RDFL 2016 Season discussion

The league is useless they have no vision and no foresight for when things don't go to plan, time for ollie and co to stand down.

Preaching to the converted here, until the club's unite and find willing candidates to step into some of these positions it's pretty hard to throw stones. I know I've had my share of disagreements with City Hall, even as recent as today ... but I've never once done it under an alias and as robust as talks may at times be I still respect those with their hands up as to best of my knowledge we don't have willing replacements belting down the doors.

Atleast you got that chance to talk to them Doona, I am told by a mate involved in a club that city hall won't even return calls. Sorry unless your from Gisborne. The league has nosedived administration wise with the new Chief. Poor client relations skills. The board though are accountable and have you ever seen a league with so many issues week in week out year in year out that are the same issues. Really, is it such an Einstein moment to realise where the marquee match up of the weekend should be. Is it really thinking outside the box. Why is it that the clubs know, but the league don't. Quite clearly detached from the clubs or do not care!

Alias or no alias still does not hide the fact that they are doing a piss poor job i hope the board are reading this and people who appoint the so called board are reading this so in 3 weeks time when you go and pat ollie and co on the as5 at the half time function and tell them how good they are ask for a pat back on the as5 and tell them batman aint fukn happy with the way they run the fukn league

And my friends call me bruce

Alias or no alias still does not hide the fact that they are doing a piss poor job i hope the board are reading this and people who appoint the so called board are reading this so in 3 weeks time when you go and pat ollie and co on the as5 at the half time function and tell them how good they are ask for a pat back on the as5 and tell them batman aint fukn happy with the way they run the fukn league

Hi. Bruce

Ease Up is back..........
This could get interesting
I reckon a few on here will be ducking for cover
I wonder who will cop the first drive by

I'm with you in your thinking Bruce and AFLL, but the people who appoint the board are the club presidents surely, so that's who we should be lobbying to take action.

Also, I too hear the arguments for the games to be switched, but again if I was in a second-semi I'd still be willing to play it wherever coz while (for argument sake) Diggers might be into the RDFL about it, for all we know Broadford aren't .....

All this BS aside, who wins this week, obviously the 4 four best teams have won through and lets hope the footy is as good as it can be.
I have Diggers by 28 points as they look to be going along nicely and obviously have a fantastic list , and going on last weeks performance by Riddell I can't see Macedon with their skinny list due to injuries getting within 24 points of the bombers. Ruffell will be hard to stop and I think Pannucio and co may well be all too quick for the Cats line up which has looked depleted since losing Gun Mid Harrison late in the year.

Sh1t day at the footy better than a good day at work I say.

All this BS aside, who wins this week, obviously the 4 four best teams have won through and lets hope the footy is as good as it can be.
I have Diggers by 28 points as they look to be going along nicely and obviously have a fantastic list , and going on last weeks performance by Riddell I can't see Macedon with their skinny list due to injuries getting within 24 points of the bombers. Ruffell will be hard to stop and I think Pannucio and co may well be all too quick for the Cats line up which has looked depleted since losing Gun Mid Harrison late in the year.

Sh1t day at the footy better than a good day at work I say.
Going to be a ripper game diggers v broadford
Diggers forward line is full of talent but see broadfords mid field rotation full of talent who can also play forward or in defence and ruck division being a problem for the burra with a even spread forward and in defence I've thought long and hard about this game and can't make my mind up if broadford pick the correct mix could stretch the burra broadford by 9 points

Agree at home bombers will be to strong against a depleted cats by 37 points

Good luck to all
Go Roos

I'm with you in your thinking Bruce and AFLL, but the people who appoint the board are the club presidents surely, so that's who we should be lobbying to take action.

