Universal Love Down Memory Lane

Jun 6, 2007
Footscray
Sunderland,Pelicans, LA Kings
Yes and he gets a bit prickly about it. The Font Bar dodged it on Thursday night. Showed highlights of Balme from the 73 GF. Kicking goals naturally. Comedy and violence are not a good mix.

BigFrizz36

Mar 20, 2017
Balme actually committed back to back grand final thuggery acts.

He also broke David McKay's jaw during the 2nd quarter of the 1972 grand final. People forget that one because it was not captured on camera, McKay played out the rest of the game and we won the game.

Despite his pain McKay took a magnificent high mark during the 3rd quarter. Later in that quarter when McKay took an uncontested mark Sheedy ran in and hit McKay in the face.

McKay once mentioned that when the game finished he was in so much pain that he did not stay for the premiership cup presentation and drove straight to the hospital.

Balme was reported for this act by the goal umpire who ran about 30 metres out from the goals to book him. A better effort than umpire Robinson a year later.

Balme was suspended for 2 matches.
Not sure how or why but I was in the rooms straight after the siren in 1972. I remember Big Nick was absolutely fuming as someone had pinched something out of his bag (its all a bit hazy) Swan Mckay was the bloke who had got us in via a friend and said hello. I have a vague memory of him being crook at the time.

BigFrizz36

Mar 20, 2017
What a player.
My all time favourite going to the football and watch how he went about it.
The 1 minute 57 second mark and his next moments telling trainers to piss off as there was a ball up in a moment classic Dominator hunger for the contest.

In 1986 we were on our footy trip in Launceston after winning the grand final by 132 points. We had a heap of Carlton supporters in our team. We were out at the casino getting stuck into it and a couple of blokes sidled up to me and said "we heard that you guys won the flag by 22 goals that's a fair effort". Took a while to realize that it was Wayne Johnson and David Rhys-Jones. The boys had seen them and got them to come over and have a chat. Had a couple of beers with them, they were supposed to be over in Japan playing an exhibition game but had bailed out and headed to Tassie instead. They reckon that John Elliott was fuming with them for not going (exhibition game crowd was 25,000). True story, great night.

Jun 6, 2007
Footscray
I conducted the eulogy at my sister's funeral yesterday. The Carlton Football Club is close to the heart in our family. I thought you might like to read what I said about the Mighty Blues. I could have waxed lyrical for hours but I chose these words.

"Kathy loved the Carlton Football Club. We didn't have a choice. Mum decided around 1964 that a Saturday afternoon at the footy was good recreation. I was 7 at the time, Kathy 12 and Louis 14. What a time to hitch a ride. We were privileged to witness three decades of success. 8 premierships came our way in that time. Legends of the game represented the Mighty Blues. John Nicholls, Alex Jesaulenko, Bruce Doull, Stephen Kernahan and Stephen Silvagni were just the tip of the iceberg.

The first premiership was 1968. We always had tickets to the finals games. Mum organised the family with military precision. Queuing for tickets was an art form that required days and days of sustained, disciplined efforts. The last year that mum organised us was 1987. We were all over the MCG that day. I sat down at ground level on the hottest grand final day ever recorded. I had a front row seat to Carlton's 15th premiership.

The 1995 premiership was a bitter sweet moment for me. I couldn't get a ticket for Kathy and I was lucky to get one for myself. I had a standing room ticket but I was happy to get into the game and watch us beat the hapless Cats by 10 goals.

After the post match celebrations I headed home. Immediately my thoughts turned to Kathy who hadn't been at the game. I dropped in and saw her on the way home. What a magical moment! I pulled into the drive and got out of the car. Before I got to the front door Kathy had burst through it and we were both shouting at each other "we've won, we've won!" I put a bear hug on Kathy and picked her up. We danced around like a honeymoon couple on drugs.

The happiest times of our life together were our football memories.

We will now play her favourite song. You can hum it if you know the tune or sing if you know the words."

Apr 12, 2005
Bentleigh, Melbourne
Paul Roos told a slightly amusing story today on Triple M.
Could Andrew Jarman have been a Blue? :D I apologise if this is common knowledge.

Roos was rooming with Jarman during an International Rules tour. When they were fast asleep in the middle of the night in Ireland, the phone rang, and Roos answered it. It was a Carlton official (he can't remember who) wanting to speak to Andrew, so Paul woke him up and gave him the phone.

It was quiet enough for Roos to just hear the Carlton guy's voice as he yapped away, but he couldn't hear what he was saying. After some time, Roos opened eyes and saw that Jarman had gone back to sleep with the Carlton guy still talking, so he (Roos) hung up the phone and went back to sleep.

That was pretty much all he said, but he intimated that the guy was trying to poach him

Maybe the guy was annoyed that he was hung up on, who knows

Good story, Pops :D Eh, ya hadta be there

Jun 6, 2007
Footscray
My mum passed away in 1992. We still have some of her personal items and I was looking through them last Friday. When I get around to it I'll post some of the letters, cards and photos. I love them and I'm sure the fans of this thread will enjoy the posts. A little bit of a teaser. I'll add an explanation if I can provide one.

* A letter from Mal Brown when he was playing for the East Perth Football Club.

* A letter from Ron Barassi when he was coach of the North Melbourne Football Club.

* A letter from the Late Bert Deacon when he was Secretary of the Carlton Football Club.

* A card signed by Stephen Gough when he occupied a similar position with the Carlton Football Club.

* A photo of my mum with the 1964 Brownlow Medallist Gordon Collis

* And finally a thank you card from John Lloyd after my mum visited him and his family in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Jun 6, 2007
Footscray
IMG_0551.JPG

Tony Lynn 15
I suspect this was a photo that was purchased at the souvenir shop. It was the pre-badge era. The back of it signed by Cliff Stewart with salutations to Mrs G.

