Uni Blues
De La Salle
Old Xaverians
Uni Blacks
Collegians
Old Carey
St Kevin's
Old Melburnians

Should be a fantastic season, 2015 was one of the more even seasons in years with St Bernards deserved premiers.

2016 promises to be a terrific season, the first in many years without Old Scotch.

Canada

Jun 7, 2014
Why not...early predictions.

Collegians have a few retiring, weak unders and just stayed up.
Bottom half
Carey have depth issues as always. 2's struggled, whilst unders won a flag it was div 3.
Bottom half
Old Melbourne - Weak Unders. Whilst did well to come up, can't see reaching the top half of the ladder.
Bottom half
Uni Blues are losing a few biggies. But of course they will recruit some unknown (as of yet) stars.
Bottom half
Uni Blacks came back well in 2015 but a few retirements, less depth, unders struggled, I think they may struggle.
Bottom half
Top five are then Xavs: depth and unders coming through. Need to find a little cream. They know this and will.
SKOB: depth, kids coming through from unders and school a plenty. Will be very solid.
Trinity..they will be keen to go one step further. Captain back. Big chance
Bernard's may lose some but big depth and if they fall it will only be a spot or three.
DLS, had a scare and bounced back brilliantly. Can't see them going backwards. Depth a plenty.

Ridiculous to be doing this now, so won't take it to an even sillier level and do a ladder...I think a top and bottom 5 is stupid enough.

Archangel17

Jul 5, 2006
South Yarra
Local footy
Why not...early predictions.

Collegians have a few retiring, weak unders and just stayed up.
Bottom half- relegated
Carey have depth issues as always. 2's struggled, whilst unders won a flag it was div 3.
Bottom half-
Old Melbourne - Weak Unders. Whilst did well to come up, can't see reaching the top half of the ladder.
Bottom half
Uni Blues are losing a few biggies. But of course they will recruit some unknown (as of yet) stars.
Bottom half
Uni Blacks came back well in 2015 but a few retirements, less depth, unders struggled, I think they may struggle.
Bottom half
Top five are then Xavs: depth and unders coming through. Need to find a little cream. They know this and will.
SKOB: depth, kids coming through from unders and school a plenty. Will be very solid.
Trinity..they will be keen to go one step further. Captain back. Big chance
Bernard's may lose some but big depth and if they fall it will only be a spot or three.
DLS, had a scare and bounced back brilliantly. Can't see them going backwards. Depth a plenty.

Ridiculous to be doing this now, so won't take it to an even sillier level and do a ladder...I think a top and bottom 5 is stupid enough.
If we're going to be silly, ill throw in a time-capsule prediction
SKOBS-BERNIES GF
COLLEGIANS-BLACKS relegated.
Lets see if I even get one right!.

Brissel

Dec 5, 2012
big news

Anthony Rock to step down after securing a gig at an afl club

credit to him

Jascave

Jun 17, 2005
Sandringham
Hampton Rovers
Question is, where will the 2016 Premier Grand Final be played at? Will it be at Ikon Park again, or should the VAFA look at other alternatives like Trevor Barker Oval Sandringham , or Punt Rd Oval Richmond?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Rooster 24

Jul 31, 2009
big news

Anthony Rock to step down after securing a gig at an afl club

credit to him

From memory Rock has been at several AFL clubs previously as an assistant. Obviously still harbours ambitions at that level so good on him. Had the best cattle in the VAFA at his disposal but you still have get them playing for you. If the rumours are true the coaching gig at the Snowdogs is a lucrative one.

Brissel - 4 ex AFL players at the Snowdogs all north of 30. Believe Bentick going around again but at least one of the others has confirmed his retirement and another looks like going the same way. Can you confirm?

Brissel

Dec 5, 2012
From memory Rock has been at several AFL clubs previously as an assistant. Obviously still harbours ambitions at that level so good on him. Had the best cattle in the VAFA at his disposal but you still have get them playing for you. If the rumours are true the coaching gig at the Snowdogs is a lucrative one.

