Preview Changes vs Geelong

I was always taught that if you don't have anything nice to say don't say anything. So I was gonna just rage quietly and bite my tongue, because I guess Colquhoun deserves a shot. On Friday night. As a player returning from an ACL. In one of our biggest games of the year. I mean, he must have been tearing up the SANFL with five appearances in the top five players in a row, right?

Right??

But this ****head Carr...so blatantly transparent with his bullshit. Moore has played three games, so he doesn't even know his own midfield group. He got 2nd best against Adelaide, 3rd best against Glenelg and 3rd best against Centrals. But from a bunch of incompetent front running, let's pick Redden/O'Shea/S.Gray/Colquhoun morons I'm not ******* surprised.

Every ******* year it's the same ******* story. We'll go up to Sydney and get smashed because these ****head selectors gift games to players who aren't going to even feature in our finals campaign. Colquhoun got games in 2013 because we didn't have Impey. No other reason. He's not particularly skilled but hey, he can run and that's all that matters. Too bad in finals there's only so many outside runners you need and the bulk of the work is done by inside contested players.

We'll get to the bye, they'll pick whoever is performing out of Ah Chee/Moore to face Sydney and wonder why they aren't up to speed and every **** with an agenda on this board will say "See, he's shit!" Meanwhile a guy like Colquhon can spud it up in the SANFL but get selected against Geelong and Carlton (don't kid yourself thinking they'd pull this shit just for one game) after one solid game because he has "elite running", like as if this is a skill set that is somehow a justification for their bullshit.

I was expecting Ah Chee. I hoped for Moore. I could tolerate Mitchell if they really thought they needed to replace Amon. Those players have been ******* consistent in their performance week in, week out. But if we're playing a "Let's see how many players we can play for no justifiable reason" game with the rest of the competition we are ******* Phar Lap.
Really? How about you trust our coaches. I remember the board going bezerk when Kark was dropped back down to Magpies. Well, did you know that the reason was because he kept taking himself off in AFL games due to fitness and he is now needing to work on fitness and running games out better to hopefully get back in round 12? From the horses mouth. So, unless you are a spy or a fly on the wall at Alberton, what do you really know. Give it a break!

As others have said , I also will back the Hoon because the club has selected him . But in all honesty don't know of 1 not 1 fellow supporter that goes to Sanfl games that agrees with his selection , dead set hope im wrong ,I reckon this selection may really hurt us.

Really? How about you trust our coaches. I remember the board going bezerk when Kark was dropped back down to Magpies. Well, did you know that the reason was because he kept taking himself off in AFL games due to fitness and he is now needing to work on fitness and running games out better to hopefully get back in round 12? From the horses mouth. So, unless you are a spy or a fly on the wall at Alberton, what do you really know. Give it a break!

All year we have had lots of little issues, I reckon they are taking stock at the minute, having Ryder threw us out, trengove out last year killed us but not this year, also they are definately taking a no risk policy otherwise surely Ryder or Trengove would be playing.. I think they are working out the best team mix, dealing with inconsistent form and trying to see how the do it better leading into the back half of the year. This year is a much different beast to the last two.

Anyone who has seen how much paddy has been limping even this week would know he is nowhere near right to play - I highly doubt that he is back until after the bye at the very earliest!!

As for Jacko, he was sprinting around the boundary this morning and looked pretty good, but if the medicos haven't signed off on him fully then there is no way KH will risk him... He will play next week I reckon!!!

we already lost on the butcher pick, if we lose on the moore one too then we pretty much gave away jnr for nothing. i refuse to give up
I always try to find a positive in everything. Losing S Burgoyne and getting two first round draft picks that have so far come to nothing has at least put us in a position to get Wingard and Wines. We should have got at least one other top 10 pick but the AFL preferred to feed their Frankenstein monster.

Completely agree. Moore is a big body who can win the ball but he butchers it when he gets it and too often has brain fades (umpire touch case in point). I think this comes down to his ability to concentrate for a full game which also goes against him being a successful run with player to take Kane's spot.

All in all I think his pluses are negated by some fatal flaws in his game.
Plus he's prone to be afflicted with looks-like-tarzan-plays-like-jane-itis.

we already lost on the butcher pick, if we lose on the moore one too then we pretty much gave away jnr for nothing. i refuse to give up
Moore has shown he's a handy depth midfielder at best thus far and at worst he's ordinary, with the current balance of the side I'd rather be pumping more games into Young who's a better prospect in my opinion.
The Hoon in is a like for like-ish one albeit a bit of a surprise

Wasn't it Moore and Pittard we got for Butcher?

I know that probably won't help in some supporters minds but...

Moore has shown he's a handy depth midfielder at best thus far and at worst he's ordinary, with the current balance of the side I'd rather be pumping more games into Young who's a better prospect in my opinion.
The Hoon in is a like for like-ish one albeit a bit of a surprise

im a bit of a lone wolf on this one, but i really dont see too much in Young. I havent seen a great deal in moore either, but i like him better. Young just seems too stiff and awkward when in motion. Yeah he goes hard at it, and when he is on fire he does pretty well, but it would require him to be at 100% of his capacity to be making a contribution. Whereas other players can have real poor games and still have a better output.

