Analysis 2016 List Management Discussion

That means with the northern suburns we get high levels of kids in such a small area.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Yeah, I suspect they've actually done the numbers on poulations. PReston/Coburg did have the second highest % of people born overseas in metropolitan melbourne...although I supsect that is changing as the yuppies move in.

The only problem with that is people with parents from, or born overseas, tend to play football not Aussie rules. And we all know how fast football is growing here.

Football?

Oh, you mean soccer?!?;)

I just don't get the logic in further compromising the draft.

Ok with father/sons, and can see the rationale for academies. Promote the game in "non-traditional" markets etc.

Don't entirely agree with academy and reckon recruiting concessions should be phased out as the expansion clubs get more established and have F/S access. (For example if 20 years from now GWS & GCS have access to Coniglio, Sheil juniors etc + an academy then FMD)

Academies should be AFL run

What is to stop us grabing a gun 16yo playing at Greensborough and telling him not to play TAC and stay in local footy and we will draft him when he turns 18.

Also the kids in the APS system at private schools, would be easy to stop them playing TAC as they only play a handful of games anyway.

What is to stop us grabing a gun 16yo playing at Greensborough and telling him not to play TAC and stay in local footy and we will draft him when he turns 18.

Also the kids in the APS system at private schools, would be easy to stop them playing TAC as they only play a handful of games anyway.

Again, it is only for kids from non-english speaking backgrounds. It is not the same as the NSW/QLD academies.

"If clubs can help attract and develop some talent that would be under-represented and not normally find its way into the AFL pathway then they will have the ability to receive some incentive for that similar to the bidding system used for the northern academies." - See more at: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-02-...fl-funding-for-academies#sthash.oex8SRhZ.dpuf

Tom Mitchell is out of contract at 2016's end..... Possibility?

Would love for it to happen but I wouldn't have thought so. A few years back maybe...but not now.

Personally I think he'll be one of the bigger individual beneficiaries of the sub rule being scrapped. The Swans have had him on the periphery of their best side for a while now, but they can no longer sit on the fence. He's either in or he's out.......and he's well and truly in.

In regards to the academies and zoning can anyone possibly show how this may advantage or disadvantage us by looking at some previous drafts and show where those players would have gone.

Would love for it to happen but I wouldn't have thought so. A few years back maybe...but not now.

Personally I think he'll be one of the bigger individual beneficiaries of the sub rule being scrapped. The Swans have had him on the periphery of their best side for a while now, but they can no longer sit on the fence. He's either in or he's out.......and he's well and truly in.
See I view that in 2014 when we first counted him he stayed and was expecting more game time. Yes he got more this year but is expected to be on $700k this year at the back end of his contract. With Mills and Heeney seen to be able to slot straight in do they have the cash to hang onto him?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...s/news-story/06d834b25bf61cc8e72cf073afddfbdb

PATRICK Cripps can see and feel the difference already.

In his first few months in the job, new Carlton coach Brendon Bolton has brought a vibrant new mood to Ikon Park and a significant change to the way the Blues want to play.

As Cripps says, it is all about faster ball movement and a harder-edged team defence this year.

“Our whole team defence is going to change a lot for us this year, which will be different to our previous style,” Cripps said.

“Most teams start with that team defence now and we have already come a long way with it since we started in the pre-season.

Whittlesea spruik they are one of the fastest growing areas in Australia. Lots of new suburbs attract a lot of new arrivals so it is potentially a good thing.

If a big club like Carlton can help build that new community then I can see some mutually positive outcomes.

As annoyed as any other about missing out on the NT but we may be on a good thing.

Time will tell

I wouldn't worry about a NT academy- cost too much for the return you will get. With only indigenous and Non English speaking background kids allowed to be in the academy we have hit the jackpot. With a small area and huge % of kids from non English speaking background we can really concentrate on developing kids from a young age.
The Northern states academies have shown if you start developing the kids at a young age you will get better results- Henney, Mills and Hopper wouldn't have got picked up so early if they hadn't had the extra development.
If we haven't got a prayer room at Princes Park we better start building one.

Whittlesea spruik they are one of the fastest growing areas in Australia. Lots of new suburbs attract a lot of new arrivals so it is potentially a good thing.

If a big club like Carlton can help build that new community then I can see some mutually positive outcomes.

As annoyed as any other about missing out on the NT but we may be on a good thing.

Time will tell
The club should have a training run at the home of the Laurimar Power or the Mernda Demons. I'm sure plenty of families would turn up to watch.

I think that's exactly the point of this initiative. To help get those kids into aussie rules and not football.
These kids are going to be growing up seeing football players overseas making a base if 10k/week for league 1 level teams in the EPL. If they end up having world class talent, what an AFL player makes in 12 months, they would basically make in a week.

What incentive is there for talented kids to play aussie rules?