Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

Mick Martyn crashed his car at the Altona Gate shopping centre car park when I was working there

I saw Mick Martyn in Altona Bunnings one time. I thought he might be buying Selley's Hard as Nails but he didn't. Then I realised that the Selley's product is called Liquid Nails whereas Hard as Nails is a fingernails product. How we all laughed when I told that story in the pub that night.

Just yesterday I discovered Shannon Motlop moved in next door to me. Was putting some rubbish out at the same time he was and said hello.

Seen Cyril Rioli at a local supermarket hopping out of an old Commodore (thought he'd have access to something a bit flasher).

Ben McGlynn came down to watch a few training sessions at my local club as two of his brothers were playing for us.

• Once saw Leppa working his magic on the girls at Alice's in Brisbane 96 or 97. They were even uglier than him.
  • About this time I saw Dipper at the Treasury casino on the craps table with two young girls on either side - neither his wife or daughter.
  • A woman outside said casino once walked up asking us to ascertain her age, as the bloke with her was teasing that she looked over 40 - bloke turned out to be a pretty hammered Johnny Platten, who we scared off with chants of "THE RAT! THE RAT!". Further investigation determined that his morals were better than his teammate's, as it was his wife
  • In the late 80s or early 90s I spotted Chris Langford walking down a Melbourne street in full business attire. We had to swerve the car to avoid that jaw of his.
  • After an exhibition match in London in the early noughties, I ran into Terry Daniher (was coaching at the time I believe) and Dean Solomon in Shepherd's Bush Walkabout (RIP). Pissed as a newt was Tez, but enjoying the eye-candy with a grin from ear-to-ear.
  • Was actually at The Church in London when Andrew Johns was, when he got busted at the Tube station afterwards with pingas - didn't see him, but could've done with a couple myself.
  • Finally, pretty sure I saw Luke Darcy in 2007 in London in a pub while watching the grand final - looked like he was with his olds. I'd say that again but he's just as uninteresting as that anecdote.

Yes I saw Sandilands walk out of a Surfers Paradise night club at 5am once and it is quite shocking how large he is. Also stood next to Zac Smith at Aportos Chicken and he's a giant.

I stood next to Alwyn Davey at the Coles in Moonee Ponds bakery section. I grabbed a rustic baguette and I think he got a sour dough vienna.

I saw Dustin Fletcher at the Coles in Moonee Ponds bakery section. I grabbed a packet of cheese and bacon rolls and I think he got a white loaf toast sliced.

I stood behind Matty Lappin at the checkout at the Safeway in Carnegie. I couldn't see what he was purchasing but he didn't say thanks to the checkout chick, or if he did he said it quietly and I didn't hear it.

Not saying thanks - Thug life

Was in a corporate box as a kid at Optus Oval in early '95 against Fitzroy. Via some mundane work association with my mum the injured Stephen Kernahan (my idol) came up to me and proceeded to ask me a series of questions I was too starstruck to answer.

I was so nervous I was glad when he gave up and left. Certainly would have been the most boring experience of his life.

Left a Richmond game late once, pulled up next to Dusty at a red light, he was blasting rock music out of his Jeep, beeped the horn and he started flicking his tounge at us, not exactly boring.

Saw Josh Green at a Subway once. I was in front of him in the queue and I said hi to him as he walked into the store... proceeds to act like we were old buddies and pushes in front of everyone and myself and gets his serving. He loves meatball subs and choc chip cookies. Left without saying goodbye. :'(

On a lunch break from work a few years ago, I ducked down to Melbourne Central shopping centre. My eyes met with a bloke and I did that thing where I figured I knew him because I recognised his face, but couldn't remember where. He was watching me racking my brain and said "G'day" as he walked past. It wasn't until I was halfway back to work that I realised it was Lance Picioane.

I once did a 'good bloke' give way to Sam Mitchell on Auburn Rd near the Geebung. Got a thank you wave. So I will vigorously defend any accusations of him being a thug for the rest of his career.

I've stood behind Cam Smith (Storm) at the polling booth at a Balwyn primary school a couple of times.

At the Lord's test in 2013, I was getting my round when I saw Glenn Archer walking in the opposite direction. I yelled "Arch!" when I was about 10m past him. Surprised he didn't turn around for a chat. At that same test, I was waiting at the gate when the Australian team bus pulled up. Can confirm Watson was the only one that I saw offer the driver a "Thanks, mate".

Saw Joel Corey outside Rage Against the Machine at Festival Hall.

Saw Alan Richardson talking on his mobile at Rebel Sport in Eastland a month or two ago. I heard him say something about Brett Ratten, wanted to linger in case it was juicy, but just kept walking.

Kris Barlow pissed on the bar at a club my friends own after an EFL grand final a few years back.

Saw Matthew Scarlet after a Geelong game once, about 15 fans asked for an autograph (this was before smartphones took over so no photos) and he stormed past, completely ignored everyone.