2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 4

I think they were referring to Petracca. Maybe they need something to complete the trade for Lever and we can step in a provide it. Though it seems like a bit of a long shot. At this stage, i'm hoping we get Martin and Hall and somehow retain a top 10 pick for the draft.
If they are classed as Agraders i reckon we try for them as well.
Pick8 and a player of Armos class should do it,but might need to add a future 2nd or 3rd on top of that,to get the deal done.

wouldn't be unhappy with this bloke

Yeah I rate him pretty highly, his body has let him down a bit but he's proper money ball. His output is huge compared to his profile. He has games where he looks like a superstar.

there is no point trading for average to good players just because you can. there is always a big fish who is gettable - dont waste your resources and capital on medium fish just so you can proclaim you have caught something because at the end of the day you will be disappointed. It is better to walk away with no one than settling on a 'pseudo star' to make ourselves feel better.

I agree 100% with that. The salary cap issue is an overlay to that though.

Nowhere near:

https://www.draftguru.com.au/awards/morrish-medal

Champs there like: Hugh McLuggage (looks OK), Clayton Oliver (very good player), Alex Carr (undrafted), Josh Scott (undrafted), George Cameron (undrafted), Ben Cavarra (undrafted), Jacob Chisari (undrafted), Nick Graham (38 games in 5 years), Alex Benbow (undrafted), Jackson Sketcher (undrafted), Dyson Heppell (very good player), Anton Woods (undrafted), Jarryd Blair (decent player), Farran Priest (undrafted), Matthew Kreuzer (good player with injuries), Fortunato Caruso (undrafted), Matthew Bate (102 games in 8 years), Mungara Brown (undrafted), Luke Shackleton (1 game), David Rodan (solid player), Matthew Stolarczyk (undrafted), and of course Lenny.

Most of those guys weren't drafted, plenty of those who were aren't stars.

I had a mate that called it the dwarf award. Seriously short man heavy. A lot of them didn't have the size to make it but were excellent players. Cavarra was extremely unlucky not to get a go at an AFL club too. Matthew Bate was a fair footballer but bad timing at Melbourne when they were shit. Like any award it's for the best player, not the best player suited to AFL so guys that would be too small, too slow, test badly, have attitude problems are all potential winners. It doesn't guarantee a star just like TAC cup captains etc don't but winning any award helps show that the player was capable at the level he plays in.

Someone posted, possibly an earlier thread, that the saints were looking at trading for someone they should have drafted but didn't! It has also been put, many times on this thread that the Saints are heavily into suns players.... Could they possibly have meant a player that they should have made a proper commitment to trade for - rather than put in a half arsed attempt... and now... after all the upheaval at "not so sunny land" .... Does Jarrod Lyons want to come home????? Junior Club: St Peter's (VIC)/ Sandringham U18s. Played great football in 2016, playing 20 games, and averaging 22 disposals, and kicking 15 goals. Was terrific for the crows in that first year after the loss of Patrick Dangerfield.... He is consistent, a good ball-user and capable of kicking goals. Crows didn't want to lose him, just ran out of salary cap space. This year he was equally impressive, if not far better again when playing for the suns.

Jarrod is 25 years old..... Definitely still under contract....... but could it be... that he is more the type of player the Saints are trying to coax out....
Chris Judd...

What's he worth gringo ? he's 27 I would hate to trade down for a player like him.

I don't know, he capable of 40 possession games but then can have quiet ones, his body is a bit iffy. On potential output anywhere from a first to a second round pick. I'd say we would have to give up 8 and get them to throw in a steak knife so I don't know if we take the risk. Apart from Ablett and Lynch he's their best player. He's exactly the type we need, he's quick as **** especially in traffic and has good kicking skills, he is pretty high up in the inside 50 stats from memory and sets up lots of goals. To me he's probably a bit like what we hoped Brett Peake would be if he was fully committed to footy.

If he got 23 games out of his body he's potentially our best mid and would be a weapon along side a fit Stuv. Paddy, Members and Bruce would love him.

St Kilda bolsters off-field team with Sydney's former NEAFL coach
http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-09-22/saints-swoop-as-swans-coach-heads-south
Henry Playfair as backline assistant coach? I hope he is a hell of a lot better coach than he was a player
We must really rate Sydneys system. We already have Ben McGlynn, are reportedly really keen on Stuart Dew and have now got Henry Playfair.

Personally i think it would be nice to add someone who has come out of Hawthorn's system as well, but on the whole i think its a good move by the club. If we can emulate sydney's culture then that's going to go a long way towards a flag.

I don't know, he capable of 40 possession games but then can have quiet ones, his body is a bit iffy. On potential output anywhere from a first to a second round pick. I'd say we would have to give up 8 and get them to throw in a steak knife so I don't know if we take the risk. Apart from Ablett and Lynch he's their best player. He's exactly the type we need, he's quick as **** especially in traffic and has good kicking skills, he is pretty high up in the inside 50 stats from memory and sets up lots of goals. To me he's probably a bit like what we hoped Brett Peake would be if he was fully committed to footy.

If he got 23 games out of his body he's potentially our best mid and would be a weapon along side a fit Stuv. Paddy, Members and Bruce would love him.
And a mature body to take some heat off the kids.

Michael Talia delisted, worthy of a sneaky DFA pickup?
I know he had a few problems but the dogs didn't rate him enough to retain him when they didn't have any key backs.

I haven't got any information about what he has been doing in Sydney but he hasn't covered himself in glory on or off the field, so it's a no.

