The AFL, Clubs and Pokies thread

All places that serve alcohol must practice RSA. You cant eat enough, or drink enough coke in 2 hours at the footy to cause obesity or dibetes.
You can destroy youself financially using an AFL clubs pokies.
you can destroy yourself financially using any Pokies, any form of gambling for that matter

you can also destroy yourself using other perfectly legal things like alcohol, cigarettes and junk food, it takes longer but it can be just as expensive

most people that ruin themselves gambling don't do it all in one day either, plenty of drunks have destroyed their own and other families, the burden on public health from smoking and bad diets is getting bigger by the day

and you know what gambling, fast food, alcohol and cigarettes all have in common? They are all legal, the are all things some people would like to ban and they are all things that some people have exploited parts of society with to get rich.

Great8

Apr 19, 2015
Manchester United, Juventus,
All places that serve alcohol must practice RSA. You cant eat enough, or drink enough coke in 2 hours at the footy to cause obesity or dibetes.
You can destroy youself financially using an AFL clubs pokies.
And if there wasn't pokies people would blow their money on other forms of gambling. Online betting and gambling are far easier to blow money on than pokies.
And yes I don't have a issue with pokies or gambling

Im saying you cant blame AFL clubs for obesity for 2 hours at the footy & service of alcohol is covered by RSA.
Pokies cause severe damage to some people & familiez in a short time in a pokies den.

I don't think you can blame AFL clubs for people's lives begin stuffed by pokies either.

If the AFL club's don't own them, then somebody else would, and the problem would still be there. The fault lies in those who can actually take real steps towards reducing their number...The government, and ultimately the people who elect them because they're happy enough to spend the money they bring in without regard to the suffering caused.

Edited to add.
2.572 Billion was spent on pokies in clubs and hotels
Vic government brought in $961.3 Million in revenue from pokies in 2014-5.
(not sure the first figure includes the casino, the latter probably does)

If you want to get rid of them, find a way to raise (at least) that much, or spend that much less and convince them to change. Might also pay to have an argument for making up the jobs lost in hospitality as part of that argument.

Garlic muncher

Feb 3, 2016
you can destroy yourself financially using any Pokies, any form of gambling for that matter

you can also destroy yourself using other perfectly legal things like alcohol, cigarettes and junk food, it takes longer but it can be just as expensive

most people that ruin themselves gambling don't do it all in one day either, plenty of drunks have destroyed their own and other families, the burden on public health from smoking and bad diets is getting bigger by the day

and you know what gambling, fast food, alcohol and cigarettes all have in common? They are all legal, the are all things some people would like to ban and they are all things that some people have exploited parts of society with to get rich.

In fact most people do not destroy themselves doing any of those things.

Most of those hotels or clubs i would have thought have a TAB, more people have destroyed themselves gambling on the Gee gees than pokies i would have thought, in fact i would have thought more people have destroyed themselves gambling via a mobile phone than pokies these days and more people killed using a mobile phone driving than pokies have killed people.

Just do not get the unbridled hate for them when in fact the vast majority of people play them responsibly.

Alcohol causes far more problems than pokies.

The hypocrisy around potentially banning pokies from clubs but letting them serve alcohol is just amazing, about as intelligent as banning greyhound racing i would have thought.

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart
I don't think you can blame AFL clubs for people's lives begin stuffed by pokies either.

If the AFL club's don't own them, then somebody else would, and the problem would still be there. The fault lies in those who can actually take real steps towards reducing their number...The government, and ultimately the people who elect them because they're happy enough to spend the money they bring in without regard to the suffering caused.

Its the AFL clubs who sprook about their community credentials. Its not as if they are a for profit mob.
It appears they arent even being legitimate about putting money back into the community. Claiming their own football costs as part of their community support obligations.

Its the AFL clubs who sprook about their community credentials. Its not as if they are a for profit mob.
It appears they arent even being legitimate about putting money back into the community. Claiming their own football costs as part of their community support obligations.

