Rumour Bluemour Discussion thread

if we're trading out Henderson, Yarran and Bell plus a possible 5th rounder for Warnock, accommodating Rice and/or Silvagni and/or Bradley shouldn't be an issue.

If a father/son wants to play for us with the same talent and passion as young Dylan Buckley we should honour that request, regardless of position.

Dylan Buckley in my opinion is the poster boy for Father son selections, not only do you get a potentially serviceable to good player you generally get a good clubmen who doesn't just see footy as a source of income, you get a guy who puts the club first and foremost who is also unlikely to leave.

Now I know Jarrad Waite spits in the face of all I just said, but he was always an oddball grew up supporting north Melbourne youngest of 5 children, 4 older sisters. Actually the guy deserves a medal for staying sane.

Can't agree with you here Azul, our mids were decimated and we still frequently smashed teams at the clearances. Sure we lack depth, but our mids are still better than essendon's, melbourne's and arguably st kilda's. Get those same guys playing a more organised brand of football and we can focus on topping up the real problem areas.
We got clearances, sure. But the quality of them weren't particularly great, though I thought that got a lot better as the year went on. Around the ground in general play, our ball use was bad. We couldn't get inside F50 if our lives depended on it a lot of the time. In that sense, ou midfield was horrible. Our forwards can't be effective unless the midfield can actually get the ball there, and with good entry too. I'd love to play forward for Carlton, but I'd be a nervous wreck by the end of the season. Not worth the mental health concerns!! :D

No doubt our ball movement under Malthouse was outdated and one of the worst in the league, kicking it forward at all costs and when our exhausted midfielders don't run onto it blaming a lack of outside run but being one of the better teams in the league at winning the ball at the stoppages gives Bolton and Barker at least something decent to work with. If they can get us moving the ball like a modern day AFL team which I believe they can then as you say our forwards will look a lot better.

No team could pull off that game plan any more though, it was terrible watching all of our mids have to sprint from one end of the ground to the other for the entire quarter. We were exhausted by quarter time in every game under Malthouse. I'm expecting a far more efficient style of team defence under Bolton.
Disagree that it was the 'game plan', good skills and we're not turning the ball over after a couple possessions which means our players aren't running into F50 to then stop, turn and chase. When ball was in hand (under MM), no-one was moving around at all, we were simply waiting for the ball to be booted down the line...in the meantime resting and regaining energy.

Edit: the names that sprung to mind were not mids either.

No team could pull off that game plan any more though, it was terrible watching all of our mids have to sprint from one end of the ground to the other for the entire quarter. We were exhausted by quarter time in every game under Malthouse. I'm expecting a far more efficient style of team defence under Bolton.

This.

Playing that stupid 1 v 1 style where you chase your man everywhere meant our blokes were having to do way more running than our opposition.

If you play a zone defence like the Eagles, not only is it effective you save energy, which is why WCE have been able to put in solid 4 quarter performances.
They aren't working harder, they are working smarter.

Not ground breaking but appears that Carlisle is going saints now. I work with the girl he's hooking up with. Same story - he wants Carlton, we don't want to meet his demands.

He told her he has no plans post footy, hence is chasing the dollar now.

Not ground breaking but appears that Carlisle is going saints now. I work with the girl he's hooking up with. Same story - he wants Carlton, we don't want to meet his demands.

tell her to tell him to pull his head in. Saints are and will forever be rubbish.

We might be just waiting to see how much St Kilda are willing to offer, 3 years at say 600k is not our best offer its just our current offer and we have somewhere to go. If the St kilda pull out all the stops and goes 5 yr at 750 a yr they have no where to go and Carlton could just give 5 years at less money. That is if he wants to join us on less as rumoured.

Good for him. He has a marketable skill. If people are willing to pay for it, and he's not bothered about where he works, then he should seek the best paying deal. AFL is tough on the body, and if you're not particularly intelligent you need to look after yourself before you're just another broken down footballer.

However if its true, that's a big if, I don't want him at my club.

What a flog.
Seriously do not want.

Just ran into a good mate of mine who is mates with tom bell from playing with him at morningside here in Brisbane. He was with belly and a few of his other mates out for lunch (who all play/ed with morningside) and he told me tom met with the lions officials and had a medical yesterday and is just keeping it hush hush but will announce what we have expected that he will be moving back here to the Lions.

What a flog.
Seriously do not want.

If we put up a poll, I think we'd find that most wouldn't want Carlisle for the money and tenure he's chasing.

If the reports are right in that Bolton isn't exactly in love with the notion of attaining Carlisle.....then we either get him cheap or not at all.......which is fine.

Just ran into a good mate of mine who is mates with tom bell from playing with him at morningside here in Brisbane. He was with belly and a few of his other mates out for lunch (who all play/ed with morningside) and he told me tom met with the lions officials and had a medical yesterday and is just keeping it hush hush but will announce what we have expected that he will be moving back here to the Lions.

No talk of gcs?
Is he likely to nominate only the Lions

will be a shame to lose him. I loved watching him go about his business.... though cringed every time he threw it on the boot. if this is the case, Bell for Aish... hmmmm yup - I'd take that :thumbsu: though we'll probably end up with a 3rd rounder DOH!:mad:

Do you? I just think that a long tenure and big money, a little more than just the player has to come along with it and I'm not sure Carlisle has all the qualities that we're after.

From an on field football playing perspective he does.
Also 650k isn't what it was 5 yrs ago and won't be in 5 yrs time

Is Bell not in Bali with the boys?

Let me check my instagram