Also, I too hear the arguments for the games to be switched, but again if I was in a second-semi I'd still be willing to play it wherever coz while (for argument sake) Diggers might be into the RDFL about it, for all we know Broadford aren't .....
I guess I can let everyone know Broadfords thoughts on the venues
It been a long long time since Broadford have played off to go straight into a grand final.
I know that I along with others at the club have put in 4 years of hard work to get this opportunity so if the league said to me
Sorry boys it being played on the moon
I'd be off to book my rocket tomorrow no problem

As long as diggers focus is on a change of venue :)

Whilst I have no doubt the RDFL woulda been bombarded with phone calls and emails of protest already, but at the end of the day It's a second semi final with a second chance for Christ sake, surely they'd be willing to play it anywhere they had to.
While i understand your point the facts are that it is embarrassing by the league to have the fixture as it stands this weekend. This seems to happen year after year in the RDFL and is a reason why it is so far behind other leagues. No disrespect to rockbank at all but to play a final with the 2 best teams fighting for a spot in a grand final out there is bewildering. The league needs to showcase finals at the best venues available that should be there priority. And the fact that a higher ranked team is playing a final at there oppositions home ground is laughable!! How could that possibly be approved to go ahead. I might sound harsh but it is just very amatuer

While i understand your point the facts are that it is embarrassing by the league to have the fixture as it stands this weekend. This seems to happen year after year in the RDFL and is a reason why it is so far behind other leagues. No disrespect to rockbank at all but to play a final with the 2 best teams fighting for a spot in a grand final out there is bewildering. The league needs to showcase finals at the best venues available that should be there (their) priority. And the fact that a higher ranked team is playing a final at there oppositions home ground is laughable!! How could that possibly be approved to go ahead. I might sound harsh but it is just very amatuer
Lets say the choices were Macedon and Rockbank.. if the fixture was played at Macedon, the complaints for a game being played on that ground would outweigh those of Rockbank.. a ground which has in the past featured a showcase game previously, Qualifying Final.. at the end of the day, those that go to Rockbank and Riddell over the weekend will walk away saying it was a great day.. imagine if Macedon beat Diggers Rest on the weekend, didn't have their final relocated.. then you'd have people complaining that Macedon and Riddell getting home finals.. or you could swap them around and Macedon would get a home court advantage in A Grade and Riddell would get a home court advantage the following day, because we can't forget the netballers..
The fact is, when all games are run and won on the weekend, fans will cast their eyes to the last two weeks and this week will be lost in the past.. Macedon did the right things and jumped on the front foot to work with a club that has proven success of hosting major finals, and successfully..
If it is so upsetting to some, enjoy our coverage at home on Highlands FM or via the live scores which the Highlands FM team will be running throughout the day anyway.. as a football fan, I don't care where the game is played.. I want to see three cracking games of football and that was all I saw over two full days last weekend.. we had three fizzers.. I expect supporters of all sides to turn up and cheer their team on regardless of where the game is played..
Rockbank and Macedon as clubs run amazing finals days that match with the best of them.. the ground is in good nick.. it'll be a great warm up for an even more exciting day at Riddell on Sunday..

Shut up ******. You are another one of the pathetic invisibles that pretend to be impartial. Facts are its the Sunbury clubs with rdfl backing against the rest. Hence the bullshit rdfl website. The sooner the eastern clubs leave your bias the better

pathetic invisibles?, hardly. Your post is ridiculous. Sunbury bias?, again ridiculous. As Skip said, clubs would play a final on the moon if need be. You need to just stop being a negative twat and get over it.

Shut up ******. You are another one of the pathetic invisibles that pretend to be impartial. Facts are its the Sunbury clubs with rdfl backing against the rest. Hence the bullshit rdfl website. The sooner the eastern clubs leave your bias the better
Don't look any further we have the winner of gibberish of the year. Well done money magpie

Let me say you have really shown how much of a total tool you are Chris if you new him he is a great bloke and the time and effort he puts into all clubs is amazing....
As for venue I would play any final any where ( moon ) but it doesn't mean it's the best choice or venue available......

This is a yearly on going issue and there is no vfl or such grounds that are neutral available to contest these games

so we have to suck it up and take what's dished up I agree this league has become amateurish considering the spend to participate continues to grow .....

Cmon doona run for president ........

