Autopsy Hawks vs Eagles

So many issues out of tonight

Tackling -so many soft tackle that were broken out of which has been an issue all year. We hardly got out of West Coast tackle alnight.
Run - They would win a contest in our backline and all of a sudden they would have 2 or 3 ahead of the ball
Disposal - Our kicking under pressure was woeful especially by our younger players. Langford went at 41% Shiels 43%, not good enougg
Backline - They have 3 good small forwards yet for some reason Duryea is the sub, it makes no sense
Selection - Smith should never have played, Duryea not the sub
Handballs - A bit like Sydney in the GF last year, we seemed to flick it around a bit trying to find the relesse but by the 3rd handball we would get smashed with a tackle, stopping any chance of getting it out
Forwards - Like all year, any chance someone could take a mark down there

Perhaps this week at training, Clarko can pull out the tape of last years GF (or the Sydney or freo games this year) and remind the boys what we're capable of. The hardness, the ferocity, the hunger we had that day can be repeated now.

Dust this game off - we were shit. But the hunger must be re-discovered and fast. Neither the dogs or crows can beat us at the G, then it's likely Freo, who will shit themselves at the idea of playing us and we won't play badly in Perth twice.

The GF is definitely on if we can learn from tonight and click into top gear.

Good footballer, very good first half of the year but 2nd half has been poor.. I see him falling off the cliff quite quickly, especially if the teams performance drop.

What about Luke Hodge? Went missing went the game was there to be won tonight and he is our captain. Also his second half of the season has included a pointless suspension and drink driving. Interesting that you aren't isolating him.

The team had an off night, not an individual.

Perhaps this week at training, Clarko can pull out the tape of last years GF (or the Sydney or freo games this year) and remind the boys what we're capable of. The hardness, the ferocity, the hunger we had that day can be repeated now.

Dust this game off - we were shit. But the hunger must be re-discovered and fast. Neither the dogs or crows can beat us at the G, then it's likely Freo, who will shit themselves at the idea of playing us and we won't play badly in Perth twice.

The GF is definitely on if we can learn from tonight and click into top gear.

I fully expected you guys to really test us physically with your "unsociable" football (that's not an insult btw - I love the way you test teams) but for whatever reason that didn't really happen.

Watching Clarkos presser I was a little miffed at first that he repeatedly mentioned how badly you played but upon refelction he was right - it was a very un-hawthorn like performance with too much left to too few

Still think that your best is better than anyone else's but you have had a tendency this year to lose the unexpected which would be a concern but i'm sure you will have the measure of either Adelaide or Footscray and I agree with your assessment that you won't play that badly in Perth twice

Who knows what might happen if we meet again at the MCG in October but I hope we get to see it

What about Luke Hodge? Went missing went the game was there to be won tonight and he is our captain. Also his second half of the season has included a pointless suspension and drink driving. Interesting that you aren't isolating him.

Is that you Mrs Lewis?

Yeah, that's true.. The team had a poor night however some individual were diabolical and Lewis was one. Handballing directly to Eagles players, missing 15mtr passes, getting smashed on the fringes. He was shocking last night, his actual onfield performances in the 2nd half of the year have nose dived so rapidly you can believe he's the same player.

We got smashed all over the ground, it doesn't help that we start behind the 8 ball from the get-go with BB against Nicnac.

Disappointing that again when we needed someone to stand up for us Ruff went missing.. So many times he had the chance to put a score on the board and he didn't, he either hand balled to a bloke in trouble or shanked the kick.

Gibbo can't defend 1v1's, I'm not sure why Clarko allowed him to be isolated? Chip Frawley I've backed to the hilt this year but to put simply he is not Hawthorn standard, Spang is 10x the footballer. You can just tell with Chip that his brain doesn't tick as we would like, couple that with a poor skill set and we have a confuse human and a recipe for disaster.

Only positives for me was Sam Mitchell/ Rioli and Langers. Langers at least cracked in from the first minute, he's not flashy or highly skilled but he is so inportant for our contested footy.

It'd be a miracle if we somehow get to GF day.. I can't see us progressing, we don't have a decent key forward outside of Gunno, our defence is old and slow and useless when isolated and our midfield has flat lined. There would have to be some bizarre turn around from here.

I fully expected you guys to really test us physically with your "unsociable" football (that's not an insult btw - I love the way you test teams) but for whatever reason that didn't really happen.

Watching Clarkos presser I was a little miffed at first that he repeatedly mentioned how badly you played but upon refelction he was right - it was a very un-hawthorn like performance with too much left to too few

Still think that your best is better than anyone else's but you have had a tendency this year to lose the unexpected which would be a concern but i'm sure you will have the measure of either Adelaide or Footscray and I agree with your assessment that you won't play that badly in Perth twice

Who knows what might happen if we meet again at the MCG in October but I hope we get to see it

Thanks for the objective post but I'll sum things up for you simply.. WE ARE COOKED

Stratton falling over.
Bruest waiting for cheapies out the back.
Roughy looking like football is the last place he wants to be.
Hodge playing like he was drunk.
Langford and gunners would prefer to get assist stats than having a shot.
Suckling being suckling.
Really hope lewis isnt the next captain.
Frawley running around in circles like he is the Kutnetsov aircraft carrier.
Really alarming our best two players only have one or two years left.
West coast were awesome though with all their injuries this year they keep such a consistent effort.

