Australian Open 2016 - Day 5

I'm sick of all you 40 year old losers criticising a 20 year old who clearly thinks and is on top of the world. Obviously you guys know nothing about today's youth as Kyrgios would be one of the better ones out there. The kid is allowed to be arrogant considering he is the future of tennis.

LOL how old are you? Like 70? Women swear too mate and can handle being around swearing :rolleyes:

Kyrgios is a tosser and with an adjustment to his temperament and attitude, he can probably go a lot further. I'm still supporting him because I like watching him play.

Would like him to scale back on the douchbaggery a touch, which will come as he matures, but yeah this. He's bloody entertaining either way, whether you support him or love the pantomime villain aspect and love to hate him.

Thanks mate. did my best today but just wasn't feeling It out there. My job is to entertain however and I do that every time I'm on the court so I don't know why people complain.
Australians are very conservative. Maybe cut down on the arrogance and the crowd will cheer like your Prince Harry.

Taking the piss with that first line? Arrogance is loved in all other sports but tennis is still a gentlemans game for some reason and that's why I am going to change that. You look at afl Franklin struts around like he is the best in the world and people love him for it.

It's not a gentlemans game it's a family game. Given that most people here only follow tennis in January in summer it gets inflated with school holidays and the old "come on let's bring along gran, she loves Federer." To Australia as a whole, tennis is entertainment not a year long sport. Separate the wheat from the chaff.

Some argue afl is a family game yet we have carslile an Bennell not even being lambasted as much as Myself while doing far worse stuff the double standards by all these twats is disgraceful.

Why? So he fits in your neat little box of what he should be?

Perhaps he just wants to live his life, play tennis, make a living and at times represent Australia. He is not representing Australia today. The last time he did was was a few weeks back at the Hopman and he was top shelf in behaviour and performance.

Absolutely nothing to do with fitting into neat little boxes. Living his life isn't done in a vacuum. It requires interacting with others. Which means taking their feelings into account. Something he doesn't appear to consider as all that important yet. The world doesn't revolve around him as he appears to think it does. Arrogance, bad manners and abuse might sit well with you. Not me.

He's young and an enormous talent. He doesn't need to publicly humiliate others for their off court behaviour. He doesn't need to abuse referees - even ball boys/girls. He doesn't need to shout insults at the crowd. We shouldn't just accept it as him just wanting to live his life. He didn't get booed tonight or get very few cheers when he left the court because the crowd thought his behaviour was reasonable.

I would love to see Kygrios link up with Brad Gilbert. He would be perfect for him at this stage. I also think that spending some time away from Australia will do him a lot of good. He could live in the US almost anonymously, go to as many Celtics games as he wants and hopefully find more enjoyment in his tennis again- without the ridiculous criticism and pressure he gets in Australia.

I think it will just take time and eventually he will decide if he wants to change his behaviour. A coach or mentor can help but I don't think he will listen.

My concern is someone like Hewitt will try and within a few months they will have a falling out.

If nothing else hopefully it takes some of the pressure of Kokkinakis.

How quickly people forget that everyone thought Hewitt was a brat when he was Nicks age.

He was on track for a great comeback but lost it in that last service game. Needed to be a bit more together there.

People saying take a leaf out of Lleytons book seem to forget he was an utter knob at the same age. As was Djokovic. Kyrgios is young and will frustrate but personally I love watching him play.

Folks in here talking about him not being able to handle the pressure, He's 20 FFS he's consistently playing in front of thousands he's consistently used as the number 1 ticket item in this country and the most talked about player on tour, I think we can maybe ease the pressure just a tad. He's on his own roller coaster that is his life and we all need to let him do it how he sees fit. His own worst enemy like all of us is himself and in this game there is nothing wrong with that, I say we let him figure that out on his own.

Well done Nick great tournament can't wait to see how you develop.

I would love to see Kygrios link up with Brad Gilbert. He would be perfect for him at this stage. I also think that spending some time away from Australia will do him a lot of good. He could live in the US almost anonymously, go to as many Celtics games as he wants and hopefully find more enjoyment in his tennis again- without the ridiculous criticism and pressure he gets in Australia.

I get the impression half the pro players live in Florida. Not that they're at home a lot.

Na its just his lack of experience and short attention span. Djokovic and murray were absolute headcases in big matches in their early 20s too. People just have different ways of dealing with it. Kygrios acts like a brat and takes it out on people around him. Federer smashed racquets and used to act like a crybaby. Murray and djokovic used to sook about injuries and scream and yell. People have short memories. Perhaps kygrios is a more serious case but most players had their struggles[/QUOTE]

Djokovic was a crybaby when he started, and would pull the injury card if he was losing. But now he is so composed on court.

He should have a coach, 100%. He has Hewitt as a mentor but that is not enough at this stage. If He puts in the hard yards over the next 2 years, fix parts of his game (return of serve as an example), develop his stamina, agility and strength in his core and legs, start actually making finals and winning small tournaments to start with, improve his mental strength in matches, he can win a slam no doubt.

But there are still a lot of things he needs to do right. There is a huge opportunity coming up from 2017 onwards with slams being open to many more players. It's is going to be intriguing seeing what happens from 2017 onwards.

Perhaps now that Hewitt has retired he can spend more time mentoring or even coaching Krygios. Plus Hewitt seems to be a big fan of Kyrgios and helping him out.

Agassi was forced to play at a young age to feed the family, would get beaten if he didn't perform by his father. Agassi had to mature and grow up fast living in that house.

I reckon Agassi would've been the greatest ever had he enjoyed playing tennis. He hated every minute of been on court.

Agassi's book was a great read, he provided such a great insight to his life and how he became a tennis champion.