Lets say the choices were Macedon and Rockbank.. if the fixture was played at Macedon, the complaints for a game being played on that ground would outweigh those of Rockbank.. a ground which has in the past featured a showcase game previously, Qualifying Final.. at the end of the day, those that go to Rockbank and Riddell over the weekend will walk away saying it was a great day.. imagine if Macedon beat Diggers Rest on the weekend, didn't have their final relocated.. then you'd have people complaining that Macedon and Riddell getting home finals.. or you could swap them around and Macedon would get a home court advantage in A Grade and Riddell would get a home court advantage the following day, because we can't forget the netballers..
The fact is, when all games are run and won on the weekend, fans will cast their eyes to the last two weeks and this week will be lost in the past.. Macedon did the right things and jumped on the front foot to work with a club that has proven success of hosting major finals, and successfully..
If it is so upsetting to some, enjoy our coverage at home on Highlands FM or via the live scores which the Highlands FM team will be running throughout the day anyway.. as a football fan, I don't care where the game is played.. I want to see three cracking games of football and that was all I saw over two full days last weekend.. we had three fizzers.. I expect supporters of all sides to turn up and cheer their team on regardless of where the game is played..
Rockbank and Macedon as clubs run amazing finals days that match with the best of them.. the ground is in good nick.. it'll be a great warm up for an even more exciting day at Riddell on Sunday..
Your a good man Chris & you should go into politics, leader of the Greens!

"Pathetic Invisibles" - this - hilarious.

So let's chronicle a typical Saturday for Chris - arrive at the allocated ground approx. 9.00 am, put on the umpires greens , warm up, officiate as a central umpire in the thirds. Quick warm down, shower, change into civvies and grab a bite to eat and maybe a sound byte from a coach/player/personality for later use in an article. Set up the mobile broadcast unit for transmission of the main game (if at the same venue), otherwise travel to the broadcast venue and set up there. Commentate the main game, grab an interview or three with football/netball identities, pack up the broadcast unit. Go home, review notes, summaries and prepare preliminary copy for RDFNL website and Star Weekly/Midland Express. During finals this x2 (Saturday/Sunday).

Et tu ??

Instead of brickbats from dingbats, Chris deserves the gratitude of every player/supporter/official in the RDFNL. There is no one who promotes or is more passionate about the league than "ThaLedg".

Do we all think it's down to three teams now? I don't see Macedon coming back from that loss this week.

If you really analyse it apart from an undermanned Broadford in round 1 they have struggled against the other top 5 sides. The only other side they have beaten was Rupo and they were trailing by 4 goals at 3qtr time. Their draw really set them up and is a bit misleading. Every club has injuries and they need to stop falling back on that. With Riddell having a home final I just don't see them mounting a challenge at all this week.

Do we all think it's down to three teams now? I don't see Macedon coming back from that loss this week.

If you really analyse it apart from an undermanned Broadford in round 1 they have struggled against the other top 5 sides. The only other side they have beaten was Rupo and they were trailing by 4 goals at 3qtr time. Their draw really set them up and is a bit misleading. Every club has injuries and they need to stop falling back on that. With Riddell having a home final I just don't see them mounting a challenge at all this week.

I think it is actually a race in Two, can see Riddell beating the Cats however I believe both Diggers and Broadford will be far too strong for the young Riddell side, too many guns to cover and honestly speaking if either of those two can shut down Ruff in the Prelim they are half way home. Like Rupo were able to do in the last home and away game.

Diggers V Broadford GF I think, OMHO though.

I think it is actually a race in Two, can see Riddell beating the Cats however I believe both Diggers and Broadford will be far too strong for the young Riddell side, too many guns to cover and honestly speaking if either of those two can shut down Ruff in the Prelim they are half way home. Like Rupo were able to do in the last home and away game.

That reflects the betting on sportsbet with Diggers $1.65 Broady $3 mac $7.00 and Riddell $9

I subscribe to that, Bear. I reckon it may be Broadford's to lose. Plenty of talent on all lines, I reckon their bottom 6 is is a bit ahead of Diggers.

Managed to get up and watch the Broadford v Wallan game on the weekend. Broadford looked really good and showed just a bit too much polish in the end. Thought Thomas was good for Wallan, but couldn't figure out why they persisted with #33 kicking out from the square. Chuck in a couple more big blokes and I think they improve a fair bit more.

Impressed with the standard of the game and hopefully will be able to get to more in the future.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion