Bluemour Discussion Thread IV

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr_Plow

When the team has been moving the ball out of defence Simmo has called for the short pass - which was kicked to him.

He then waited, and waited, and waited........, then kicked a crapola 15 metre pass which didn't even make it to the intended recipient.

All his team mates have moved up the field - ball turns over = opposition goal.

Simmo has been a God at Carlton for years - but he has seriously hit the wall and looks like the game has gone past him.
And how have Gibbs and Murphy been performing in the same span of time? Docherty? They've all been patchy, so has Simmo.

Absolutely ridiculous bubble some of you are stuck in right now, especially if you think McVeigh is the solution.

played a few games this year and looked good to me

He certainly has the skill set, very talented. My concern with him during his draft year was that he seemed to just go through the motions without, real intent. A bit Aish like, if that makes sense?

And how have Gibbs and Murphy been performing in the same span of time? Docherty? They've all been patchy, so has Simmo.

Absolutely ridiculous bubble some of you are stuck in right now, especially if you think McVeigh is the solution.

FWIW I don't think McVeigh is the solution - and never have.

But Simmo seriously looks like the time has come.

He certainly has the skill set, very talented. My concern with him during his draft year was that he seemed to just go through the motions without, real intent. A bit Aish like, if that makes sense?

Agree. Made it clear that he didn't want to leave Vic as well. A lot of people had him top 20 before draft. Pure midfielder and solid unit that can win the ball. Question is if he comes back home will he put in. Has the talent

Worth it for a pick above 40ish IMO

The McVeigh comparisons were just that - comparisons. There is no disrespect to Simmo being compared to McVeigh. Simmo is a Club legend and pound for pound one of the toughest most enduring players going around totally selfless and fearless when it comes his turn.

I reckon Aish had plenty of intent, just no tactical depth and average foot skills.

if we finish with pick 1, i think it will only be used if it lands both Kelly and Hopper with other picks involved. otherwise i cant see it being traded under any other circumstances.

if Gibbs stays, SOS will target Hopper
if Gibbs goes, SOS will target Kelly alone.

think SOS and co will go big for Tom Lynch next year.

More likely Levi wanted 4 years and SOS offered 1-2 years.
Would think the negotiations havent even started yet levi made his intentions to not negotiate till the end of the year . His manager not himself has received an offer from Richmond in the meantime that is lucrative . When we make an offer if at all and if it doesnt come close then he's gone but at this stage his contract will not even be on his mind imo . Thats his managers job .

FWIW I don't think McVeigh is the solution - and never have.

But Simmo seriously looks like the time has come.

Need to remember that Simmo plays every game year in year out. This year he has played every week AGAIN. The guy doesn't miss. He could easily just be tired or fatigued at the end of a long year, maybe even injured. Not easy in our side at the moment for the senior players. Could easily play next year but be managed a bit better, freshened up over the pre season and play 15 games. Still very much a leader

I also don't think he has been as bad as some people make out.

Would think the negotiations have even started yet levi made his intentions to not negotiate till the end of the year . His manager not himself has received an offer from Richmond in the meantime that is lucrative . When we make an offer if at all and if it doesnt come close then he's gone but at this stage his contract will not even be on his mind imo . Thats his managers job .
May I respectfully suggest this is slightly naive. Especially where we are on the ladder.

Thanks for joining the conversation, what do you think of his ruckwork? Is he a tap ruckman, or does he get a bit of the ball around the ground?

He is a tap ruckman when in there. ok around the ground without being exceptional. Good follow up work in the ruck and will become like another mid with tackles clearances and strangely enough dangerous if rucking near goals as ocassionally likes to jag a goal straight out the ruck. You wouldn't want him to be your first ruck but as a 2nd ruck that is a good option especially because he isn't a drain on your 22 li,e some 2nd rucks can be that can't play outside the ruck.

Unfortunately he is a pretty shit forward. To be honest we don't look to him at all and he seems to be more a decoy forward than anything so we have no idea how he would fair if actually used as a target.

