Player Watch Matt Crouch - Re-Signed to End of 2025

that's why nobody compares players on metres gained alone, or any stat for that matter.

at least not anybody worth listening too.

Yes, but to criticise an inside player for low metres gained has happened, and will continue to happen.

Its been a knock on crouch in the past, and this year its been Clayton Oliver.

Haha, no doubt the Wabbit will say the system's flawed...

It's time some people gave MCrouch the credit he deserves instead of trying to pick his faults and highlight every mistake he makes, he ain't perfect and may not be as "sexy" as some of the topliners but he's bloody good at what he does and was well worth what we paid, in fact he has been a steal at Pick 23.

Mate it's all about context. The stats have no context whatsoever. They're just numbers

I've never been a fan of the term "hurt factor" and its frequent usage to denigrate players who specialise in winning the contested ball to be honest.

In the context of our sport the term is almost exclusively used to describe the actions of scoring goals or just plain moving the ball forward, but there are plenty of other ways to "hurt" the opposition, and for defenders some of those ways don't even involve the ball. Besides, are there really that many better ways to hurt your opposition than to give your team possession of the one object necessary to score, whilst at the same time denying those opponents the same?

Sure it's great if a player can win the ball and contribute in those aforementioned ways, in fact this is often the hallmark of the elite midfielder of which there aren't that many going around, but I don't believe a player lacks hurt factor when they excel at winning the ball. My only criticism of this kind of contribution would be if the player was ruining their work by handing the ball straight to an opponent, which would make winning it in the first place rather redundant.

On Matt specifically, I reckon he's developing into a fine player and as time has passed he's become more of a factor on the outside of contests. I believe his kicking has improved as well, having the fitness to find more space to execute has also helped. He's by no means the hopeless kick that some made him out to be early on, particularly those Port supporters who felt salty for passing up the chance to draft him for Impey.:p I also like that he was experimenting with his non-preferred foot in the preseason, shows he's got his mind set on improving.

All in all I'm very happy with Matt's progress thus far and I'm looking forward to seeing what the future holds for him.

Gun. A couple of years in the gym and he will be a beast.

Not likely, maybe he can add another clearance per game to his name and clean up the kicking a bit more (it's solid, but prone to the occasional wtf moment) but this is about 85-90% of what Crouch will do output wise.

Mind you, for a pick 23, this is a big time return.

Two years ago and still feel this is my best call on Big Footy.

Matt Crouch is a fricken ball magnet par excellence.

I thought I'd bump this given this week came the gushing about Tom Mitchell breaking a "record" for highest avge disposals per game in a career of 50+ games:
TOM Mitchell continues to soar in his first season as a Hawk, with the prolific midfielder now holding a monumental statistical record.

Among those to have played at least 50 games since weekly statistics were first recorded in 1965, Mitchell now boasts the highest disposal average.

The former Swan's career average has rocketed to 26.96, edging past Brisbane Lions counterpart Tom Rockliff (26.93).

TOM Mitchell continues to soar in his first season as a Hawk, with the prolific midfielder now holding a monumental statistical record. Among those to have played at least 50 games since weekly statistics were first recorded in 1965, Mitchell now boasts the highest disposal average. The former Swan's career average has rocketed to 26.96, edging past Brisbane Lions counterpart Tom Rockliff (26.93).

Admittedly it's a fluid situation, and Mitchell could also come under immediate threat from the likes of Collingwood star and fellow 24-year-old Adam Treloar (26.86) and Swans skipper Josh Kennedy (26.50).

But given his relative youth, Mitchell's career is expected to remain on the upswing for some time to come.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-07-06/hungry-hawk-chomps-through-the-stats-records

A thing to note - Mitchell was 24yrs, 33days old when he played his last game on the weekend, Treloar was 24yrs 116days old.
Matt Crouch was 22yrs 72days old. He is 2 years younger than they are. And he is already averaging in his career 25.33 disposals per game.

And he is tracking better than Mitchell:
Mit and Matt.png
But of course Matt's average per game disposals get hit by the stupid sub-rule. In his first 18 games there were 6 games were he was on the field for less than 33% of the total time. Mitchell by contrast only was sub once. So what if we remove those sub games from the averages (and to be kind I'll take out the semi final Mitchell played where he did his ankle in the first quarter so only played 7% game time).

Here's what the graph looks like then:
Mit and Matt subbies.png
Mitchell's average rises to 27.49 and Matt jumps to 26.93.

