Cats and the Bye - Some Numbers

Remove this Banner Ad

Herne Hill Hammer

Cancelled
10k Posts
Jun 22, 2008
AFL Club
Geelong
Alright, I've been banging on about this for 2 or 3 years so I thought it time I have a bit of a look at it. I noticed last night that the media have really picked up on it now.

One thing I will correct though, is that as far as h&a goes, what I thought, and what the media were telling everyone last night was incorrect.

In 2014, there was a bye and a split round. The Cats won the game after the split round. It's still not pretty reading though.

In the period 2011 until now, here is every other club's record coming off a bye.

Hawthorn 7/1

West Coast Eagles 6/3

Adelaide 5/3

Fremantle 5/3

St Kilda 4/5

Brisbane 3/6

Carlton 3/6

Collingwood 3/5

Essendon 3/5

Melbourne 3/6

North Melbourne 3/5

Port Adelaide 3/6

Richmond 3/5

Sydney 3/6

Western Bulldogs 3/6

Geelong 2/7

Gold Coast 1/8

GWS 0/6

Here are Geelong specific games with a little extra detail.

2011 v North @ Kardinia round 7, we were 2nd undefeated at that stage, North were 4th from the bottom with one win. Geelong 19.13 127 d North 9.7 61.

North played the week before and beat Port Adelaide by 10 goals.

Follow that game up by inflicted Collingwood’s first loss of the season by 3 points.

2011 v Sydney @ Kardinia round 23, we were 2nd, 7 1/2 wins clear of Sydney who were 7th. Geelong 12.14 86 lost to Sydney 15.9 99. Scores were close all game.

Sydney played the week before and beat St Kilda by 15 points. They had 15 more scoring shots.

Followed up the loss by beating the Pies by 96 points.

Then had a 31 point QF win over the Hawks, had a week off and easily accounted for a cooked WCE in the PF. Very strong GF win the following week.

At the end of the h&a :

North finished 10th with 10 wins and a percentage of 101.2%.

Sydney finished 7th with 12 wins and a draw and a percentage of 109.3%. They lost in a semi-final to Hawthorn by 36 points.