That is four players taken over a 20 year period, 5 including Luggage. So a 25% chance they'll end up a good player.

I wouldn't worry too much about the medal.

include

Gary Moorcroft Essendon

Nathan Brown Richmond

David Rodan 2000 and 2001 Crows

Jarrad Blair Collingwood

Nick Graham Carlton

Mathew Bale Melbourne

Heppel Essendon

Hayes Saints

Oliver Melbourne

McCluggage Lions

Kreuzer Carlton

Shackleton Magpies

13 of them went on to play AFL in the past 23 years so 56 % go on to play AFL

and have a look who won the coaches award

The Coaches Award provides recognition to TAC Cup players who play well in the view of the Coaches, as compared to the umpires with Morrish Medal voting.

Both TAC coaches allocate votes to players of both teams on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis after each TAC Cup match.

This award was replaced by the ?? in 2016

Jade Gresham

Northern Knights

Oscar McDonald

North Ballarat Rebels

Louis Herbert

North Ballarat Rebels

Jake Lloyd

North Ballarat Rebels

Shaun Marusic

Gippsland Power

Adam Marcon

Northern Knights

Anton Woods

Northern Knights

Rory Sloane

Eastern Ranges

Matthew Kreuzer

Northern Knights

Seems Cerra could be a slider...

Two of Cerra, Stephenson, Coffield and Higgins would be super.

I'm officially torn between trading them and going to the draft, part of me feels trading them would be a little desperate and shortsighted... our 2013 crop (first of the rebuild imo) are only 22. So say in 4 years they'll be entering their peak and this years crop will be 22/23. That sounds like our best opportunity for sustained success to me!

You are right any of those you have picked a very good.

Stephenson had one of his best games of the season – definitely his most prolific – two weeks ago for the Eastern Ranges, when he gathered 39 disposals against Sandringham. He had five tackles and five clearances as well, and delivered a dominant midfield game that he had been building towards. Stephenson can be an electrifying player: he's quick off the mark, jumps high, is agile at ground level, he kicks goals, takes the game on and tries things that others wouldn't even consider. He's a bit unique in his shape and skillset, but he can be extremely exciting around goal. This year he's spent a lot of the season up the ground developing his game there.

Cerra
Shoulder surgery last week has prematurely ended Cerra's season, but he's expected to be right to go for his first AFL pre-season, wherever that is. Cerra's the type of player who can be depended upon with the ball in hand: if you were a forward leading towards him, he'd probably direct you where to lead with his pass. The query on him has been his pace, and it's true he doesn't have the same breakaway jets that others do. However, he has a nice sidestep to get out of trouble and always looks balanced. Kicked 3.5 from 24 disposals for the Ranges against Gippsland in July to show some forward craft.

Higgins
There isn't a player as consistent as Higgins in this year's draft pool. The Oakleigh Chargers prospect has starred at each level he's played at across the season, and has become a really complete player. The small forward/midfielder can play in both areas of the ground as comfortably as the other. He's always dangerous around goal, and he can win the footy in the midfield. He had a big day against the Greater Western Victoria Rebels in the TAC Cup last month with 30 disposals, 11 clearances, two goals and seven tackles. Will be ready to play AFL next year. Think Toby Greene.

Coffield is a player whose stocks have steadily risen across the year to the point he will be in the mix as a top-10 pick by the end of the season. He's got a bit going for him: he's tall, he's versatile and can play in the midfield or across half-back, he's quick for his size, and he generally uses the ball neatly. Coffield is also captain of the Northern Knights, so ticks the leadership box. He had a good head-to-head battle with Jaidyn Stephenson at TAC Cup level several weeks ago, and can combine a defensive mindset with some attacking play when in that role.

At 27 with less than 100 games that would worry me at that price.

GC have plenty of picks , a two for one or a late first early second coming back. Maybe even a player swap, I still think some players will be traded out.

We must really rate Sydneys system. We already have Ben McGlynn, are reportedly really keen on Stuart Dew and have now got Henry Playfair.

Personally i think it would be nice to add someone who has come out of Hawthorn's system as well, but on the whole i think its a good move by the club. If we can emulate sydney's culture then that's going to go a long way towards a flag.
I'd be trying to get the development coaches off Adelaide. They seem to turn every player into quality players without having high end talent.

include

Gary Moorcroft Essendon

Nathan Brown Richmond

David Rodan 2000 and 2001 Crows

Jarrad Blair Collingwood

Nick Graham Carlton

Mathew Bale Melbourne

Heppel Essendon

Hayes Saints

Oliver Melbourne

McCluggage Lions

Kreuzer Carlton

Shackleton Magpies

13 of them went on to play AFL in the past 23 years so 56 % go on to play AFL

and have a look who won the coaches award

The Coaches Award provides recognition to TAC Cup players who play well in the view of the Coaches, as compared to the umpires with Morrish Medal voting.

Both TAC coaches allocate votes to players of both teams on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis after each TAC Cup match.

This award was replaced by the ?? in 2016

Jade Gresham

Northern Knights

Oscar McDonald

North Ballarat Rebels

Louis Herbert

North Ballarat Rebels

Jake Lloyd

North Ballarat Rebels

Shaun Marusic

Gippsland Power

Adam Marcon

Northern Knights

Anton Woods

Northern Knights

Rory Sloane

Eastern Ranges

Matthew Kreuzer

Northern Knights
But you said just about every Morrish medalist went onto being a champ not "just over 50% of Morrish Medalists went on to play AFL football."

Not many on that list I'd call a champion.