Autopsy Rd 20 The one that got away

Casboult kicking 50+ goals? You have to be taking the piss.

The guy is not an elite forward and never will be. He's 27 years old, you don't suddenly develop into a different player at that sort of age.

It seems some on here are scarred by the departures of the likes of Waite, Betts etc. They were all gun players already or had time on there side (Jacobs and Garlett). Casboult is not like a Waite or Betts who were always going to continue to play well or play even better in a team that allowed them to thrive.

Gun forwards like Jack Riewoldt, Jeremy Cameron and Taylor Walker will kick around 50+ for the season. Are you seriously going to try and argue that Casboult would to that elsewhere? Please.

Bad teams have never really been a hindrance to big goalkickers either. Fev and Richo had very good careers despite spending years in rubbish teams.
Not sure Fev is a great guideline to go by as he commanded 40% of our inside 50s directly to him . I too agree Cas could easily kick 40 to 50 in a structure that functions better . Who knows that may still be with us in future .

He will probably finish with around 35 ish this year. I dont think an extra 15 in a functioning forward line with much more and much better forward entries is beyond him. I guess we will find out next year.. lets revisit it then
In a functioning forward line he wouldn't be the main target.

I just find it amusing everyone is happy to see Gibbs off but then when it comes to Casboult it isn't the same. Gibbs will be a huge loss in the short term even if we actually get a decent return. Casboult isn't the same.

Exactly. And he consequently wouldnt be triple teamed all the time. Not sure why you think I want to see Gibbs leave
Can't say I've seen defences triple team Casboult much. He struggles to have a huge impact because of his lack of footy smarts, groundwork and his kicking. He is not some star forward in waiting.

I'm not talking about you specifically but it's been a theme on this board and in this thread even after Gibbs played pretty well considering the level of talent in our midfield right now. Meanwhile so many jump to the defence of an ordinary footballer.

Can't say I've seen defences triple team Casboult much. He struggles to have a huge impact because of his lack of footy smarts, groundwork and his kicking. He is not some star forward in waiting.

I'm not talking about you specifically but it's been a theme on this board and in this thread even after Gibbs played pretty well considering the level of talent in our midfield right now. Meanwhile so many jump to the defence of an ordinary footballer.
Levi is the bit part player of his time. He's a great contested mark when the elements are aligned. He's not a forward. He's not a ruckman. He's a 'get out of jail free' card. Handy but not crucial. He reminds me of a guy who played with Hawthorn and Richmond during the 70s and 80s. As a young guy I'd scratch my head and tried to figure out how he kept getting a game mainly in the crucial spot of centre half forward. In the end he eked out around 250 games and booted about 165 goals. Alan Martello and Levi Casboult have a lot in common. If Levi was doing this in a successful team he would enjoy the reputation of Martello.

Very pleased with both Pickett and SPS

Very excited to see what these guys can do with another preseason under their belt. I really think Pickett could be a wildcard for us next year.

Great post JAB.

I reckon next year will still be about development. It will just become more obvious as we will have more young talent playing and the 2nd & 3rd years players will really start to impact games. Will be exciting

Depends on list changes over the off-season, but I can still see us finishing bottom 4 next year, and 2019 when we start moving up the ladder.

In a functioning forward line he wouldn't be the main target.

I just find it amusing everyone is happy to see Gibbs off but then when it comes to Casboult it isn't the same. Gibbs will be a huge loss in the short term even if we actually get a decent return. Casboult isn't the same.

I think that's more of a by product of control. Gibbs already wanted to leave and is likely to at the end of the season. Levi will stay if we pony up the cash.

And I think it's unlikely we reach a deal with the Crows. If we did it probably would be no better than anything they offered last year and would definitely make us worse off. Right now losing Gibbs is the last thing we need.

Casboult really wouldn't be that much of a loss. Curnow looks set to takeover games soon enough and McKay will be better with another preseason.

Letting Casboult go really should be a no brainer.