Stratton and to a slightly lesser extent birchal have both fallen of a cliff and are mere shadows of the players they once were, Luke Bruest has also had a very disappointing year only playing well against the bottom sides , when the top side apply strong pressure he simply can't do a thing. Also we must never see suckling in defense again , play him on the wing

Breust hasn't had a great year but that isn't true. His best block of form was through our Freo/Swans crushing stretch.

Mitch and Sheilsy are the exception. The rest were absolute spew!

When I finish up here on BF I'll go look at stats and the like, read what "professional" writers have to say about the game but I haven't done that yet so I'm basing my opinions on what I saw at the game and with respect to tackling, I thought we laid a good amount. But we seemed to not be able to stop WCE players hand balling to a team-mate. Whether it's kudos to them for standing up in the tackle, or our technique was poor or some combination, it was evident to me that our tackling was not effective as it could have been.

Yep, they managed to clear the tackles with effective disposals much easier than us. Not helped by the fact many of our better ones went unrewarded when they did dispose illegally. I reckon Breust laid 3-4 that should have been frees that weren't paid. For all those saying he doesn't have a go, he tackled the house down at the very least so he was working hard. Umpiring in this regard was poor - no reward for effort.

Small ball has hit football. West Coast looked tiny in the line up yet dominated the Hawks. And did the Hawks look slow :eek:

I counted about 8 equal worst on grounds and can someone tell me why Gibbo missed the game. But so did Darling so he gets some reprieve.

Full credit to Simpson. He gave Clarko a bath. All night the West Coast pressure was sublime. And they would have been laughing their arses off watching the Hawks worst ball users launch it forward hopelessly time after time.

To good Eagles, well done

Very frustrating game, we were always a step behind the Eagles and fell down badly at CHF. How many times did we turn it over in that zone for an Eagles rebound score? Frawley playing there was a huge mistake, Smith wasn't seen all night but can't really single him out as he was not the only one that struggled. Where to from here? Hopefully we can regroup quickly and throw the kitchen sink at 2015 as I think the end of the line for our over 30's is coming much quicker than we all expected :-( other than Mitch who is only getting better with age.

The umpiring didn't cost us the game my God it was a disgrace.

Well I've just woken up with a bad headache and the feeling our club is in huge trouble I actually fear for 2016:( clarko has been worked out ... He has no new ideas.. How could lewis play so bad in one season? And there's others

Shattered

Anyone notice Bruest shit himself when he was running for a chest mark 20 Mtrs? Anyone who's played foory will know it's a shit feeling but you just have to do it, especially in a final. Punky clearly ducked his head, he didn't want to extend for the footy. He looks like he's skirting around the contests

No. Didn't see it. My mate is a Breust basher and sent me a message when Breust went under a ball that clearly went over his head. I assume you mean that one. Didn't think it was a mark chance at all but I'll stand to be corrected if I see footage of it again that shows me otherwise.

I would have broken the telly over a game like that in that last few years. But I was sad rather than angry last night, it was almost weird, I think I saw my side declining in front of me. As Clarko said I do not think the endeavour was too bad. We simply were not skilled enough to handle the opposition, pressure, conditions etc

I do not know if out ‘best is good enough’ anymore. I do not think we have improved from last year. We are collectively an old team. Hence we cannot keep improving, we can only collectively decline. I also think the other teams have caught up to us. We should have blooded more youngsters over the year to give us a different look, play a different style or bring some sort of point of difference.

Unfortunately this has not happened and Clarko is part of the problem here. I was not surprised by him saying that he is ‘going to back the boys in’. What else can he say? IT is too late in the year to start bringing in new players. Seriously can anyone actually see a Howe, Anderson, Litherland etc actually getting picked for a sudden death final after only playing a handful of games? Maybe Spangher (who is going to be underdone) and Hartung are the only chances.

So that’s it boys and girls. We are stuck with essentially same side as last year that is playing far worse than last year when the some of the competition has caught us and probably gone past us in general play and a few tactics.

So can they improve from last night and somehow win three more games? Probably not. However, while we cannot bring 3 or 4 hard bodied quick midfielders, or couple of key position players (forward or back) that can actually mark what I do want to see, for at least one more week is this:

- please stop handballing the ball to each other from a stoppage situation in the forward 50 when you are free. JUST TAKE THE A SHOT ON GOAL

- Clarko, for %&**sake stop playing Suckling as a defender.

- And stop playing Frawley as a forward

- To put your body on the line and actually pick up the ball and handball to your teammates rather than trying to knock it on, or try cute little flicks.

- Oh and Breust to stop trying to find the 2nd or 3rd option and getting caught. Has happened all year. Take the first option

Autopsy Hawks vs Eagles