Brissel - 4 ex AFL players at the Snowdogs all north of 30. Believe Bentick going around again but at least one of the others has confirmed his retirement and another looks like going the same way. Can you confirm?

what are these rumours you speak of rooster? There has been a few doing the rounds of late

correct, bentick to go round again (be stupid not to in the form he is in)

the great soldier 'merro' has called it a day. A shame his hammy faulted him a spot in the granny, would have been a great send off however hell be remembered as a true legend down at the 'pit'

a few whispers that jones will follow merros lead however nothing been confirmed as of yet,

and can't see any reason as to why cart ledge wouldn't go around again

there may be a few others that take up some good offers put to them but of course its too early to confirm or deny anything as of yet

Rooster 24

Jul 31, 2009
what are these rumours you speak of rooster? There has been a few doing the rounds of late

correct, bentick to go round again (be stupid not to in the form he is in)

the great soldier 'merro' has called it a day. A shame his hammy faulted him a spot in the granny, would have been a great send off however hell be remembered as a true legend down at the 'pit'

a few whispers that jones will follow merros lead however nothing been confirmed as of yet,

and can't see any reason as to why cart ledge wouldn't go around again

there may be a few others that take up some good offers put to them but of course its too early to confirm or deny anything as of yet

Pretty much as stated Brissell. The mail was from a St Bernards stalwart who suggested that Merrington is done, Jones likely to follow, Bentick playing on and Cartledge still undecided but probably likely.

Silly season yet to begin in earnest but we can all expect our clubs to be touched up to varying degrees by cashed up suburban clubs. My mob were raped pre the 2014 season and after coming through that I reckon we can survive anything.

Canada

Jun 7, 2014
We may have two brothers coaching against each other in A Grade this year. Interesting.

Jimmyjack

Sep 19, 2011
Gold Coast
We may have two brothers coaching against each other in A Grade this year. Interesting.

New coaches Canada or one sibling joining another who is already in the role?

You seem to have your finger on the pulse. Any other early mail on recruits etc?

Canada

Jun 7, 2014
Xavs are likely to land 2 ex afl players. Neither went to the school but have mates within the club. Plus perhaps a VFL player. Wesley, St Bernard's and Blues are to lose 8-10 regular senior players to retirement. One new coach and one already coaching. Shouldn't be too Harf to work out.

Brissel

Dec 5, 2012
Xavs are likely to land 2 ex afl players. Neither went to the school but have mates within the club. Plus perhaps a VFL player. Wesley, St Bernard's and Blues are to lose 8-10 regular senior players to retirement. One new coach and one already coaching. Shouldn't be too Harf to work out.

think your jumping the gun there suggesting 8-10 bernards players retiring

Jimmyjack

Sep 19, 2011
Gold Coast
think your jumping the gun there suggesting 8-10 bernards players retiring

What’s a more accurate number Briss?

While Jones would be a huge loss the Snowdogs have the capacity to adequately replace that number of retirements anyway. Have a good crop of unders coming through that need to be given an opportunity.

AmmoTragic

Draftee
Oct 9, 2015
St Bernard’s Old Collegians Football Club

Seeking a SENIOR Coach for Season 2016

St Bernard’s OCFC is seeking a new senior coach to continue to build upon the exceptional work undertaken by the club in season 2015. St. Bernard’s plays in the Premier Section (A Grade) of the Victorian Amateur Football Association (‘VAFA’) and the Senior team were Premiers in 2015.

Applicants for the Senior Coaching position will join a club that will be looking to build and improve upon an already strong on-field list and supportive and extensive off-field structure.

The successful applicant will:

· Possess AFL Level 2 or Level 3 accreditation as a minimum

· Have experience as a Senior Coach in his own right, or, as a line coach at VFL/AFL level

· Have excellent communication skills

· Have a proven ability to develop a young list of footballers both as individuals, as a group and as a cohesive team

· Create an environment that is challenging, enjoyable and inclusive

· Be adept in the latest coaching techniques, structures and theories

· Be prepared to work with and guide an established group of assistant coaches, football development coach and our successful U19 Premier coach

· Report to the Football Director and Club President in his capacity as Senior Coach

Our Football Club

St Bernard’s OCFC is a leading community football club based in Essendon, Victoria. We field 6 teams in the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA). Our 3 senior teams compete in Premier Division (‘A’ Grade) of the VAFA and we won the Premier Division Premiership in 2015. Our three under age teams also compete in the VAFA and our U19 Premier team were Premiers in season 2014 and Runners Up in season 2015.

With a focus on developing an inclusive and supportive club environment, we are seeking a football leader with a focus on developing young men, challenging young men and extracting the best from a group of talented and motivated amateur footballers. We have a young and extremely talented list of players, and we are seeking an equally talented and dedicated senior coach to lead this group of players.

We have a very professional and well resourced off field structure, and the successful applicant will enjoy the full support of a well-resourced and well-structured football department; both on-field as well as off-field.

The successful candidate will be expected to build on and improve an already proven and motivated playing group. With many young players at the football club, we regard our current playing group as being capable of achieving sustained success; given the right person leading them as senior coach.

