Changes for Richm'd (see team in OP, Aish & Broomy in, Varcoe out, Cox omit, & Daicos an emergency!)

Is Kayle Kirby one of those types that you can just throw in and he'll have a good game.. f procedures and protocol and weight loss/gain .. throw the gem in there.

Probably would be, however at the present time he simply doesnt have the tank to play all 4 quarters at AFL intensity. Thats why bucks is saying hes a long way off once he gets in shape the league can watch out.

Is Kayle Kirby one of those types that you can just throw in and he'll have a good game.. f procedures and protocol and weight loss/gain .. throw the gem in there.

What's the point in playing a guy who cannot last more than one quarter?

Probably would be, however at the present time he simply doesnt have the tank to play all 4 quarters at AFL intensity. Thats why bucks is saying hes a long way off once he gets in shape the league can watch out.

Stevie Johnson is another one that doesn't need a pre season.. apparently that Petrevski-Seton bloke at Carlton didn't have much of a pre season didn't play 1 JLT game.. yet they threw him in the mix and he did ok.

There are players you just need to throw the coaching/fitness rule book away.. cause you know they just don't need much preparation to play a good quality game.

What's the point in playing a guy who cannot last more than one quarter?
Never hurt ben Kennedy.

(Jokes: ahhh that silly sub rule the league had)

Photo of Schade accepting his jumper looks like Broomhead had all the kit on, must have been very close to playing on Friday night.

Perhaps the rumours of (another) late out were not wrong. If it was Pendles he sure pulled up alright ;)

The only lazy player we had was Fasolo. His "chasing" was a joke.

The mids busted their guts in repeat forward efforts and had nothing left for chasing when the dogs got out the back.

Couldn't give a stuff about him "chasing".
He's a forward- he kicked goals, job done.

It's a shame our other forwards can't do the fundamental skill that is their primary job- to kick goals in a forward line.

Not do everything else except that.
Once upon a time we would have Didak, Medhurst, Davis running around- -all renowned for one thing- goals.

These days we value our forwards on everything except this - such as chasing.
It's why we are where we are.

For someone who claims to be a member of the Woodsmen you say some silly things.
Spending 10k a year
Well that's quite a bit.
Good luck if that's what they want to spend

Couldn't give a stuff about him "chasing".
He's a forward- he kicked goals, job done.

It's a shame our other forwards can't do the fundamental skill that is their primary job- to kick goals in a forward line.

Not do everything else except that.
Once upon a time we would have Didak, Medhurst, Davis running around- -all renowned for one thing- goals.

These days we value our forwards on everything except this - such as chasing.
It's why we are where we are.
There is no reason for any player to be lazy... ever. I saw Fasolo be within 5m of the ball when a Bulldog defender gets it, Fasolo just gives up on the chase immediately and literally stops., But the Bulldog defender got corralled by us and had to prop. Faz was 5m behind stationary, then he realized he should probably run at the guy and try to tackle him. was too late he got the handball off and the dogs were away. If that was anyone else we get a free for holding the ball and a set shot at goal or another 50/50 spillage in the forward half.

I am all for talented goal kickers; I just see no reason why they have to be lazy as well.
Especially with our gameplan this sort of thing is a killer. For any team it is a bit of a cancer.

There is no reason for any player to be lazy... ever. I saw Fasolo be within 5m of the ball when a Bulldog defender gets it, Fasolo just gives up on the chase immediately and literally stops., But the Bulldog defender got corralled by us and had to prop. Faz was 5m behind stationary, then he realized he should probably run at the guy and try to tackle him. was too late he got the handball off and the dogs were away. If that was anyone else we get a free for holding the ball and a set shot at goal or another 50/50 spillage in the forward half.

I am all for talented goal kickers; I just see no reason why they have to be lazy as well.
Especially with our gameplan this sort of thing is a killer. For any team it is a bit of a cancer.

I reckon Fas is the kind of guy who needs a kick up the arse every now and again. He's been spoken to by the club in the past and has probably copped some heat this week. I would expect him to respond and have a good game tomorrow.

Out: Blair (a witch without broomstick), Varcoe

In: Aish, Broomhead

So many times last weekend Blair would kick the footy without vigour, the game has passed him, unless he can prove me wrong in the next 10 weeks in the reserves.

Brining in Broomy allows us to be more flexible with the side and gives us another dangerous small forward.

It definitely makes sense what Bucks said regarding our defenders were up far to high in that period in the 3rd where they got 2 goals so easily out the back. We were coming hard and defenders probably got a bit carried away trying to kick a goal.

They need to not get carried away and stick to the structures because in games last year we have shown it can work if done correctly.

This is the part where we miss a general like Maxwell back there the most. Someone to take control and organise things. God I have no idea how every opposition fan hated on him, just because he didnt get 25 touches every week probably... he really did keep that defence organised and structured

It does bother me sometimes the way opposition flogs talk shit about Maxwell but we know how important he was to our side.

Just looking at the forecast it isnt predicted to rain so it will be interesting to see what happens.

Then I reckon we'll go:

In: Aish, Broomhead
Out: Varcoe, Blair

There's no doubt we need Broomhead's creativity around goal. We just look so vanilla without Elliott, De Goey and Varcoe....and to a lesser extent Greenwood who kicked 18 last year.