Analysis The Brown Shoots Thread

Weitering/SOJ have shown definite signs of being AFL quality players. C.Curnow will benefit from a pre-season and come back stronger and faster I add him to the list. Cuningham will develop into a classy midfielder judging by what I saw yesterday he is the type that benefits from playing at AFL level - learns on ground. No comment on McKay as hew has not played at senior level - but I have high hopes ( of course). That is 4 new probable AFL quality players to add to Cripps who we can all see as playing finals.

Fingers crossed we can bring in 2-4 AFL quality youngsters in he end of the year trade/draft dramas ahead. This is a fair dinkum rebuild and reset it will take another year for many of us to get really confident about the future.

The green shoots have been slower in development because of injury to Curnow and HarryMc - that has been the biggest set back for mine.

Bolton is pure gold for this Club.

Has been well & truly usurped in the #46 guernsey by Matty Wright. David who?
so disappointed in you MSR
Ellard - leads all stats for the 46 jumper at CFC - the greatest 46 in Blues history

Cripps won most clearances in AFL by some margin and had second most (averaged most) contested possessions this year.
Statistically much better than last year (b and f), but may only be top 5 this year.

Neale had the most contested possession IIRC. Goes to show you don't have to be a 195cm beast to win contested footy. It would certainly help though.

Actually 359 (Neale) v 355 (Cripps) for the year. 7th v 9th all time record leaderboard. But Cripps from 1 less game.

Btw a lot of these records are coming off 24 and 25 games. So I guess they're including finals. Dangerfield needs 80 more to break the record for contested posies in a season.

Not a green shoot but Rowe is second in history for 1%ers in a season currently too.

Neale had the most contested possession IIRC. Goes to show you don't have to be a 195cm beast to win contested footy. It would certainly help though.

Neale had 737 disposals this year, but the only one I'll remember is his epic goal assist to Liam Jones in the dying moments of round 5...

A few more stats today, apologies if people are over it. Cripps doc related so I guess it comes under green shoots.

If you compare our inside 50s to geelongs you'd have to think we had more coming in than Geelong.
Figure 1. Cripps breaking two records in the AFL. Back up first possession (his super power) and stoppage first possession (annihilated the previous record). Docherty having broken probably not a glamorous one with most backward kicks.
image.jpeg

Figure 3. AFL player ratings team of the year. Docherty making it in the backline. This should hopefully mirror the AA

image.jpeg

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    65.9 KB · Views: 7
Obviously the plow gets a mention too in the top 10 average goals conceded per game as a defender. I reckon both players would of ranked much higher if it wasn't for the KP players at Essendon having a day out.

A few more stats today, apologies if people are over it. Cripps doc related so I guess it comes under green shoots.

If you compare our inside 50s to geelongs you'd have to think we had more coming in than Geelong.
Figure 1. Cripps breaking two records in the AFL. Back up first possession (his super power) and stoppage first possession (annihilated the previous record). Docherty having broken probably not a glamorous one with most backward kicks.
View attachment 283066

Figure 3. AFL player ratings team of the year. Docherty making it in the backline. This should hopefully mirror the AA

View attachment 283068

If we don't bring back Sav, Levi might break a record next year...

upload_2016-8-31_14-45-29.png

I've crunched the numbers on Cripps' year and if he can carry his form from the second half of the year into next year, look out!
In the first 11 rounds he played 10 games for averages of:
26.3disposals, 17.7handballs, 6.2tackles, 7.8clearances, 4.4 clangers, 3.13frees against, 16contested in 83.8% game time.

In the second half he played all 11 games for averages of:
27.5d, 19.4hb, 7tk, 9.73cl, 3.36clang, 1.6fa, 17.6cont in 83.8% game time.

So his game time stayed the same, but his numbers increased almost across the board, including decreases in the negative stats like frees against and clangers (although I believe FA are counted as clangers?).

Scarily, for the last 8 games, which included games against Adel, WC, Syd, Haw, he was in even better form averaging:
29.6d, 20.5hb, 7.75tk, 10.6cl, 3.75clang, 1.38fa, 19.6cont in 83.3% game time.

He was less efficient in front of goals in the second half of the year, kicking 5.6 compared to 5.8

This mother****er is sprouting off green shoots everywhere!

I've crunched the numbers on Cripps' year and if he can carry his form from the second half of the year into next year, look out!
26.3disposals, 17.7handballs, 6.2tackles, 7.8clearances, 4.4 clangers, 3.13frees against, 16contested in 83.8% game time.

So his game time stayed the same, but his numbers increased almost across the board, including decreases in the negative stats like frees against and clangers (although I believe FA are counted as clangers?).

Scarily, for the last 8 games, which included games against Adel, WC, Syd, Haw, he was in even better form averaging:
29.6d, 20.5hb, 7.75tk, 10.6cl, 3.75clang, 1.38fa, 19.6cont in 83.3% game time.

He was less efficient in front of goals in the second half of the year, kicking 5.6 compared to 5.8

This mothergoose is sprouting off green shoots everywhere!
You need to graph it and show 1st and 2nd half of last season so we know what ot expect next year.

Should be averaging 30+possession and 12 clearances a game by the end of 2017.

Wonder if this is a reflection on the addition load placed on him following Murph's injury

Here's a green shoot for you lot...

My niece went to her first game this year and my bro just sent this pic through. Put a smile on my dial.

View attachment 284133

Carn the ******* Baggers!!!
But can she run through the midfield?

Analysis The Brown Shoots Thread