List Mgmt. Trade Week 2016 - Live Thread

Yum

If this happens my faith in the WC heirarchy will be seriously restored back to 1990s level.

I'm still 100% convinced that Gov can offer more to us at FF than as a defender.

We've just needed him there because our midfield has leaked so badly and because Mackenzie has struggled in his return.

Sexual + Adams is a more than sufficient KPD pair

Kennedy + McGovern ... well **** me

He was good up forward, no doubt but I have the opposite view. I think he offers us more down back. Not just through his intercept marking but through his ball use. Haven't seen a lot of Adams, and I'm not sure what his disposal is like, but I daresay it isn't near the impact of Gov's coming out of the backline. I'm not just talking DE here, I'm talking opening things up and making offensive play. Yes, we have Mitchell now and we're all creaming our pants as we should but I don't think you can ever have enough of those types coming out the back. He has superb vision and can execute to open things up. I just prefer those types of players being proactive in our offensive setup as opposed to reactive, which is what he will be up forward.

The net gain, that I see in him moving forward is how that will impact JD. Releases him to play that 3rd tall which he is better suited to. Does that outweigh the benefits we lose from taking him out of the back line? I say no. What happens to our forwardline when we are trying to rest Lycett/Giles/Vardy or whoever up front? And this is a genuine question, because I don't see how we can maintain a level of mobility in the forward line. It's not like we can throw Gov or Darling into the midfield. Or can we? Darling, been tried and doesn't work. Gov, no. As a follower/ruck... he is pretty shit I reckon and why waste him there as well as increase his chances of injury?

Just to keep you guys happy, I'd be ok with him been thrown forward to mix things up every now and again, but I don't see the point of a permanent move.

If Adams comes in I think it's Schofield who is under pressure. I mean I like Schofield and all but he isn't as damaging as his athletic attributes should make him. He can hold his own at ground level but one on one in the air he is poo. He has shown dash from the backline but tends to get himself into a bit of trouble and his delivery is poor after a run.

[URL='https://twitter.com/3AWSportsToday' said:
3AW Sports Today ‏@3AWSportsToday [/URL] 49m49 minutes ago

Craig Vozzo: "We've reached an agreement with the Hawks for a contribution" (for Sam Mitchell's 2017 contract)

Just when you thought it couldn't get any better. The trade that keeps on giving. Beautiful.

Your Eeyore game has been strong today :)
Nah I just think he is a confidence player and he's not going to improve that playing in the WAFL and I can't see us giving him a full year to find his feet at the top level next year - if we were rebuilding we would, but I just think they'd prefer the Schofield, Sexual, McGovern combo while they gun for a flag.

If Macca somehow regains confidence and returns to form over the offseason then great, but I imagine he's feeling a bit uneasy about his future at the moment.

He can still play that pure lock down wrestling defender role where he handballs to Hurn as much as possible, but that's not going to free up Gov to go forward.

Nah I just think he is a confidence player and he's not going to improve that playing in the WAFL and I can't see us giving him a full year to find his feet at the top level next year - if we were rebuilding we would, but I just think they'd prefer the Schofield, Sexual, McGovern combo while they gun for a flag.

If Macca somehow regains confidence and returns to form over the offseason then great, but I imagine he's feeling a bit uneasy about his future at the moment.

He can still play that pure lock down wrestling defender role where he handballs to Hurn as much as possible, but that's not going to free up Gov to go forward.

:cool:

I'd like:

Trade Mckenzie and get as early pick as possible and use to Draft Logue (long term back line) use later pick to Draft Marsh/Adams (immediate back up for back line).

Keep our pick 12 for the best mid we can achieve.

Will prepare us for the future while building backline depth.

Vozzo cops its here every year and to be honest he does a better job than we think.

Yeah apparently he makes all the decisions himself apparently with no input from coach, recruiters, list manager. Heck even the board had to approve Mitchell trade.

He is the face we see, so we blame him.

Yeah apparently he makes all the decisions himself apparently with no input from coach, recruiters, list manager. Heck even the board had to approve Mitchell trade.

He is the face we see, so we blame him.

Don't you be bringing rationality and facts into this conversation! They ruin a good argument. Just ask my mrs.

Why would people advocate drafting Logue with our first when Adams (if available) could be a much cheaper option?

There is also the fact that our midfield is clearly the teams biggest weakness at the moment, so as good as a KPD he might be, he isn't my first choice.

The Hawks are paying some of SM's salary? This just gets weirder and weirder. Is he on a million a year or something? Off hand I figured we'd be paying 600k or so.

I'd love to have been a fly on the wall at that meeting though.

Hawks: 'Our coach has suggested we trade you our B&F winner and best player for basically nothing.

Vozzo: 'Sounds great, what do we get in return?'

Craig Vozzo: "We've reached an agreement with the Hawks for a contribution" (for Sam Mitchell's 2017 contract)

So not only did we get him for pick 88 but we also got the Hawks to contribute to his 2017 contract..

giphy.gif

Why would people advocate drafting Logue with our first when Adams (if available) could be a much cheaper option?

There is also the fact that our midfield is clearly the teams biggest weakness at the moment, so as good as a KPD he might be, he isn't my first choice.
Darling is??

I understand why people are happy about the hawks eating some of his coin - but they're not suckers. Clarkson is making list changes with real confidence and security - if they get the changes right, they'll have the smoothest post-dynasty transition in footy history. Look at Brissy post-glory years - a rabble.

Props to the Hawks board for backing their guys in on this stuff. Now stop killing the community with pokies.

List Mgmt. Trade Week 2016 - Live Thread