All written applications to be emailed to Craig Connelly, Football Director, at cconnelly11@bigpond.com.

Applications Close October 19, 2015.

Jascave

Jun 17, 2005
Sandringham
Hampton Rovers
Noticed that the VAFA representative team leaves for Britain and Ireland today. They will play 4 games of International Rules against local Gaelic clubs (but no county games like Kerry and Dublin), before a game in London against AFL Great Britain to finish off the tour. Hopefully we won't have any serious injuries to come out of the British/Irish tour, otherwise Premier clubs like Old Xaverians and University Blacks might be wondering is it all worth it to send players halfway around the world only to cop a bad injury which could set a key player back in his pre-season preparations.

Brissel

Dec 5, 2012
Noticed that the VAFA representative team leaves for Britain and Ireland today. They will play 4 games of International Rules against local Gaelic clubs (but no county games like Kerry and Dublin), before a game in London against AFL Great Britain to finish off the tour. Hopefully we won't have any serious injuries to come out of the British/Irish tour, otherwise Premier clubs like Old Xaverians and University Blacks might be wondering is it all worth it to send players halfway around the world only to cop a bad injury which could set a key player back in his pre-season preparations.

settle down jascave

This is one of the few perks or 'incentives' to play in the VAFA. If a club stops a payer from going on this then gee wiz the player might as well leave the comp

Remember this isn't the afl….this is local footy. This post just shows how serious local footy has gotten in the past decade

give me a spell

Rooster 24

Jul 31, 2009
settle down jascave

This is one of the few perks or 'incentives' to play in the VAFA. If a club stops a payer from going on this then gee wiz the player might as well leave the comp

Remember this isn't the afl….this is local footy. This post just shows how serious local footy has gotten in the past decade

give me a spell

Several different arguments here and while clubs would not prevent players from going, this Ireland junket is generally unpopular and seen as unnecessary by the broader VAFA membership.

While for them most part it is self-funded (for the players at least) there are additional costs that are passed onto VAFA clubs via our affiliation fees. This is an unwelcome financial imposition when there are far greater priorities for the VAFA address.

How many players across the 1000s and 1000s who play in the VAFA legitimately have the opportunity to participate in this? You first have to get invited, and then have the financial means to pay and then have the capacity to take time off work, study etc.

Rep football against other leagues/states is fair enough but the VAFA should not be putting their energies into some meaningless hybrid game played on the other side of the world.

Brissel

Dec 5, 2012
Several different arguments here and while clubs would not prevent players from going, this Ireland junket is generally unpopular and seen as unnecessary by the broader VAFA membership.

While for them most part it is self-funded (for the players at least) there are additional costs that are passed onto VAFA clubs via our affiliation fees. This is an unwelcome financial imposition when there are far greater priorities for the VAFA address.

How many players across the 1000s and 1000s who play in the VAFA legitimately have the opportunity to participate in this? You first have to get invited, and then have the financial means to pay and then have the capacity to take time off work, study etc.

Rep football against other leagues/states is fair enough but the VAFA should not be putting their energies into some meaningless hybrid game played on the other side of the world.

next your going to tell me elsternwick is a good place to play football

Rooster 24

Jul 31, 2009
next your going to tell me elsternwick is a good place to play football

No I'm not. In my view Elsternwick Park is a shi& hole.

But what’s that got to do with VAFA clubs contributing via affiliation fees to an unpopular and unnecessary overseas junket accessible to a minute % of the VAFA community?

Jascave

Jun 17, 2005
Sandringham
Hampton Rovers

And run the risk of copping a serious injury that would set back a key player's preseason at ie Uni Blacks back big time. By the time he comes back, everyone else will be ahead of him in terms of pre-season fitness and he is well and truly behind the eight-ball. And try explaining to your employer how much time-off you would need to recuperate from the injury you got in, of all places, Ireland.

Brissel

Dec 5, 2012
No I'm not. In my view Elsternwick Park is a shi& hole.

But what’s that got to do with VAFA clubs contributing via affiliation fees to an unpopular and unnecessary overseas junket accessible to a minute % of the VAFA community?

I think its a credit to the VAFA for giving the opportunity for a lucky few to do this. As you said most of it is self funded so good luck to them. The VAFA makes enough money to spend a little on this + they already waste and rort the public enough on useless decisions for us to complain about

I doubt any local competition around the country would give such an opportunity

three weeks of drinking and making friends with the locals with a little bit of footy on the side...

Sorry for trying to enjoy life, obviously some glass half empty fellows on here