News Poster's Favorite Movies - Latest Movie Seen

short memories, Tom Cruise has been in plenty of great movies - Risky Business, Rain Man, A Few Good Men, The Firm, Jerry Maguire, Magnolia, Mission Impossible II, Vanilla Sky, Minority Report, Edge of Tomorrow... that's without mentioning the more questionable ones like Top Gun, Days of Thunder or Eyes Wide Shut...
Don't believe anyone has said he can't act... rather he is not that likeable as a person & I called him weird.

Actors that you associate with good movies
1. Jack Nicholson
2. Marlon Brando
3. Al Pacino
4. Dustin Hoffman
5. Jeff Bridges
(could list so many more)

Actors you associate with bad movies

1. Adam Sandler
2. Will Smith
3. Megan Fox
4. Hayden Christensen
5. Ashton Kutcher
6. Johnny Depp

Hayden Christensen is one of the worst actors of all time

Sep 30, 2014
short memories, Tom Cruise has been in plenty of great movies - Risky Business, Rain Man, A Few Good Men, The Firm, Jerry Maguire, Magnolia, Mission Impossible II, Vanilla Sky, Minority Report, Edge of Tomorrow... that's without mentioning the more questionable ones like Top Gun, Days of Thunder or Eyes Wide Shut...
You forgot his best performance. Tropic thunder.

subaru

30k Posts 10k Posts Bay 13: Flog of the Year
Nov 14, 2007
Cruise is just weird, with the influence of the Scientologists.

My brother was meant to have a honeymoon dinner in the Eiffel Tower & booked months in advance... for it to be cancelled at the last minute, because Tom wanted it to himself, with Katie.
That's why I can't stand him.

Docs on Scientology show what a complete tool he is.

Matt Damon wouldn't do that. He probably would have shouted them a bottle of champagne !

Rotayjay

Aug 28, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
For those who haven't already, I recommend seeing Lion before it's taken out of cinemas. A great true story - rather heart-wrenching but I like a movie that has the ability to move its viewers. Lion is neither too gritty-looking nor too polished-looking, acting is pretty good, and I think it depicts the actual events rather accurately.

DD#23

Dec 31, 2013
I like most Tom Cruise movies.

But cant stand him.

A bit like U2 music and Bono.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
some people seem to find it difficult but I have absolutely no problem with ignoring people's off-screen personas when it comes to enjoying movies they're in.

Mel Gibson also comes to mind, great actor.

Don't believe anyone has said he can't act... rather he is not that likeable as a person & I called him weird.
fair enough, see above I guess.

Sep 30, 2014
some people seem to find it difficult but I have absolutely no problem with ignoring people's off-screen personas when it comes to enjoying movies they're in.

Mel Gibson also comes to mind, great actor.

fair enough, see above I guess.
I reckon you'd be hard pressed to find a Hollywood actor that isn't an utter w***er.

Matt Damon does seem like a decent bloke though.

DD#23

Dec 31, 2013
I reckon you'd be hard pressed to find a Hollywood actor that isn't an utter ******.

Matt Damon does seem like a decent bloke though.
probably right, some certainly keep lower public profiles than others.

reminds me of the stories of Errol Flynn getting hung out to dry when Hollywood stopped paying the police their hush money.

TexForPM

May 21, 2015
Zegema Beach
Good
Jack Nicholson
Patrick Swayze
Arnie
Judy Dench
Michael cane
Jeff bridges
Pacino
Eastwood
Helen Bonham Carter
Keanu Reeves
Di Caprio
Marky Mark
Rutger Hauer
Warwick davis

Puss
Ben Affleck
Zack Efron
Hayden Christensen
Megan Fox
Reece Witherspoon
Paulie shore
Horseface
Julia Roberts

Nov 24, 2007
DTC Frat House
Team Lambda Variant
1. Gerard Butler
2. Adam Sandler (& any of his crew)
3. Ashton Kutcher
4. Cameron Diaz
5. Robert De Niro (post-Heat)

1. Adam Sandler
2. Will Smith
3. Megan Fox
4. Hayden Christensen
5. Ashton Kutcher
6. Johnny Depp

These lists are invalid, because Demi Moore is not included. She can ruin anything.

Nov 24, 2007
DTC Frat House
Team Lambda Variant
Disagree. A Few Good Men, Ghost, Margin Call, Disclosure. All very good.

I think they were good in spite of her and would have been better without her

AFGM for example, her character is just dumb

"I'm a lawyer but my best advice is you go get him"

I think they were good in spite of her and would have been better without her

AFGM for example, her character is just dumb

"I'm a lawyer but my best advice is you go get him"
Go get who?

DD#23

Dec 31, 2013
Anything good in cinemas ATM?
I was initially hesitant because I don't like musicals but La La Land is still around and I'm going to see that Monday.

Moonlight is another Oscar nominee, Toni Erdmann is getting rave reviews, or Trainspotting 2 has just come out if that's more your style.

Logan is two weeks away but there's heaps of buzz coming out of the early screenings.

skittlebrew

Feb 8, 2013
Anything good in cinemas ATM?

Not really, wait for trainspotting 2 even though it probably wont hold a candle to the original.

Lion was ok but not great or anything, wouldn't go out of my way to see it.
Don't see the great wall, it was Damon fighting lizard monsters...