We also know that Matt early on lacked fitness due to barely having a pre-season in his junior career due to cricket so his playing time even when playing a full game was limited early on (even if we take out his sub games he averaged only 70% playing time prior to this year - whereas this season he averages 77% - still lower than I'd like and well below Mitchell's 87% game time average this season, but when Mitchell was Matt's age in 2015 he only averaged 81%, so it's not *that* bad)

But if we use the measure I did to start this thread of disposals per 100% of game time, the Matt Crouch average looks rather fairly stunning:
Mit and Matt 100 percent.png

To recap - Is Matt Crouch going to be the best ball magnet in the AFL? It sure looks like it, and sooner than we might have thought.

The key is to keep working on his fitness and get that game time up to consistently above 80%

And to remember the kid is still a kid - 22 is a baby for an inside mid and he is already a dead-set possession gun.

Bloody good pick 23, if you ask me.

If Brad can get his foot injury right, the 2 Bros will be deadset one of the most valuable pairings since the days of the Jarman Bros. Brad has more X-factor about him to me, I believe we've yet to see him play to his full potential, and same goes for Matt. If we can get average possessions of 30 each per game from the Crouch Bros, then it's a fair chance we'd win.
In answer to the thread topic, MCrouch probably will be ranked along the likes of a Tom Mitchell, Kelly etc. But don't count out BCrouch, as I feel he can possibly be more damaging with his carry and run game, even though less overall possessions.

PS wish Jarman Impey slid to us :'(

I remember being told post draft one of the Port recruiters thought he would most likely reach 50 games but would never be a good player so they overlooked him.

artworks-000216679247-rt443a-t500x500.jpg

I've been going over the 2013 draft to pick the best players. I probably don't watch enough of other teams but here's a list.

Bontempelli
Kelly
Cripps
Merrett
Billings
Salem
Crouch???
Sheed
Kolodjashnij
McCarthy
McDonald
Brown
Jones
Lobb

Seems weird putting him up that high and it's more than likely that some of them will go past him including some of the talls I have missed (Gardiner/McStay). He's obviously a step or two behind the top 5, but on current output he probably deserves to be top 10.

I've been going over the 2013 draft to pick the best players. I probably don't watch enough of other teams but here's a list.

Bontempelli
Kelly
Cripps
Merrett
Billings
Salem
Crouch???
Sheed
Kolodjashnij
McCarthy
McDonald
Brown
Jones
Lobb

Seems weird putting him up that high and it's more than likely that some of them will go past him including some of the talls I have missed (Gardiner/McStay). He's obviously a step or two behind the top 5, but on current output he probably deserves to be top 10.
Salem is a classy player but Crouch well ahead on performance i would think.

Bontempelli
Kelly
Cripps
Merrett
Billings
Salem
Crouch???
Sheed
Kolodjashnij
McCarthy
McDonald
Brown
Jones
Lobb

The Herald Sun re-ranked it last month:

THE 2013 DRAFT RE-RANKED

1. MARCUS BONTEMPELLI (No.4, Western Bulldogs): Almost the complete football CV at 21. Close to No.1 player in the game.
2. JOSH KELLY (No.2, GWS Giants): North Melbourne’s $9 million carrot says everything. Brownlow calls from draft days are back on.
3. ZACH MERRETT (No.26, Essendon): No.1 in AFL for metres gained this season, averaging 599 per game. Leather-poisoning Don the fans love.
4. PATRICK CRIPPS (No.13, Carlton): Contested midfield beast who was a surprisingly early pick at 13 on draft night.
5. JAYDEN HUNT (No.57, Melbourne): Searing pace and symbolic of the new Melbourne — shrewd recruiting polished with diligent development.
6. ORAZIO FANTASIA (No.55, Essendon): Genuine A-grade small forward who has four bags of three goals or more this season (Bombers have won each of those games).
7. MATT CROUCH (No.23, Adelaide): Ball magnet. Averaging 32.5 disposals per game — No.3 in the AFL.
8. TOM BOYD (No.1, GWS/Bulldogs): Critics will disagree, but most can only dream of a Norm Smith Medal-worthy performance in a premiership.
9. RORY LOBB (No.29, GWS Giants): No.3 for contested marks among forwards. Kicked three goals in a preliminary final.
10. BEN BROWN (No.47, Nth Melb): Plucked from North’s VFL affiliate with supposedly dodgy ankles. Clean mark and reliable set-shot.
11. JACK BILLINGS (No.3, St Kilda): It’s Billings with a bullet. Has rediscovered the scoreboard impact which made him a junior star.
12. ZAK JONES (No.15, Sydney): Brother of Demons co-captain Nathan is now rated an elite wingman after being unleashed this year.
13. JARMAN IMPEY (No.21, Port Adel): Doesn’t get the kudos in Victoria, but averaging 1.4 goals and 3.6 tackles per match.
14. TOBY NANKERVIS (No.35, Sydney/Richmond): Aggressive ruckman who is a force around the ground. Is in the All-Australian conversation.
15. CAMERON McCARTHY (No.14, GWS/Fremantle): Has returned from football wilderness to show glimpses — goalkicking accuracy still askew.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...t/news-story/08190fa55daca9f631c4a6e9cb85becd