What I am getting most from all of this, is how inflexible our midfield group and and 1st choice rotations are.

We expect our talls at either end to play multiple roles, but ours mids are so easily pigeon holed in to inside, outside, runner, big body, clearance, tagger, semi tagger (run with)... That's the most disappointing and baffling part to me, why we don't or can't teach our boys to be effective on multiple roles.

Even Kane struggled so badly with it under Primus. Rightly or wrongly, he was asked to play a different role and struggled.

Exception: Robbie Gray, Wingard.

I was always taught that if you don't have anything nice to say don't say anything. So I was gonna just rage quietly and bite my tongue, because I guess Colquhoun deserves a shot. On Friday night. As a player returning from an ACL. In one of our biggest games of the year. I mean, he must have been tearing up the SANFL with five appearances in the top five players in a row, right?

Right??

But this ****head Carr...so blatantly transparent with his bullshit. Moore has played three games, so he doesn't even know his own midfield group. He got 2nd best against Adelaide, 3rd best against Glenelg and 3rd best against Centrals. But from a bunch of incompetent front running, let's pick Redden/O'Shea/S.Gray/Colquhoun morons I'm not ******* surprised.

Every ******* year it's the same ******* story. We'll go up to Sydney and get smashed because these ****head selectors gift games to players who aren't going to even feature in our finals campaign. Colquhoun got games in 2013 because we didn't have Impey. No other reason. He's not particularly skilled but hey, he can run and that's all that matters. Too bad in finals there's only so many outside runners you need and the bulk of the work is done by inside contested players.

We'll get to the bye, they'll pick whoever is performing out of Ah Chee/Moore to face Sydney and wonder why they aren't up to speed and every **** with an agenda on this board will say "See, he's shit!" Meanwhile a guy like Colquhon can spud it up in the SANFL but get selected against Geelong and Carlton (don't kid yourself thinking they'd pull this shit just for one game) after one solid game because he has "elite running", like as if this is a skill set that is somehow a justification for their bullshit.

I was expecting Ah Chee. I hoped for Moore. I could tolerate Mitchell if they really thought they needed to replace Amon. Those players have been ******* consistent in their performance week in, week out. But if we're playing a "Let's see how many players we can play for no justifiable reason" game with the rest of the competition we are ******* Phar Lap.

You have to recognise that the coaching department has also got it wrong in the past and on more than 1 occasion. Redden was a disaster. Replacing trengove and Carlile with two runners in our slump last year was a disaster. Getting games into Mitchell and Gray over Ah Chee/Moore/Neade/Young could end up proving to be very costly, and for what? Do you see Mitchell and Gray playing in a winning grand final for us? Are they more ready and deserving of their place in the starting 22 when the others have just as much form, yet have huge upside potential.

I wholeheartedly agree with Janus. I think it is extremely short sighted playing Gray and the Hoon who is still finding his feet at SANFL after coming back from a knee reco. Sydney have out muscled us and outsmarted us in the last 2 outings. They pride themselves on contested footy and have killed us with their defensive zones. To beat them, we have to break even/beat them in contested footy and work through their zones with precise kicking.

The Hoon has a slight frame, needs to spend a preseason in the gym, typically gets his footy on the outside and from all reports, his kicking has been woeful all season besides his last match.

Gray has struggled with his kicking at both AFL and SANFL level. He's tiny.

I'm just not seeing where they're going with these selections. Nonetheless, I hope to be proven wrong, especially against Sydney as its about time we beat those ****s

What I am getting most from all of this, is how inflexible our midfield group and and 1st choice rotations are.

We expect our talls at either end to play multiple roles, but ours mids are so easily pigeon holed in to inside, outside, runner, big body, clearance, tagger, semi tagger (run with)... That's the most disappointing and baffling part to me, why we don't or can't teach our boys to be effective on multiple roles.

Even Kane struggled so badly with it under Primus. Rightly or wrongly, he was asked to play a different role and struggled.

Exception: Robbie Gray, Wingard.

Not sure I agree with this. Boak, Gray, Wingard, Wines, Ebert can all play as either inside, outside or flank roles. Monfries & Broadbent can go from flank to performing in the midfield. The only player pigeon holed for me is White.

Outside player out. Outside player in. Thats all it comes down to. Trying to keep the winning team together.

Im shocked Hoon has been named but will back him in.

This is it. It's all there is to it really. Colquhoun is playing because Polec and Amon are out. If it had been Wines or Young with a calf injury and not Amon, then Ah Chee or Moore would've been in instead. If it was Sam Gray out, then Neade would have come in.

I know I'm guilty of the occasional selection night overreaction myself so I can't throw too many stones from my glass house, but this is a major overreaction.

Preview Changes vs Geelong