Mar 19, 2014
Denver Broncos
I conducted the eulogy at my sister's funeral yesterday. The Carlton Football Club is close to the heart in our family. I thought you might like to read what I said about the Mighty Blues. I could have waxed lyrical for hours but I chose these words.

"Kathy loved the Carlton Football Club. We didn't have a choice. Mum decided around 1964 that a Saturday afternoon at the footy was good recreation. I was 7 at the time, Kathy 12 and Louis 14. What a time to hitch a ride. We were privileged to witness three decades of success. 8 premierships came our way in that time. Legends of the game represented the Mighty Blues. John Nicholls, Alex Jesaulenko, Bruce Doull, Stephen Kernahan and Stephen Silvagni were just the tip of the iceberg.

The first premiership was 1968. We always had tickets to the finals games. Mum organised the family with military precision. Queuing for tickets was an art form that required days and days of sustained, disciplined efforts. The last year that mum organised us was 1987. We were all over the MCG that day. I sat down at ground level on the hottest grand final day ever recorded. I had a front row seat to Carlton's 15th premiership.

The 1995 premiership was a bitter sweet moment for me. I couldn't get a ticket for Kathy and I was lucky to get one for myself. I had a standing room ticket but I was happy to get into the game and watch us beat the hapless Cats by 10 goals.

After the post match celebrations I headed home. Immediately my thoughts turned to Kathy who hadn't been at the game. I dropped in and saw her on the way home. What a magical moment! I pulled into the drive and got out of the car. Before I got to the front door Kathy had burst through it and we were both shouting at each other "we've won, we've won!" I put a bear hug on Kathy and picked her up. We danced around like a honeymoon couple on drugs.

We will now play her favourite song. You can hum it if you know the tune or sing if you know the words."

Condolences RMH, thanks for sharing

Bloody good stuff Robbo, so sorry to hear of the passing of your sister but so pleased you got to share these great times and that they are memories that will live with you forever. RIP.

Blues177

Oct 3, 2010

Condolences on the passing of your sister, Robbo.

Thanks for sharing those wonderful and emotional moments.

Nov 13, 2015
In Transit
I remember when you could go to a game and watch the reserves and under 19's play before the seniors.

I used to love those days. Get to PP about 10am and be there all day watching the Blues. Great times

Still have vivid memories of those days, as a kid, heading down to the ground with a couple of mates. By half time in the reserves, had collected enough empty steel beer cans (12, none of which I had consumed), to get a better view for the rest of the day. Later on in life, still only 17, only ones that would beat us to the boundary seats on the outer wing were the same elderly ladies each home game (always had great homemade cakes & biscuits) Great memories, enhanced by how dominate we were in the late 70's, early 80's

Sep 16, 2014
Argyle Victoria
Ophidian Old Boys
Jun 6, 2007
Footscray
IMG_0757.JPG

I'm sure my late mother wouldn't mind me posting this photo of her with the 1964 Brownlow Medal winner Gordon Collis. I'm not sure of the circumstances but I'll hazard a guess regarding the occasion. I can definitely rule out the Brownlow dinner at the Crown Palladium. I'm just as certain that this is not a Best Fairest night.

I'd say this is the annual Carlton Supporters Club dinner dance.

My mum and many other die hard supporters were members of this club. It was a group which would volunteer its services for many events that the club ran through the year. I was never a member of this group but I would accompany mum on occasions. My favourite occasions were in September when we would get access to the change rooms which we would transform into a sea of navy blue and white. This wasn't a problem at VFL Park but the MCG presented problems. How do we hide that terrible tiger skin hanging up on the wall?

The Supporters Club raised funds through running raffles during the season. This money was then used to pay for the dinner dance. Ordinary folk paid for their tickets but the players were invited to attend without cost. Trophies would be awarded for best players, most improved, best clubman and best first year player. I understand, in its day, it was an important date on the club calendar.

The AFLs ground rationalisation killed the football community.

Little known facts.

Gordon Collis had a toe amputated which effected his footy career (urban myth?)

An inebriated Jimmy Buckley (drinks were free) had a heart to heart with mum about not winning a trophy one year.

blueboy25

Aug 14, 2006
West Perth, Tottenham
With Carlton playing there last game at Subiaco Oval as the WA teams move to the new stadium at Burswood I thought I would post some memories of games I went to featuring the Blues playing in the west.

Round 4 1990 Carlton v West Coast at the WACA
I was 11 years old and we lost by 50 points, it was a sign of things to come for the Eagles as the built in to the powerhouse team of the 90's. I remember getting upset and maybe having a tear in the eye because we were losing. For some reason one of the players I remember was Jamie Dunlop.

Round 13 1995 Carlton V Fremantle at Subiaco
First game ever against the Dockers and we belted them. I remember this one as I played in the curtain raiser in a GF for the Perth metro schools comp.

Round 21 1995 Carlton v West Coast at Subiaco
Blues won a thriller by a point and Earl Spalding put Guy McKenna into next, I can still remember the sound of that hit.

Round 3 1996 Carlton v Fremantle
The first loss in over 20 games after our triumphant 1995 premiership winning season and we got belted.

Round 4 2007 Carlton v West Coast
Eagles were reigning premiers and flying and I remember the first centre bounce of the game and they had Cox, Cousins, Kerr and Judd lining up against Cain Ackland, Murphy, Jordan Russell and Gibbsy.

Round 7 2008 West Coast v Carlton at Subiaco
Judd's return to Subi for the first time in navy blue.

2011 Semi final West Coast v Carlton at Subiaco
We were off to a flyer kicking the first 3 or 4 goals and Bret Thornton of all people playing well up forward until he got injured and the Walker non free kick in the dying seconds which saw us go down by under a kick.