I kid you not he is ten times a better footballer than casboult , but I would have casboult in my forward line over Trengove every day of the week.

Port are in a situation where we have Jonas , clurey hombsch all as exceptionally good defenders (and Jonas is the oldest at 26) and have Austin and Howard who can play right now as well. As for forward rucks next year we have frampton and again Howard can play forward or back who are both 200cms tall.

Of all the teams I wouldn't pick Carlton to be chasing him. Would be perfect for the dogs or pies or any team that needs a shutdown chb / 2nd ruck.

Sure be nice if you explained yourself however :thumbsu:
Sure. Levi may not be advertising the fact but he would be engaged in discussing his future and if the writing was on the wall that securing his future involved a move to rich then he may have reached an in principle agreement to head to rich. If we were contesting finals perhaps he may not engage at all until seasons end. But given he needs to make a significant decision re security of his family, his line of leaving it till end of the year is a front to stop questions and allow him to work out his future, he'd be keen to know what his nest egg was going to look like post footy etc

Thanks i agree in a way but still think this is what managers are for . Yes of course theres some negotiation somewhere mainly from other clubs towards Levi . But i would think on our part we would just be seeing what happens with the development of the likes of Mckay Curnow and Silvagni this year before we make any concrete moves on Levi . Having said that we SOS may have already factored in what we may get for Levi and how that can be used elsewhere . Free agency i think gives those players a little more room and time to play things out and concentrate on what they need to do and thats hopefully playing good football . Jmo :thumbsu:

Waldron on sen just said casboult has decided to go to Richmond.

Please Dog, make it happen.

Only 3 more games to go....and then we can start work on an actual functioning forward line...with players who know how to work with/and for others...with players who contribute to functional pieces of play...with players that can defend...with players who are not totally 1 dimensional.

I don't even care if the compo pick is No.135

If he stays we know it will be for a fair price, if he goes then we'll get some compo and we'll finally have to bite the bullet and blood our young trio in SOS, McKay and Charlie to stand up next season.

Of all the teams I wouldn't pick Carlton to be chasing him. Would be perfect for the dogs or pies or any team that needs a shutdown chb / 2nd ruck.
That was what I am thinking too. Perhaps St Kilda?

Please Dog, make it happen.

Only 3 more games to go....and then we can start work on an actual functioning forward line...with players who know how to work with/and for others...with players who contribute to functional pieces of play...with players that can defend...with players who are not totally 1 dimensional.

I don't even care if the compo pick is No.135
Agree and well said.

If he stays we know it will be for a fair price, if he goes then we'll get some compo and we'll finally have to bite the bullet and blood our young trio in SOS, McKay and Charlie to stand up next season.
Which one are we going to sacrifice in the ruck against Mumford etc. while Kreuzer gets a rest? They will get hurt

He is a tap ruckman when in there. ok around the ground without being exceptional. Good follow up work in the ruck and will become like another mid with tackles clearances and strangely enough dangerous if rucking near goals as ocassionally likes to jag a goal straight out the ruck. You wouldn't want him to be your first ruck but as a 2nd ruck that is a good option especially because he isn't a drain on your 22 li,e some 2nd rucks can be that can't play outside the ruck.

Unfortunately he is a pretty shit forward. To be honest we don't look to him at all and he seems to be more a decoy forward than anything so we have no idea how he would fair if actually used as a target.

I kid you not he is ten times a better footballer than casboult , but I would have casboult in my forward line over Trengove every day of the week.

Port are in a situation where we have Jonas , clurey hombsch all as exceptionally good defenders (and Jonas is the oldest at 26) and have Austin and Howard who can play right now as well. As for forward rucks next year we have frampton and again Howard can play forward or back who are both 200cms tall.

Sorry mate, but he's just not a good footballer - and 10 times better than Casboult....really!!
Not a good mark, not a good kick, cumbersome, clumsy. What he does do is try but if you guys are paying him anywhere near the $750 000 reported in the Age, you would be VERY keen to get rid of him.