2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 4

Like I waited for Kelly and Fyfe? **** em, show me who they get then I'll drink the cool aid. We have been alluding to getting gold and we are now getting down near the aluminium players and shipping off players to make room. Maybe at least sign the current decent players and lose the fringe like Pierce, Wright and Minch. I'm not sold on Trout or Ameet yet.
Oh FFS! Those players didn't move.

How about you wait for trade week?

I'd swear you're bipolar bro.

Chill.

Hey ladies and gents..
First time poster long time reader.
Noticed the forum has gone a little pair shaped the last couple of weeks and thought I would share a little information to keep that going. You're a funny bunch to keep up with.
One thing I thoroughly enjoy about this site is we are all passionate and frustrated supporters, and don't lack in showing any emotion.
I have a little news on savage.
He has been offered a one year deal by the club which is "terrible money"
He has been offered 3 year deals on "good" money at two other clubs.

I look forward to updating you with any other news I come across.
Go saints

I thought the news was that the had re-signed for two years.

Saints have HEAPS OF MONEY so bloody give him a good deal...good player and a great kick, best kick in the comp!

We lose him because of this reason, we're going backwards in terms of list management. McKenzie is hopeless, Rice hasnt played yet, White is alright but need more options,if we lose Sav I will be mad and frustrated with the club.
Why do people not rate Dmac ?

I'm genuinely curious, rather than waste an Ameet special to get someone like Touk Miller, Fiorini, Ah chee, Saad etc.. we have a some what comparable player in Dmac. All of them have different skills I digress but are flankers with scope of being outside runners.

He's not the most accurate short kick but athletically he's amazing, hard as nails and for his size an amazing contested mark.

He obviously need to iron out his kicking and get more of the footy but he has as much upside as anyone on our list.

He's played even less than Paddy ffs and people (not only yourself) have written him off

While I'm replying to Baker for PM, this is really for all the posts referring to failure because we didn't get a big name.
Specifically.
The failure to attract a big name. In retrospect we probably need to be in the finals for at least a year and pushing hard to be competitive to attract a player from another club, purely on football terms. Kelly and Dusty leaving GWS and Tigers to go to any of Saints, North, Carlton or Bombers, all of us either barely there or another year away; was always bridge too far. For Lever well it's about coming home, were we ever in the frame? Fyfe? Did Fyfe and Kelly just use us and others to push up the pay packet? Not sure any of the big three were genuinely going to leave, did we fail? Probably not, we probably got used.

Generally.
How do we define the role of the List manager and the whole recruiting department? For want of better detail I'll go with improving the list, short term, medium term and long term. For each of these it's just too hard to tell, we can have opinions but until the end of the trade and draft periods we have no idea who we have brought in and we have no idea how it plays out for another 8 years, we may be sitting here in 8 years ecstatic with this period, we may be absolutely gutted. It's simply too early to tell.

Given that it will be years before we know the outcome of this trade period, did it make us, break us or was it little each way of meh. What will success or failure look like? Doggies 2015-17?. Hawks 2008-14? How about the Swans 2013-17? Different forms of success and while the fans wouldn't be happy without a flag for the Swans, the club was in the finals and competitive, while not the ultimate success, it's a hell of a lot better than being Melbourne.

It's simply way too early and way too simplistic to attach the word failure to our draft and trade period at this time.
Why waste your time, just hand out the tissues & move on..
Were 2 weeks away from the trade period, with a few million to splash..
I'm backing our list management team, will pull a surprise or two in the coming weeks..

Not sure why Touk Miller's name is being thrown around here. If it's one think we don't need, it's slow inside midfielders.

Savage has to be re-signed. Playing a dangerous game if you just assume young unproven players will go past him.
Savage should be signed up, Poor list management, we will be looking at missing finals again the way we are going. If we are relying on White and Rice to pick up where Savage is playing at we might not be going so well. I hope they are getting someone very very good to the club to off set all the players we are losing.
I agree, how many hbf's can rebound & consistently hit the scoreboard like Savage..
A 2 yr deal with a trigger will hopefully have Savage re-signing..

I agree, how many hbf's can rebound & consistently hit the scoreboard like Savage..
A 2 yr deal with a trigger will hopefully have Savage re-signing..
its also necessary to have HBF's that tackle and defend competently

This is a serious question and not men't to disparage.

Can someone explain to me why we would want Jack Martin? Sure he is a decent player who averages about 20 disposals and a goal a game but that's about it.
He doesn't get many clearances or tackles and his meters gained is rather disappointing for a player with such speed, So what does he bring to the table for us that we don't have?
Is it the thought of his potential improvement in the next few years? Because at the moment i would prefer to use our picks in the draft then use one on him.

If we where to go for a Suns player i wouldn't mind Aaron Hall, he knows how to get his own ball and his ability to run and deliver inside 50 i believe is underrated. He may not be as flashy as others but i think he would suit our team needs.

Clubs will be able to make official offers to free agents on Friday, October 6 and have until Wednesday, October 18 to match offers.

The trade period will begin three days after the free agency opens to clubs, with deals able to be struck from Monday, October 9 when recruiters will gather at Etihad Stadium.

The trade period ends on the following Friday, with a 2pm deadline.

Not long now

Reading the tea leaves... reckon we are interested in Hall and Saad for an injection of pace and will look to offload one of our 1RP along with player to get them. Wouldn't surprise if we are also eyeing off one of GCS early 2RP to continue to have a presence early in the draft and hopefully get an LOB, Ling or Clavarino which lends itself to a specific need.

Would make sense if Sav is getting low-balled and (dare I make the connection again) Armo is being discussed.

8, Armo and 3RP, 4RP for Saad, Hall and pick 23ish?

GCS have stated that a number of players are on the chopping block...

Reading the tea leaves... reckon we are interested in Hall and Saad for an injection of pace and will look to offload one of our 1RP along with player to get them. Wouldn't surprise if we are also eyeing off one of GCS early 2RP to continue to have a presence early in the draft and hopefully get an LOB, Ling or Clavarino which lends itself to a specific need.

Would make sense if Sav is getting low-balled and (dare I make the connection again) Armo is being discussed.

Just on the above,with a 2nd rd pick coming back.
I think MG mentioned we may bundle some picks to try and upgrade a pick,way back in Part2.
If we got a 2nd rd pick from GC,another for Savage and another for say Hickey,could we keep one and upgrade to a 1st rounder.
And go to the draft with 7 and say18/19 and a 23/24
So 2 GC players and a Free Agent( who will all be in our best 22 )along with the above picks,would we all be happy with that scenario.

This is why you never makes changes directly to prod and why UAT is always important

There's been plenty of UAT. A bunch of people (me included) have been using the new design for at least the last month or two. Anyone who wanted could opt in to that.

The problem is that it's a design change. It's not possible to make a design change without people whinging, because people hate change. And also because everyone has an opinion or three on what the design should look like.

Copied From the GC board

I'm probably reading to much into this but Aaron Hall has just removed all references of him being a Gold Coast Suns player from all his social media accounts.
Looks like he's on the way out

There's been plenty of UAT. A bunch of people (me included) have been using the new design for at least the last month or two. Anyone who wanted could opt in to that.

The problem is that it's a design change. It's not possible to make a design change without people whinging, because people hate change. And also because everyone has an opinion or three on what the design should look like.
So some asperbergers in IT forgot to put in a change request didnt do any testing un staging, no UAT in prod or if there was no PVT after implementation.

Long PIR coming up.

They've said several players are on the chopping block? Before they even get a coach??

Why tho