THE 2013 DRAFT RE-RANKED

1. MARCUS BONTEMPELLI (No.4, Western Bulldogs): Almost the complete football CV at 21. Close to No.1 player in the game.
2. JOSH KELLY (No.2, GWS Giants): North Melbourne’s $9 million carrot says everything. Brownlow calls from draft days are back on.
3. ZACH MERRETT (No.26, Essendon): No.1 in AFL for metres gained this season, averaging 599 per game. Leather-poisoning Don the fans love.
4. PATRICK CRIPPS (No.13, Carlton): Contested midfield beast who was a surprisingly early pick at 13 on draft night.
5. JAYDEN HUNT (No.57, Melbourne): Searing pace and symbolic of the new Melbourne — shrewd recruiting polished with diligent development.
6. ORAZIO FANTASIA (No.55, Essendon): Genuine A-grade small forward who has four bags of three goals or more this season (Bombers have won each of those games).
7. MATT CROUCH (No.23, Adelaide): Ball magnet. Averaging 32.5 disposals per game — No.3 in the AFL.
8. TOM BOYD (No.1, GWS/Bulldogs): Critics will disagree, but most can only dream of a Norm Smith Medal-worthy performance in a premiership.
9. RORY LOBB (No.29, GWS Giants): No.3 for contested marks among forwards. Kicked three goals in a preliminary final.
10. BEN BROWN (No.47, Nth Melb): Plucked from North’s VFL affiliate with supposedly dodgy ankles. Clean mark and reliable set-shot.
11. JACK BILLINGS (No.3, St Kilda): It’s Billings with a bullet. Has rediscovered the scoreboard impact which made him a junior star.
12. ZAK JONES (No.15, Sydney): Brother of Demons co-captain Nathan is now rated an elite wingman after being unleashed this year.
13. JARMAN IMPEY (No.21, Port Adel): Doesn’t get the kudos in Victoria, but averaging 1.4 goals and 3.6 tackles per match.
14. TOBY NANKERVIS (No.35, Sydney/Richmond): Aggressive ruckman who is a force around the ground. Is in the All-Australian conversation.
15. CAMERON McCARTHY (No.14, GWS/Fremantle): Has returned from football wilderness to show glimpses — goalkicking accuracy still askew.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...t/news-story/08190fa55daca9f631c4a6e9cb85becd
Ahhh. Forgot about Fantasia and Hunt.

Wouldn't have Boyd. Playing well in a GF is obviously a great thing for a young player to do, but I don't think it warrants plaudits when discussing who has been the better player since the draft. May well come back into it if he gets his mind right.

Impey has been gifted an early start to his career if you ask me. Not a bad player but so many deficiencies.

Nankervis has been good this season from what I've seen, but maybe a touch early to put him alongside the others. Same with Hunt.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ad...s/news-story/2cb6958f152d94cf759bbe63265e5c36

Adelaide Crows show premiership credentials

The Crows made their game-busting move in the third term with Walker’s major triggering the sequence of 10 goals to none.

Adelaide, with Matt Crouch running amok with 13 disposals for the quarter, kicked 7.0 to 0.3 to delight their 41,948-strong home crowd.

The Crows iced the game with the initial three goals of the last quarter before Luke Dalhaus converted to end the Bulldogs’ stagnant scoring period.

He's had a superb year so far. I never had any doubt that he'd be the kind of player to get 30 touches every week, but I've been so impressed with his poise and decision-making this year. It's amazing how much better his disposal looks now that he's taking an extra second to sum up his options.

Add to that what is now a good tank, good tackling technique, has been durable so far, and he is super competitive. He's become a really good player and is still so young, who knows how good he'll end up.

THE 2013 DRAFT RE-RANKED

Needs more Riley Knight