Watching the Grand Final in Adelaide

Wouldn't be a dress code. You've got a pretty good argument if they refuse you anyway
Got a a message saying smart casual, though I imagine there will be plenty in crows Guernseys.

Also questioned what "premium beverages" means, and they said still working out what will be available.

Hoping for at least little creatures or James squire. Better not be super dry or Carlton draught/xxxx

Got a a message saying smart casual, though I imagine there will be plenty in crows Guernseys.

Also questioned what "premium beverages" means, and they said still working out what will be available.

Hoping for at least little creatures or James squire. Better not be super dry or Carlton draught/xxxx
I'm gonna be rocking an old Guernsey, some jeans and a not so new pair of sneakers. They've already got my money.

Yeah i was sceptical about premium drinks. Little creatures would be great. I drink West end mostly anyway so I don't really care.

Ended up going the $99 AO package for myself, my wife and one of my workmates.

My dad, who died 4 years ago, was a mad Crows supporter. I'll be digging out his old scarf which I've had tucked away ever since then waiting for just such an occasion to bring it out.

So if the Crows win, you'll be able to spot me - I'll be the guy blubbering like a little baby into an outdated Crows scarf :p

Seacliff hotel are doing $40 all you can drink soren to siren. Think it might be a little to cramped tho

I drove past the 'Telstra Plaza' (not long ago so it simulates the angle of the sun etc) and it's no good for Saturday IMO. You will be either rained on, looking DIRECTLY into the sun while watching the screens, or both. I think the family and I will be going to one of the pubs to be packed like sardines and cheer the Crows.

Yeah, it really doesn't look like a good venue. Pretty disappointed that that's what the club has gone with for its own grand final day. That'd be a pretty disappointing effort if our club WASN'T competing, let alone in a year that it is.

It really reinforces the need for the club to do something about establishing an proper base in the city, whether that's at the Oval or somewhere nearby. Either permanent for use after all games or just hire something for special occasions like this. I assume there's something else on at the convention centre this weekend so they couldn't use a big room there?

I've booked in for the Arkaba Top of the Ark venue - three big screens and the doors open at 11 AM so you don't have to be there at the crack of dawn to get a seat. $11.50 per person, one drink included, guaranteed entry unlike some other pubs that will be chockers. I think the atmosphere will be superb - I'm pumped as!

I reckon you'd be sheltered by the southern stand for most of the afternoon at least, which would keep the sun out of your eyes. Not that I think Telstra Plaza is a good idea. Dunno why they didn't make it inside the ground in the 1st place. They could charge ten bucks admission and open a few of the bars and food outlets and make a bomb. Reckon there'd be at least 20,000 rock up.

Are there any more recommendations for places to watch in/near the city (drinking allowed :beercheers:)?

Going to watch with my non-footy mate and his gf. He knows what he's in for if we win :)

Should people be worried about no room at most pubs or worried about screen size/viewability?

Appreciate any advice. Mainly concerned with viewabiltiy/beer/room.

My 50-inch screen is starting to look good for my mate and me. I'd like to share the victory with other Crowies, but don't fancy being a sardine for the afternoon.

Whilst true, it's sardine vs atmosphere. Can watch any game anytime with the comfort of home, but can't be there for the moment with like-minded supporters. Of course getting a bad pub/tv situation would sort of ruin the atmosphere so each to their own I guess. Hopefully a good day for all.

I reckon you'd be sheltered by the southern stand for most of the afternoon at least, which would keep the sun out of your eyes. Not that I think Telstra Plaza is a good idea. Dunno why they didn't make it inside the ground in the 1st place. They could charge ten bucks admission and open a few of the bars and food outlets and make a bomb. Reckon there'd be at least 20,000 rock up.
I drove past at 3:30 (roughly half time in the GF) and the sun was blazing across the plaza. Really made me squint when I looked at the screens. Just one little corner was in shadow sheltered and that corner had a terrible view of the screens. It might be overcast on Saturday, but looking directly into the sun for long periods is one of my bugbears.

The intercontinental hotel has a new bar on their top floor and they have a massive screen and then you can go to the casino after

A few of us picked up the $99 packages for the adelaide oval today but that is sold out now lady i spoke to on the phone said they were expecting 20,000+ Down in the plaza .... wow

lady i spoke to on the phone said they were expecting 20,000+ Down in the plaza .... wow
No doubt that will the the 'live cross' that gets shown on TV. Still not happy with looking directly at the sun though - most of those going won't realise til it's too late. Detective Rotayjay always does his research beforehand ;)

Missed out on the grail, friend said keep away this week regardless of the result and I don't want any details just do what you have too... and another said don't come till after 10pm busy talking to my friends....FML.

With the indoor Crows Shed not being used like 1997/98, the weather a bit dodgy and many of us not keen on the plaza, this will be the biggest thing ever to happen to the pubs of Adelaide. Every pub will be chockers with great atmosphere (great if you can put up with a bit of a squeeze).

No doubt that will the the 'live cross' that gets shown on TV. Still not happy with looking directly at the sun though - most of those going won't realise til it's too late. Detective Rotayjay always does his research beforehand ;)

I give it 20 minutes before they just open the gates and let everyone into the stadium it'll be that packed down there.

A few of us picked up the $99 packages for the adelaide oval today but that is sold out now lady i spoke to on the phone said they were expecting 20,000+ Down in the plaza .... wow

Me and a mate (plus our families) got some of the $99 packages.... looks to be really good value. The girl said there will be a lot of screens/projectors plus the game audio piped through. Looking forward to, hopefully, an awesome day.

With the indoor Crows Shed not being used like 1997/98, the weather a bit dodgy and many of us not keen on the plaza, this will be the biggest thing ever to happen to the pubs of Adelaide. Every pub will be chockers with great atmosphere (great if you can put up with a bit of a squeeze).
I was at the Shed in both 97 and 98. It was fantastic! I'm very disappointed the Club hasn't organised something better this time around. These events don't come around that often, so it's good to participate in the best way possible. They dropped the ball, imho.