Preview Round 18: Carlton v Viva Brisvegas Sunday 23 July 4.40pm @ Gabba - Final Team post #402

Having Jones emerge is a total bonus...he obviously always had the athletic ability,i guess its credit to the coaches for figuring him out.Defence can never be deep enough and it will mean one less position to worry about come draft/trade period.Lets hope Jones can maintain his attitude and enthusiasm ..

Looking at the Lions and our lists for today...not much in it overall thus it will come down to game plan and potentially if we dont get sucked into a mad physical rush for the ball we can out zone them and settle and efficiently control the play for 4 quarters...

Way to beat them is do it by the book......by Bolts
We will know if this is happening by a low lowish scoreline today...Lions cant get above 80 points....

High scoring free flowing footy doesn't win finals,we are starting with the backline first then fixing the forward line,dees did similar under Roos.

How much starting with the back-line do we need though?
If anything the backline now needs support from the mids.......the ones we haven't got yet.

Watch how much better our back-line will be when we do have some quality mids that get first hands to the ball.
Reckon we'll be singing this song after todays game....again.

One thing that will make Bolts happy this week is he won't have to answer with a cheeky grin the "when is the big H going to debut." when he does his presser..

Bolts seemed to be gritting his teeth over Harry's selection a little.

Suggested he's not really ready for AFL but we're playing him anyway.

Hinted we're playing him more for PR purposes than merit based.

Maybe I'm reading too much into his comments, but I suspect Bolts was overruled on Harry's selection.

Ideally you don't release big kids this young, unless they have built up their bodies to withstand the rigours of senior football. Injuries and lack of options have forced our hand.

Bolton probably prefers he is kicking the door down and full of confidence before he plays, we don't have the luxury of waiting for this to be the case.

Good pick-up. :thumbsu: Sure seemed that way.

We may as well label this the: "Whose kids are better" game.

That question will get a pretty good run, through the course of the week.
A lot of chatter about Harry and who will play well today...
I actually hope we win this one...we are due for a win and need this one ,it is a very good opportunity to take the points.
The Lions can play in bursts and can be very physical,we have to be aware and play 4 quarters of footy and not follow them into a physical frenzy.

I think we can win

thats it

When SOS says he plays...

Where's the " its game day BITCHES " post ? Aphrodite must of slept in this morning ,i look forward to it every game day ..
Sakc Aph!!

Agree but 'overruled' probably isn't the right word...I'm sure Bolts gets the final say.

Just not a selection that was easy since as you say harry realistically prob doesn't quite deserve it based on form, but there would have been strong discussions with the other coaches about giving him a taste of AFL, getting him out of a poor VFL team etc.

So maybe you can say Bolts had to be convinced.

Ideally you don't release big kids this young, unless they have built up their bodies to withstand the rigours of senior football. Injuries and lack of options have forced our hand.

Bolton probably prefers he is kicking the door down and full of confidence before he plays, we don't have the luxury of waiting for this to be the case.

..well he is kicking the twitter door down and full of confidence before he plays at least:p