2016 Draft discussion

Alright so he's an angry midget, but has he been working on his fitness and skills?
Can he handstand? I feel like we're missing someone in the handstanding department.

Ainsworth is a lock simply for his competitive nature imo.

Makes your Polecs and Karnezis' look like shart.
exactly right, l doubt we will take players that are too introverted anymore. Need more aggro in our team, and we are starting to get a nice little group that want to take it up to the opposition.

Wish Robertson had better decision making as l still remember him taking Jordan Lewis on last season. Was great to see.

Can he handstand? I feel like we're missing someone in the handstanding department.
Can he kiss the ground when doing a handstand? That is the question.

i have read an awful lot of phantom drafts, articles and highlight videos on numerous draft prospects but have never seen any of them live except for a few lions academy players.

of those of us who have seen Ben Ainswoth play live, what player past or present would you say he most plays like? i have seen a few compare him to Jamie Elliott. from the descriptions in phantom drafts, power rankings and videos he sounds like a Paul Puopolo type to me but with more strings to his bow.

hopefully in a few years Puopolo or Elliott will be described as a poor mans Ben Ainsworth sort of like the Akermanis .......................> Hanley comparison.

on the possibility of us not getting Ainsworth (i am assuming he is the one we want) i would say the giants and lions discussed several scenarios when the picks 2 & 3 trade was being contemplated. Schwab was very confident they would get the player they want at 3 and said they had a pretty good idea who the giants would take at 2 but no idea what the bombers would do at 1.

1) they would have assumed the bombers would take one of McCluggae/McGrath at 1.
2) the giants have told the lions that if McGrath goes 1 they will take McCluggage.

Can he kiss the ground when doing a handstand? That is the question.
i think Aker took a patent out on the kiss the ground while doing a handstand celebration.

we need something new eg.
contortionist-photo-spreads.jpeg

i think Aker took a patent out on the kiss the ground while doing a handstand celebration.

we need something new eg.
contortionist-photo-spreads.jpeg
Oh dear!
Not sure we will see that one on the footy field.

i have read an awful lot of phantom drafts, articles and highlight videos on numerous draft prospects but have never seen any of them live except for a few lions academy players.

of those of us who have seen Ben Ainswoth play live, what player past or present would you say he most plays like? i have seen a few compare him to Jamie Elliott. from the descriptions in phantom drafts, power rankings and videos he sounds like a Paul Puopolo type to me but with more strings to his bow.

hopefully in a few years Puopolo or Elliott will be described as a poor mans Ben Ainsworth sort of like the Akermanis .......................> Hanley comparison.

on the possibility of us not getting Ainsworth (i am assuming he is the one we want) i would say the giants and lions discussed several scenarios when the picks 2 & 3 trade was being contemplated. Schwab was very confident they would get the player they want at 3 and said they had a pretty good idea who the giants would take at 2 but no idea what the bombers would do at 1.

1) they would have assumed the bombers would take one of McCluggae/McGrath at 1.
2) the giants have told the lions that if McGrath goes 1 they will take McCluggage.
I see a little bit of Robbie Gray in Ainsworth, I think he will push through the midfield like Gray too.

And we're gunna keep whining until we get our own team.

Or maybe just take over the Lions by force of numbers.

Please, as if that will stop you. Then comes the whole argument over where to play, train, base etc etc. I'd imagine Tassie will probably get a team when all of Tassie can agree on where the games are played.

I agree you have a point, but we sorted this with our cricket which is based in Hobart. Since when we have done very well.

Didn't really like Ainsworth's attitude reading that article.

Sounds like he gets a bit sooky when things aren't going his way.

This is ridiculous lol

Difference between being being disappointed and being negative to the point where it's affecting everyone around you. Would wanna learn to deal with things not going your way a bit better than that if he's going to be drafted here.

Really? Glass half full,it sounded like a kid who takes criticism on board.

You'd be pretty hard-pressed to find a kid who doesn't get a bit down on themselves when they get injured.

Just going to back to the little discussion I kicked off 3 pages back, that second article has come out where even he has stated that his attitude was off so settle down to the 5 people who didn't like my assessment. The first article didn't portray him in a particularly good light from my reading: negative influence, whacks blokes when he's getting shut out of the game, locks himself in his room for 6 hours being a sook and then being called arrogant. There were a lot of negatives there and not quite as much positives. That second article brought more of the positive and showed that he was learning from it which was good to read.

I like the passion and the aggression and I agree we need it but it needs to be channeled a hell of a lot more effectively. At this stage, we haven't done a great job of turning our young guys in to leaders. It is of course starting to look better but it's still largely unproven that we have the leadership and development around them which could be the difference between a 2016 Mitch Robinson type who uses that aggression in the right way or a 2016 Pearce Hanley type.

Just goes to prove what I've always thought ..........................Comprehension is in the eye of the beholder ........................:tonguewink:

just listened to Callum Twomeys latest draft podcast. some points he made re us.

1) Declan Watson may get a bid in the late 20s or 30s, Jacob Allison a bit later and Jack Rolls a rookie chance.

2) Ben Ainsworth is one of those players that opposition supporters will hate but you would love him at your club.

3) Twomey thinks that if the bombers take McGrath the giants are a real possibility to take Ainsworth leaving us with McCluggage.

2016 Draft discussion