Preview R9: Changes v Gold Coast

Whats the bet we dont pick wigg in the near future because of a lack of a run this week and no sanfl next week.
Spot on.

"Gee, it's a shame for Wiggy, was pretty close, but now he needs some touch and VB got 20 possessions against Gold Coast so let's not be too hasty dropping him despite the fact GWS carved him up and he cost us 4 goals with turnovers…he's a proven senior player, we gotta back him in. Oh, and Dougy got over 10 possessions so he can't go either".

Its funny how many people are selection experts on here. Had no idea how many of you work within the confines of the club and watch trainings and are privy to the discussions on KPI's, goals and strategies that go on. This is great. I will sit back and learn something.

Stop posting like a jerk. It's called having an opinion.

Its funny how many people are selection experts on here. Had no idea how many of you work within the confines of the club and watch trainings and are privy to the discussions on KPI's, goals and strategies that go on. This is great. I will sit back and learn something.

Good point. How dare we question the actions of a club that has had so much success over the last 10 years.

18 years and counting - "GO PANTHERS"!

FFS. Brad Crouch was dropped for specific on-field reasons and M Crouch is still a kid and his body is being managed. They aren't homesick or leaving or disinterested. If you have B Crouch, M Crouch AND a Douglas or Thompson out of the team within one week it completely guts the midfield and whilst our midfield has been poor, you don't rip out three of them at once, particularly when we are likely to restructure the mids this week anyway.

"I give up on Pyke". He's coached 8 weeks. He's been playing Milera and McGovern. He's just dropped B Crouch for being lazy. He's managing M Crouch as he should.

Is Van Berlo selection questionable? Yes. But as far as I'm concerned, so was Henderson. But sometimes they're a stopgap. You reckon Pyke is excited to name Henderson and Van Berlo?

If Van Berlo and Henderson are playing in our team in a few weeks when Laird and M Crouch are available, and we don't suffer further injuries, then I will be very surprised.

Calm the farm.

FFS. Brad Crouch was dropped for specific on-field reasons and M Crouch is still a kid and his body is being managed. They aren't homesick or leaving or disinterested. If you have B Crouch, M Crouch AND a Douglas or Thompson out of the team within one week it completely guts the midfield and whilst our midfield has been poor, you don't rip out three of them at once, particularly when we are likely to restructure the mids this week anyway.

"I give up on Pyke". He's coached 8 weeks. He's been playing Milera and McGovern. He's just dropped B Crouch for being lazy. He's managing M Crouch as he should.

Is Van Berlo selection questionable? Yes. But as far as I'm concerned, so was Henderson. But sometimes they're a stopgap. You reckon Pyke is excited to name Henderson and Van Berlo?

If Van Berlo and Henderson are playing in our team in a few weeks when Laird and M Crouch are available, and we don't suffer further injuries, then I will be very surprised.

Calm the farm.
You're probably right but it's the symbolism of selecting a clearly non-AFL standard has been instead of a young player supposedly banging the door down that has eroded much faith in Pyke this week.

Good point. How dare we question the actions of a club that has had so much success over the last 10 years.

18 years and counting - "GO PANTHERS"!

Questioning the club on selection is different to the whining and stupid commentary that goes on. Using the lack of success from different coaches to back up an argument is even sillier.

Why should sense and reason influence selection, why should player condition have anything to do with it, why should opinion of the coaching panel (with a tad of AFL experience and data) come into play?

What the MC really need to do is to get the posters on BFF with highest average daily post/day figure and have them sit in to MC and let them unleash on the same usual whipping boys.

If you make a dumb arse comment like you have then I am going to call you on it. A few of you have over reacted and look like chief morons and need tissues.

And who are you to judge those comments?

It's not like you are part of the match committee. All it means, you don't agree with that comment but don't have the ablity or knowledge to pass judgement.

Wow - what a contribution.

You're probably right but it's the symbolism of selecting a clearly non-AFL standard has been instead of a young player supposedly banging the door down that has eroded much faith in Pyke this week.

Come on mate. Question the club by all means but don't make silly over statements like that. New coaches always take time and selection often is always a gamble as a player could under perform badly especially one carrying an injury at any time. Its never an exact science. What you want to see is if he learns from his mistake. The fact he dropped and rested the Crouch brothers suggests he is willing to make tough calls at selection. Anyways, lets give the bloke a chance. Time will tell if he has a plan or he has nothing more to offer then a life of mediocrity in the middle of the table.

All the coaches and those on Match Committee would have a far better idea of what's going on in the team than any on BFF.

Matt and Brad have struggled of late, Brad hasn't played much footy and needs time, Matt has probably played with declining output, possibly due to fatigue (knackered...).

Lyon's was playing well against good teams and was unlucky to be dropped. VB brings in a wealth of experience, is an elite runner, with his disposal letting him down at times. Many of BFF don't rate him. I'm surprised he was selected but the MC would have had their reasons. I expected CEY to be given another chance but I'm sure his time will come.

I expect there will be quite a few different players rotating through the backline and midfield.

But it is nice to see everyone aghast that the MC haven't bothered to read the opinions of so many BFF experts before picking this weeks teams.
And another champion of independent thought. Good show!

Who's the young player banging down the door?

Depends on how you or the club measure form.

On one hand, none of them are banging the door down as none of the SANFL players are playing at an AFL level.

Where as, all of them are banging the door down as the team is what 7 and 1 abd that loss was only by 1 point.

It's all about how the match committee measure form.

Nah, no chance. Loves the city and loves the fact that he's in an AFL team with his brother. If anyone thinks Crouch is dirty on anyone but himself for being dropped then i think you're crazy. Also, if you think a run in the SANFL will only hurt him, you're crazy again. If his body can hold up in the SANFL (despite what people say, it is still damn tough on your body), and he gets a week or two of great form in, he'll be back in the seniors and better for it IMO.
If we starting picking teams based on the fact they might leave us if we dont pick them even when there form is shite.. god help us as a club! He should be traded in my opinion!

Didn't he have 38 touches his first game back? If you think SANFL form is a factor, you're mistaken.

I think it was 36. I think consistent SANFL form is a factor coupled with getting his body match hardened. This can be done in the SANFL contrary to what people believe. I have no doubt this is temporary for him. He has no option other than tear it up in the 2s and stay healthy.

We've been trumpeting how well our SANFL team is going (lost one game which was the last kick of the day to the top team) and have been talking up our depth - yet when a spot opens up we choose to recycle a veteran who looks to be physically cooked?

*If* we've already decided that CEY and Grigg are not up to it, fine. Would have preferred any of these guys though:

Menzel
Greenwood
Doedee
Wigg
Gore
Beech

VB got 12 touches in his last SANFL outing. Admittedly he had a good last q and helped save us from defeat with coolness and leadership--but 12 friggin touches in the SANFL does not scream pick me in the seniors when there are others playing much better than that.
Wasn't he given limited game time?

Preview R9: Changes v Gold Coast