2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 4

Why do people not rate Dmac ?

I'm genuinely curious, rather than waste an Ameet special to get someone like Touk Miller, Fiorini, Ah chee, Saad etc.. we have a some what comparable player in Dmac. All of them have different skills I digress but are flankers with scope of being outside runners.

He's not the most accurate short kick but athletically he's amazing, hard as nails and for his size an amazing contested mark.

He obviously need to iron out his kicking and get more of the footy but he has as much upside as anyone on our list.

He's played even less than Paddy ffs and people (not only yourself) have written him off

I'm a D Mac fan, but someone on here hit the nail on the head calling him bambi on iceskates.

That will change i think, but for me- that's his biggest issue to improve on currently:
staying in the contest and positioning.

Why do people not rate Dmac ?

I'm genuinely curious, rather than waste an Ameet special to get someone like Touk Miller, Fiorini, Ah chee, Saad etc.. we have a some what comparable player in Dmac. All of them have different skills I digress but are flankers with scope of being outside runners.

He's not the most accurate short kick but athletically he's amazing, hard as nails and for his size an amazing contested mark.

He obviously need to iron out his kicking and get more of the footy but he has as much upside as anyone on our list.

He's played even less than Paddy ffs and people (not only yourself) have written him off

He's got the composure of a headless chook. Looks a level below it even at Sandy.

Hall and Martin for 7, Armo and Lonie..

Get it done ameet
I wouldn't trade 7 or 8 for Hall. Maybe send 8 & 44 to Brisbane for 18 and 19

18 & Lonie - > Hall & 37 or similar

still have 7, 19 and 37

I wouldn't trade 7 or 8 for Hall. Maybe send 8 & 44 to Brisbane for 18 and 19

18 & Lonie - > Hall & 37 or similar

still have 7, 19 and 37
I think (1)GC would want a top 10 pick if they are looking at a mini rebuild and (2) i think Saints would be happy to accomodate them.
I think we look at 1st round pick and a player,for 2xGC players and a pick coming back.
I would be confident Richo and Ameet have addressed our needs in regards to which 2 players they want

There's been plenty of UAT. A bunch of people (me included) have been using the new design for at least the last month or two. Anyone who wanted could opt in to that.

The problem is that it's a design change. It's not possible to make a design change without people whinging, because people hate change. And also because everyone has an opinion or three on what the design should look like.
Woah!!!! How did it go live. It's terrible.

I can screenshot a bunch of stuff that's just wrong. Like the usernames in the notifications are blurred.

It's all over the shop.

I agree UI changes will always divide people but this one looks really rushed and hacked together. Which is a shame as I reckon if it was done a bit better it'd look nice and more modern.

Surprised it was tested and went live

Gold Coast hold 2, 19, 22, 24, 33, 37, 74. Like GWS in previous years they won't use them all and therefore value the lower draft picks very low.

This is where Ameet can get to work.

If we trade them 8 for a player and 'something back' they may not want anything after their own 19. So that 'something back' may actually be very strongly in our favour. Like 24 and 33. Pick 8 is 1,551 points. 24 and 33 is 1,348. Therefore valuing Hall for example as pick 55. They had 4, 7, 9 and 10 last year. I'm sure they'd think having 2, 8, 19 and 22 and not much else is a good result this year.

I would prefer quality over quantity at this stage of the rebuild however it seems those at the club like taking advantage of these sorts of options.

This is a serious question and not men't to disparage.

Can someone explain to me why we would want Jack Martin? Sure he is a decent player who averages about 20 disposals and a goal a game but that's about it.
He doesn't get many clearances or tackles and his meters gained is rather disappointing for a player with such speed, So what does he bring to the table for us that we don't have?
Is it the thought of his potential improvement in the next few years? Because at the moment i would prefer to use our picks in the draft then use one on him.

If we where to go for a Suns player i wouldn't mind Aaron Hall, he knows how to get his own ball and his ability to run and deliver inside 50 i believe is underrated. He may not be as flashy as others but i think he would suit our team needs.
Would like both. The main problem with Martin is that he plays for GC... Can turn it on and is amazing when he does.

Hopefully common sense prevails and we take our 7 & 8 to the draft , use Free Agency, use trades of fringe players and 3rd /4th rounders to either upgrade on picks or bring in better fringe players( all your gonna get ) . Keep it simple , sometimes we dont have to be the smartest club in the room.

Hopefully common sense prevails and we take our 7 & 8 to the draft , use Free Agency, use trades of fringe players and 3rd /4th rounders to either upgrade on picks or bring in better fringe players( all your gonna get ) . Keep it simple , sometimes we don't have to be the smartest club in the room.
This!! Keep 7 & 8 maybe a long time until we such a strong position.

you do know we had two WA players in our Flag win .... John McIntosh and Brian Sierakowski

5192978-3x2-940x627.jpg

brian-sierakowskis-surf-ski

“Australian Rules football has become un-Australian. Eighty per cent of it is basketball – keeping the ball off the other players, 15 per cent is soccer – kicking it backwards, and five per cent is rugby, with the field moving in packs.

“The game has changed to the extent that it’s unrecognisable.”

Brian Sierakowski is not one to back away from a fight.

The former St Kilda ruckman, an integral component in The Saints’ only Grand Final win in 1966, is vocal in his views on elite level footy and isn’t afraid to share them.

After all, who is going to take on a man who has gazed into the eyes of a great white shark? ‘Siera’ has a few strings to his bow – lawyer, viticulturist, VFL & WAFL star, community surf life-saving supporter, WA Community Football Council chairman. But everyone always asks about that day in 1997 when a five metre great white shark decided to take a sizeable bite out of Siera’s fibreglass surf ski while he was sitting atop it, a kilometre south from Perth’s picturesque Cottesloe beach.

“His jaws were fixed around the entire width of the ski, one and a half inches from my feet,” Siera explains. “The next thing the dorsal fin has hit me in the face and knocked me into the water.

“We just looked at each other. He then let go of the ski and went underneath me. I thought that was it. The volume of water that replaced him was amazing – it was just like a scene out of Jaws.”

With the shark somewhere below their feet Siera and fellow paddler John ‘Barney’ Hanrahan were rescued by three exceptionally brave friends who were in the water nearby.

“I was being towed behind another ski – a piece of berley! We reached the reef and I realised I was safe – it was a feeling of total exhilaration, I was laughing.”

Only ever a heartbeat away from a joke or a laugh, Siera accepted his position as an overnight media star with good humour and aplomb - “I am a bit of a media floozy,” he jokes.

And news spread fast.

“We had a party that night to celebrate and I went to bed about 1am. At 5am the phone rings and my wife tells me: “it’s Patrick from Dublin radio”. I didn’t believe her,” he laughs.

“It was front page news all over the world – including in places like Jordan, Syria, Iraq and Iran.”

While testing his sphincter at the time, the incident hasn’t kept Siera from the water. He is an active member of North Cottesloe Surf Life Saving Club and his house overlooks the very spot where the attack occurred.

A traditionalist, teacher and coach – Siera’s passions now lie in coaching the North Cottesloe SLSC junior March Past team and getting kids involved in community football.

“Attendance at AFL matches is decreasing – there’s no doubt people are walking away from the game.

But at a community level, where the game is still being played as it’s meant to be, we are growing the game so quickly that there are insufficient facilities to cope with it.”

Siera was fighting sharks before it was fashionable.

Also, he provided one of our few father-son successes. David Sierakowski played in our 1997 GF side and was a handy key position player but a bit undersized. Was traded to West Coast later in his career. David was definitely considered a Sandgroper.