Mega Thread The Questions Thread - Part II

Yep. Put that money to good use. It's not doing much for you sitting in a savings account.
I suggest putting it all into pumpkins - they should peak around the first or second week of November.

Ballpark how much money do you need before you can think about moving out of home?
24 now and saved up a bit. Thinking of giving it a go soon. Dad has said I'm out by 26 anyway.

Prefer to live by myself. Mum has a few houses and could possibly rent one from her but it wouldn't be free although she probably wouldn't charge me market cost.

Have around 60-65k. No debt.

Yeah I moved out when I had about $300 to my name. You should be fine.

Either you are borderline ****** or still on the tit. Dude, if you work fulltime (which you must) you need enough cash for bond and that's about it. Grab a couch from the side of the road or a few milk crates and you are sweet.

Just buy an apartment if you have that coin. As a side note, how on earth do you bring girls home to your parents home when you're 24?

Last edited by a moderator:
Either you are borderline ****** or still on the tit. Dude, if you work fulltime (which you must) you need enough cash for bond and that's about it. Grab a couch from the side of the road or a few milk crates and you are sweet.

Just buy an apartment if you have that coin. As a side note, how on earth do you bring girls home to your parents home when you're 24?
Silent Alarm

This guy is basically borderline ******ed.

He doesn't bring girls back.

People with $2,000 after bond and a first month's rent (oh, and a job) are being very good financially when leaving home.

FFS.

He's one of those guys with heaps of money in his bank account because I bet he never shouts his poor mates lunch, he probably never buys clothes, he pre-drinks still and only needs nine beers over a night to be pissed. We all have those tight arse mates who live at home but still only buy stuff when it's on sale, or turn down social events because they're worried about money or want to work an extra shift. AKA the dude has a boring, dull lifestyle while living with his parents who prioritises having money over actually enjoying what money can buy.

Can the dude even make a bed? Put in a new lightbulb?

Sort of related, but does anyone know the best place to use for storage?

I only need around 3 square metres, not a lot of stuff – I just want to keep some appliances, white goods, a mattress so I don't have to start all over again when I get into my next place.

It seems $120-odd a month is the going rate.

At that stage is it smarter to just ditch all of that shit and spend the money when I get back on re-buying all those appliances? For what it's worth I've never bought any of that stuff, sans a couch; been lucky enough to find stuff in good working nick on the side of streets.

100% do this. Sell then rebuy. $120 month is bloody exy and dead money.

I do also have some personal belongings and clothes I don't really want to drag back over with me. Hmm.

If I had my time again I'd have ponied up for a bit storage rather then rely on my parents. Footy cards, my collection of old Rolling Stone magazines, a 1976 Mini S with 50k on it, all consigned to history because they needed more room.

Put personal belongings on a buy, swap, sell page? Not sure anyone would want those.

You'd be largely surprised.

Another outlet to try and sell stuff and make some money.

Though I did mean more the clothes that you mentioned, rather than the personal belongings.

ditch all of that shit
This. By the time you might want it again it'll be so old and out of date you won't want it again and with the money you save on storage you can buy better shit and probably still walk away ahead on every front.. except the mattress I guess. They don't really go out of date and if it's the best ****ing mattress you've ever slept on then hang onto that like gold otherwise meh.

If I had my time again I'd have ponied up for a bit storage rather then rely on my parents. Footy cards, my collection of old Rolling Stone magazines, a 1976 Mini S with 50k on it, all consigned to history because they needed more room.
That's a horror movie right there.

75cd64c525cedf688c0d21a31fba610a.jpg

Work ute (Ford Ranger) has broken down in the bush. Drive train warning light and overheating. Feels like it has gone into limp mode. Letting her cool down before I try moving again.

Any ideas?

75cd64c525cedf688c0d21a31fba610a.jpg

Work ute (Ford Ranger) has broken down in the bush. Drive train warning light and overheating. Feels like it has gone into limp mode. Letting her cool down before I try moving again.

Any ideas?
I think that's about all you can do until you can get it to a workshop. Let it cool down and limp home or limp to the nearest place you can get a tow.

Yep, had just overheated. Gave it a rest, started it up, walked it to the top of the hill then onto another track downhill into civilisation. Discovered the radiator had been covered in grass seeds and crap which, along with giving it a fair bit of the boot to get over some rough humpty doos, caused the overheating.

Here in the Anglophone world we've given up on terror and have shifted our energy to the war on gender pronouns.

Is this same push happening in other languages? Other than he/she man/woman English is pretty easy on the masculine and feminine.

The man. The woman. The boy. The girl. The dog. The cat.
Der Mann. Die Frau. Der Junge. Das Mädchen. Der Hund. Die Katze.

I mean wagon is masculine and car is neutral. Ich verstehe nicht, Deutschland. Are zee Germans sitting there worried about 'Das-ing' everything to make the language gender neutral? Or do they just look at us and shake their heads and wondering why we focus on such things while we can't run trains on time? French (different language family altogether to English and German) has the same structure.

Has anyone lived or live in Cheltenham in Melbourne, or near abouts?

Moving there tomorrow, and while I've studied as much as I can about the suburb, would like to know what people like/don't like about the area.

Forgive my ignorance (which I happily wallow within each day) but is Big Footy officially considered to be a form of social media?

Yes, internet forums fall under the social media banner.