So if those same pokies were owned by Woolies, they'd be OK?

The problem isn't who owns them and takes profits from them.

Furn2

Sep 27, 2012
Either all money earned by clubs has to be 100% morally and ethically clean ( so no banks, unhealthy food, alcohol, insurance, supplements, sports drinks, soft drinks, energy drinks, organic/natural products, lawyers, gambling, real estate etc etc ) or we just follow the law and allows clubs to earn money by any legal means.

I don't see why we should pick on one particular industry.

Either all money earned by clubs has to be 100% morally and ethically clean ( so no banks, unhealthy food, alcohol, insurance, supplements, sports drinks, soft drinks, energy drinks, organic/natural products, lawyers, gambling, real estate etc etc ) or we just follow the law and allows clubs to earn money by any legal means.

I don't see why we should pick on one particular industry.

Not to mention complete police and ethical checks on all potential members, with drug, alcohol, BMI & cholesterol checks at the gates to all grounds that must be passed before entry.

Not sure how they can apply the same controls to those watching on TV, or following on the net, but dammit they should do that too!

DemonTim

10k Posts The Trident - Awarded to posters who do a hell of a lot on the Dees board
Jul 18, 2013
Im saying you cant blame AFL clubs for obesity for 2 hours at the footy & service of alcohol is covered by RSA.
Pokies cause severe damage to some people & familiez in a short time in a pokies den.
If they aren't responsible for obesity or alcoholism due to their relationships with bad food and alcohol, then they aren't responsible for gambling problems, because of their relationship with gaming venues.

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart
If they aren't responsible for obesity or alcoholism due to their relationships with bad food and alcohol, then they aren't responsible for gambling problems, because of their relationship with gaming venues.

But they sprook their community links & care for community etc etc, then they short change the community with their behaviors over poker machine monies.
Clubs & AFL weaned themselves off Tobacco companies. They just have another antisocial addiction to rid themselves of now.

Jul 2, 2010
But they sprook their community links & care for community etc etc, then they short change the community with their behaviors over poker machine monies.
Clubs & AFL weaned themselves off Tobacco companies. They just have another antisocial addiction to rid themselves of now.

Well no. Tobacco advertising, and thus sponsorship, was made illegal. It wasnt a choice clubs and leagues made.

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart
Well no. Tobacco advertising, and thus sponsorship, was made illegal. It wasnt a choice clubs and leagues made.

I didnt say it wasnt made illegal. The fact was the AFL & clubs survived the loss of that antisocial source of income.

If anything it makes the AFL clubs position even more odious. Sucking the gambling addicted dry & squibbing on paying a social tax on that money. It shows how depraved & lacking community care their behavior really is. They like to sprook to Gument, media & us poor plebs on the street what wonderful community citizens they are. What crap.

DemonTim

10k Posts The Trident - Awarded to posters who do a hell of a lot on the Dees board
Jul 18, 2013
You mean like alcohol, or eating junk food...

DemonTim

Jul 18, 2013
I didnt say it wasnt made illegal. The fact was the AFL & clubs survived the loss of that antisocial source of income.

If anything it makes the AFL clubs position even more odious. Sucking the gambling addicted dry & squibbing on paying a social tax on that money. It shows how depraved & lacking community care their behavior really is. They like to sprook to Gument, media & us poor plebs on the street what wonderful community citizens they are. What crap.
I don't think you're even arguing against anyone here, but your logic applies to many other things the league does too.

DemonTim

Jul 18, 2013
They sell food 2-3 hours a week. The pokie dens are open 20 hours a day.
Non point
So you don't care if they encourage gambling, just as long as they don't run the venue?

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart
My point is the AFL clubs are in a privileged position. They get a lot of Gument largesse. They sprook their community credentials. Then they get involved in this very dubious behavior. Its an obvious contradiction

Someone else pointed out Diabetes & Obesity. I just pointed out the difference between crap food at the footy 11 times a year & 20 hours of draining money each day.