EDFL Premier Division 2016

When is Greenvale going to announce the new coach? Chapman or Allison.....Both High Profile....What are the odds it's going to be one of them?
Hi mate - with my involvement at North City, I'm not privy to what the head honchos are thinking regarding their prospective coach.
You'd hope that they get the situation sorted asap to prevent too many departures as well as recruiting a few before everyone settles into their prospective preseasons.

Also I've heard from a reliable source that the discussion on here re: Abers is a fair way off the mark and that they should field a pretty competitive side next season despite a number of players moving on.
With the strength of their juniors you'd imagine that they can present more opportunities for their youngsters which can only be a good thing.

Also I've heard from a reliable source that the discussion on here re: Abers is a fair way off the mark and that they should field a pretty competitive side next season despite a number of players moving on.
With the strength of their juniors you'd imagine that they can present more opportunities for their youngsters which can only be a good thing.
You would assume they would have to loose players like most clubs would to be able to stay under the cap of $250k. I'm sure Keilor, Abers, EDS, PV & GV are 250k or above.
Some players will get a haircut or move clubs
Side note
the EDFL want 48 points for next season but AFL Vic thinking 47. Wonder who will get there way

I bumped into Mad Max from Melton the other night whilst he was sifting through some stolen car parts and he provided me with some startling details. The news is good for the players currently owed money at Abers. The startling bit is the timing of these payments. Installment number 1 will be made after the Melbourne Cup! Why is it so? Perhaps the powers to be are going to throw everything at a $10 pop and try and come up with the funds. Installment number 2 wait for it ...... After next years junior registration day. Do we sense a cashflow issue at Clifton Park?
Mad Max also tells me McLean, Cubillo and Allen all looking at a move but Blackwell is staying. Very Interesting if in fact it's true

Mad Max knows his stuff. #SNESAA

Hearing Brett Allison or Paul Chapman as the new greenvale coach. Either would be a fantastic coup for the club
Have it on good authority that Greenvale also owe their players match payments (at least 1 game) which weren't handed out at presentation night...

All the big clubs starting to promise the world and under deliver? Glad the salary cap has been introduced and hope that the league can make sure it is viable and not many ways around it (although there will be millions)

Have it on good authority that Greenvale also owe their players match payments (at least 1 game) which weren't handed out at presentation night...

All the big clubs starting to promise the world and under deliver? Glad the salary cap has been introduced and hope that the league can make sure it is viable and not many ways around it (although there will be millions)

Mate, you're going to have to change your name to (tom)mitchell2vickery ;)

Seriously, how can clubs get this so wrong? Are the treasurers not being paid enough themselves to keep track of things?

Relax mate, one thing that has never & will never be associated with the Greenvale Football club are issues with players getting paid....
Not seeing a bloke at the presentation night to give him his last envelope is a bit different to the supposed $10's of thousands owed to numerous players at abers

Or we're not making finals & don't want to pay so let's get the players to "play for the jumper" last couple rounds at pacco

Or the you'll get your pay once you re-sign for next year at oak park during the late 2000's

Relax mate, one thing that has never & will never be associated with the Greenvale Football club are issues with players getting paid....
Not seeing a bloke at the presentation night to give him his last envelope is a bit different to the supposed $10's of thousands owed to numerous players at abers

Or we're not making finals & don't want to pay so let's get the players to "play for the jumper" last couple rounds at pacco

Or the you'll get your pay once you re-sign for next year at oak park during the late 2000's

Players were at the presentation, just something I heard..

But nothing like Abers...Craigieburn did this not long ago...stopped paying in A grade when they knew they wouldn't be competitive

Players were at the presentation, just something I heard..

But nothing like Abers...Craigieburn did this not long ago...stopped paying in A grade when they knew they wouldn't be competitive
G'day everyone!!!

Before any decision is made in a Football Department or Committee, the question that should be asked is "How is this going to benefit the club". Does everyone agree, I would think so?
So , when a club has under performed and the players are playing out the season without committing for the next year, how would paying them the last 3 or 4 games benefit the club?
You may say the club has committed to the player in agreeing to payments per game , but that was done at the start of the year in the best interests of the club and the player was committed to playing for the club. If the player does not commit to playing for the club(for next season) why would you pay him for the last few games?
Power back to the clubs I say - Who's with me?

G'day everyone!!!

Before any decision is made in a Football Department or Committee, the question that should be asked is "How is this going to benefit the club". Does everyone agree, I would think so?
So , when a club has under performed and the players are playing out the season without committing for the next year, how would paying them the last 3 or 4 games benefit the club?
You may say the club has committed to the player in agreeing to payments per game , but that was done at the start of the year in the best interests of the club and the player was committed to playing for the club. If the player does not commit to playing for the club(for next season) why would you pay him for the last few games?
Please never run a club, these players put their bodies on the line to represent football clubs, by doing this they risk injury which leads to a loss of income id serious, also gives clubs a bad reputation, just saying it wouldn't be in the best interest of the club to ever think this way, and only deters players rather than attract.

Reserves, u/18 & u/16 players put their bodies on the line to loyally represent their footy clubs risking injury, loss of income.
The game is a contact sport, simply playing is risking injury , just because you participate is not an excuse for putting your hand out for $$$

Mitchell Buddy - Please stay away from my club with that attitude

Reserves, u/18 & u/16 players put their bodies on the line to loyally represent their footy clubs risking injury, loss of income.
The game is a contact sport, simply playing is risking injury , just because you participate is not an excuse for putting your hand out for $$$

You've contracted a player and agreed to the term and figure, all i'm saying is don't pull out of that...its senior football, its a privileged that is earned to play not handed to a player, especially in this division, so look after the players that represent your club regardless of the scoreboard or ladder, can we have a poll...i know i'd win in spades!

Who'd wanna be apart of your club with THAT ATTITUDE

Best post I've read on bigfooty

In fact those guys you mentioned actually pay to play for their club

G'day everyone!!!

Why would any new recruit sign on with a club that does not honour its commitment to its players for the entire year.

Why would clubs honour the contract of players who are playing out the season knowing they will give the club the arse at the end of the year? How does the club benefit out of that?
And Flog Mitchell - You didn't answer my question about reserves/u/18's players risking injury playing footy - why are they any different to players who put their hand out for money to play?
Simple - If you want to play , play , if not don't - its a choice - If you or a player is using the argument that they "deserve" to be compensated well to play for a local club then they shouldn't be playing local footy, this is the type of attitude that has stuffed local footy.. Baaaannngggg!!!! You know it's true

Agreed

I'm just sick and tired of listening to players whinge about money...

these sort of blokes are at every club though

And sick of flogs getting on here thinking they can compare local Clubs & AFL Clubs. Fact is AFL Clubs are run with hundreds of PAID employee's, it's a Job(no-one expects you to be loyal to your company, it is expected you will move on if a better opportunity comes up, encouraged in good workplaces), Local clubs are run by a few dedicated VOLUNTEERS(It is not a Job, it is a passion)... Play Local Footy and be loyal, you will be paid back in spades, if not don't complain about not being treated well...

EDFL Premier Division 2016