Votes: 16 3.2%
  • 2016 Luke Beveridge

Votes: 29 5.9%
  • 2017 Damien Hardwick

Votes: 91 18.5%

So a team comes from 13th to Premiers - some say has one of the worst lists - wins by an average of about 7 goals- wins 18/25, and the coach is deemed by some oracles on BF to be worst PREMIERSHIP coach since 2000..........

That's the issue. You were 13th and Hardwick had been at the helm forever.

Yes you made finals before that but were uncompetitive against bad finalists. Port and North. 9th placed Carlton prior to that.
Hardwick has had 1 fantastic year out of 8. 7 bad ones, no one usually survives that long but with a major overhaul in the way he and the club went about things with no major injuries has won a flag.

Let's see if he can back it up, by backing up I'm talking finishing comfortably in the 8.

Yes you made finals before that but were uncompetitive against bad finalists. Port and North. 9th placed Carlton prior to that.
Hardwick has had 1 fantastic year out of 8. 7 bad ones, no one usually survives that long but with a major overhaul in the way he and the club went about things with no major injuries has won a flag.

Let's see if he can back it up, by backing up I'm talking finishing comfortably in the 8.
Finish comfortably in the 8!!! What a load of rubbish he coached team into finals in three of those years -he has a premiership - how long did Thompson at Geelong get- and for that matter MM at Pies before they won a flag?

Thompson had to wait ages to get a side into the finals. It was 7 months.
He had a couple of quiet years then got a young squad within a couple of kicks of beating Brisbane in a prelim.
Lost to Sydney the next year in the f***ing nick Davis game.
Ironically the closest he came to losing his job was in a random non-finals season between 05 and 07 where we finished 10th or something.

Thompson showed signs from the moment he got to the place that he could get us on the right trajectory after Ayres left.

Thompson had to wait ages to get a side into the finals. It was 7 months.
He had a couple of quiet years then got a young squad within a couple of kicks of beating Brisbane in a prelim.
Lost to Sydney the next year in the f***ing nick Davis game.
Ironically the closest he came to losing his job was in a random non-finals season between 05 and 07 where we finished 10th or something.

Thompson showed signs from the moment he got to the place that he could get us on the right trajectory after Ayres left.
And Harwick with a side sighted as worst since Fitzroy - didn't ? Whiskers claim was Hardwick has done nothing. He has made finals three times and won a flag- which is a pretty good strike rate. It seems as if according to some Cats supporters if Geelong make finals and do not win flag it is still a win. If Richmond make finals and don't win flag - that's a loss. Tiges still a long way off Cats success - but gee QF win and flag was a ripping start.

Record after GF win, and subsequent record

Year|Coach|M|W|L|D|Win %|Avg Age||M|W|L|D|Win %|Avg Age
\2000|Sheedy, Kevin|472|306|161|5|65.4|24.82||207|83|122|2|40.6|23.95
\2001|Matthews, Leigh|298|176|117|5|59.9|24.38||163|91|69|3|56.7|25.10
\2002|Matthews, Leigh|323|196|122|5|61.5|24.47||138|71|64|3|52.5|25.03
\2003|Matthews, Leigh|349|213|130|6|61.9|24.60||112|54|56|2|49.1|24.78
\2004|Williams, Mark M.|144|93|50|1|64.9|24.90||130|58|71|1|45.0|25.14
\2005|Roos, Paul|84|53|31|0|63.1|25.15||184|84|98|2|46.2|25.34
\2006|Worsfold, John|120|75|43|2|63.3|23.98||206|89|117|0|43.2|24.53
\2007|Thompson, Mark|185|99|83|3|54.3|24.10||98|74|23|1|76.0|25.69
\2008|Clarkson, Alastair|93|48|45|0|51.6|23.94||212|142|68|2|67.5|25.48
\2009|Thompson, Mark|235|143|89|3|61.5|24.36||48|30|17|1|63.5|25.95
\2010|Malthouse, Mick|639|364|269|6|57.4|24.41||79|42|36|1|53.8|25.40
\2011|Scott, Chris|25|22|3|0|88.0|26.68||142|96|44|2|68.3|25.96
\2012|Longmire, John|49|32|16|1|66.3|25.63||124|85|38|1|69.0|25.85
\2013|Clarkson, Alastair|213|129|83|1|60.8|24.43||92|61|30|1|66.8|26.37
\2014|Clarkson, Alastair|233|144|88|1|62.0|24.54||72|46|25|1|64.6|26.48
\2015|Clarkson, Alastair|259|163|95|1|63.1|24.75||46|27|18|1|59.8|26.31
\2016|Beveridge, Luke|49|33|16|0|67.3|24.41||22|11|11|0|50.0|25.00
\2017|Hardwick, Damien|182|92|88|2|51.1|24.33|||||||

