we were never trading completely out of the 1st round we enabled the clean out of dead wood to continue. We are moving forward.

You always do call it like you see it, but with an over inflated sense of self worth (look to your username).

Sure we are moving forward. But we aren't moving forward fast enough. We keep taking half a step whilst other teams are taking giant leaps ahead.

You always do call it like you see it, but with an over inflated sense of self worth (look to your username).

Sure we are moving forward. But we aren't moving forward fast enough. We keep taking half a step whilst other teams are taking giant leaps ahead.
Hahahaha

You are putting the em-pha-sys on the wrong syl-ah-ble.

Mat-trox.

Lay out the trades you would have done if you were Noble.

You dont need to be an Einstein to realise that Frawley, Clarke and Ryder would not have come cheap. The Club is given itself salary cap relief and space to keep the unsigned trio next year, I always felt this year we would be a quiet team during the trade time. I think its unfair to pass judgement and be critical of the Club when the trio need to be resigned as the first immediate priority. Next will be acquiring an Aish or if rumours are true - Cameron. Davis would be nice icing on the cake, but is not essential.

Does anyone see the possibilities with lowden once the sub rule is gone? I could almost see us playing him, tex and jj up forward or him and jj rotating off the bench with lowden giving sauce a rest. Give Pods the quarterback role off half back, side looks more stable in general and potent up forward.

Hahahaha

You are putting the em-pha-sys on the wrong syl-ah-ble.

Mat-trox.

Lay out the trades you would have done if you were Noble.

We misunderstand each other then my friend. I am extremely optimistic about all things... My username actually suggests we are winning the flag in 2110.
According to what I have seen this trade period - we are right on schedule.

Unfortunately I cannot lay out the trades I would have realistically done if I was Noble. I can only look at the results of the trade week and give my opinion. He may have done the best he could have and the shit week is just a result of the way it all worked out. Who knows. Regardless of his intentions, opportunites or external factors - the results are the results. And the results smell like feces.

All I can say is that we are no closer to a flag now than we were 3 weeks ago. I hoped that would change over trade week but it didn't.

A couple of young guns will get more experience. A bit of better luck might help us. New coaching will hopefully help. Sure we can bounce back and possibly finish top 6. But is it sustainable?

See the difference? They were already streets ahead of us in 2014. All 3 of them added more than we have to further the gap.

Clark is rubbish
frawley is not worth all that money
Ryder might be banned for two years

Undoubtedly we have a lot more to do.

I think it was great that people on here bacame agitators for change, and am VERY happy that they were a part of what brought about that change.

I just feel that people need to focus on the now, rather than the past having secured those changes.

Most of the people that caused all of our woes are gone, and we can wash our hands of them.

The new people at the club aren't responsible for what has gone before.

So I am saying, embrace what you and the club has achieved in rooting out the rot that they have, and give those that you helped get into the club a chance to repay your work.

We won't challenge for a premiership next year as there is still w lot to do, but change for the better is happening.

So Giles will play ruck, full back, centre and full forward, I can see why he would want to go there

Yes, I can see why he went there. To play football.

You're thinking about this like a Crows fan, which isn't going to get you anywhere, because Giles isn't a football fan, he's a professional footballer.

Not sure what my username has to do with anything. Silly immature posting and nothing to do with the discussion at hand. Lets try and not get personal.

To Cheney. He isn't very good. He just isn't. The fact that Hawthorn never game him more than 10 games in a season shows that. He has also NEVER played in a final for the Hawks. Pretty damning considering how many finals they played. Just not sure how people think he can come in and be an automatic best 22 player for us.
lol and who was he gonna get a game in front of stratton,burgoyne,suckling ,gibson ,lake,etc etc do some research mate before you look stupid ooops too late

We misunderstand each other then my friend. I am extremely optimistic about all things... My username actually suggests we are winning the flag in 2110.
According to what I have seen this trade period - we are right on schedule.

Unfortunately I cannot lay out the trades I would have realistically done if I was Noble. I can only look at the results of the trade week and give my opinion. He may have done the best he could have and the shit week is just a result of the way it all worked out. Who knows. Regardless of his intentions, opportunites or external factors - the results are the results. And the results smell like feces.

All I can say is that we are no closer to a flag now than we were 3 weeks ago. I hoped that would change over trade week but it didn't.

Unfortunately, majority of trades where you bring in borderline best 22 players always feel like that at the start. In truth we won't know if it is an inspired trading fortnight or just as you said, feces for at least 1-2 years.

I'm just happy we are trying to rectify problems with our depth as an at worse and we've gotten players that as the best case scenario, could end up helping said push, especially Lowden for what should prove, not much loss.