Add Rowe and Silvagni to the list as either would have been handy on Hooker

This is why we bought Silvagni onto the list, in case Rowe got injured.
Our young backs need time to develop.
The critisism of JW (not pointed at your MNG) since Saturday has been disgraceful.

So your acknowledging he was beaten on the day, but using his age and injury as a reason

Fair enough. But he definitely ain't back in that case as was the contention of the post I was replying to

Put him out to pasture for the rest of the year if he is injured

I thought he played ok. Got involved in the game alot more than he has been.
Hooker was always going to be a tough matchup for him.

This is why we bought Silvagni onto the list, in case Rowe got injured.
Our young backs need time to develop.
The critisism of JW (not pointed at your MNG) since Saturday has been disgraceful.
He's not immune from criticism. I can guarantee you Bolton would have given some criticism to Weitering for some of his defensive work in the last.

I actually thought he was pretty good aside from the last quarter, especially at ground level where he's been poor at times this year.

He absolutely deserves a bit of criticism for making Hooker look like an All-Australian CHF in the last though.

Long as it isn't nasty I don't see what the issue is.

He's not immune from criticism. I can guarantee you Bolton would have given some criticism to Weitering for some of his defensive work in the last.

I actually thought he was pretty good aside from the last quarter, especially at ground level where he's been poor at times this year.

He absolutely deserves a bit of criticism for making Hooker look like an All-Australian CHF in the last though.

He's definitely not immune from criticism but I saw some posts saying we should **** him off, they never want to see him in a Carlton jumper again, he's the most pea-hearted backman of the last 30 years etc. Wildly over the top and embarrassing.

Isaac Smith folds, JSOS folds too, useless delist :rolleyes:
sorry i dont know about issac smith but unfair comparison to JSOS...the point was NOT that he has or could fold which is obviously possible with anyone, the point was the alarming frequency that he has folded in crunch times, those games i mentioned...that means he's done it about 4 times in our last 6 games thats more than just a random fold here and there...thatsobviously telling of a deeper problem

I was frustrated with the one on one moments that JW had with hooker.

Got outbodied several times and if hooker could kick the result would have been far greater

I understand If he's being "taught" to play through injury but needs to go harder for longer, Mentally as well as physically

I was frustrated with the one on one moments that JW had with hooker.

Got outbodied several times and if hooker could kick the result would have been far greater

I understand If he's being "taught" to play through injury but needs to go harder for longer, Mentally as well as physically

This is to be expected when a 19 year old lines up on a 28 year old.

That it, he's only 19, i'm sure he would have learnt from the game as he would've from every game he's played.I'm backing him in.

So your acknowledging he was beaten on the day, but using his age and injury as a reason

Fair enough. But he definitely ain't back in that case as was the contention of the post I was replying to

Put him out to pasture for the rest of the year if he is injured

Bad tactical strategy in our coaching panel in the last quarter.

Weitering was injured early in the last quarter and was on one leg.

He should have been shifted down in the forward line (deep) with JSOS going back on Hooker.

Hooker got some pretty good delivery though.

Also i think Weitering just need the experience to time his run with the ball coming in and the lead.

A few times he was caught flat footed when Hooker took of and he isn't fast enough to catch up. So if he improves timing of runs and bodywork, he will be heaps better.

He isnt way stronger than the opposition anymore and is playing a lockdown role. It's going to take hin time to learn and adjust habits. He will though, just needs to be given time to make the mistakes and learn from them.

Better to be getting the lessons now.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

He's definitely not immune from criticism but I saw some posts saying we should **** him off, they never want to see him in a Carlton jumper again, he's the most pea-hearted backman of the last 30 years etc. Wildly over the top and embarrassing.
That just reflects the class of the poster. Nothing to do with the player. Its usually the weekend warriors.

Best just to scroll past that users posts for a few days. It's what i do.

Most important is: do not engage. You get sucked down to their level ans get beaten with experience.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Autopsy Rd 20 The one that got away