Record after GF win, and subsequent record

Year|Coach|M|W|L|D|Win %||M|W|L|D|Win %
\2000|Sheedy, Kevin|472|306|161|5|65.4||207|83|122|2|40.6
\2001|Matthews, Leigh|298|176|117|5|59.9||163|91|69|3|56.7
\2002|Matthews, Leigh|323|196|122|5|61.5||138|71|64|3|52.5
\2003|Matthews, Leigh|349|213|130|6|61.9||112|54|56|2|49.1
\2004|Williams, Mark M.|144|93|50|1|64.9||130|58|71|1|45.0
\2005|Roos, Paul|84|53|31|0|63.1||184|84|98|2|46.2
\2006|Worsfold, John|120|75|43|2|63.3||206|89|117|0|43.2
\2007|Thompson, Mark|185|99|83|3|54.3||98|74|23|1|76.0
\2008|Clarkson, Alastair|93|48|45|0|51.6||212|142|68|2|67.5
\2009|Thompson, Mark|235|143|89|3|61.5||48|30|17|1|63.5
\2010|Malthouse, Mick|639|364|269|6|57.4||79|42|36|1|53.8
\2011|Scott, Chris|25|22|3|0|88.0||142|96|44|2|68.3
\2012|Longmire, John|49|32|16|1|66.3||124|85|38|1|69.0
\2013|Clarkson, Alastair|213|129|83|1|60.8||92|61|30|1|66.8
\2014|Clarkson, Alastair|233|144|88|1|62.0||72|46|25|1|64.6
\2015|Clarkson, Alastair|259|163|95|1|63.1||46|27|18|1|59.8
\2016|Beveridge, Luke|49|33|16|0|67.3||22|11|11|0|50.0
\2017|Hardwick, Damien|182|92|88|2|51.1||||||

Basically Bomber and Clarkson are the only ones to get better after they won a flag.

Another vote for Clarko. I asked him how the game went a couple years ago in Adelaide when he faced Port in a non threatening manner and he tried to fight me. Just wanted to see how it went as I missed it :(

Basically Bomber and Clarkson are the only ones to get better after they won a flag.

Have added average ages for a bit of context. Helps explain e.g. Sheedy's poor record post-2000 and Clarkson's exceptional performance to get to the top so quickly, and exposes others with sub-50% records with mature teams.

I always thought John Worsfold was overrated - led an absolute basketcase off the field, a group of guys who engaged with gangs, drugs, and there was discontent within the playing group. I'd give the chocolates to the head recruiter who selected Cox, Judd, Cousins and Kerr whom pretty much coaches themselves. He spent 12 seasons at West Coast, four of which were near the bottom of the ladder, with 5 more making up the numbers in the 8 and no being that good (relevant from 05-07, I don't rate '11). His team's peak (05-07) also comes at a time I think was a poor era as footy was in a transition period.

He's also the only coach on this list to see a wooden spoon.

But I don't know - are we rating them on their premiership year solely or their entire career since 2000?

Absolute garbage.

Bad finalists?
Port Adelaide went on to beat freo in freo and lose a classic prelim against Premier Hawthorn by 3 points.

North Melbourne went on to beat Sydney in Sydney before losing a prelim in freo.

The Carlton loss was a bad one.

The guy took over a basket case, took three years to rebuild then played finals in 4 out of the next 5 years including a premiership. I haven't been a huge hardwick fan but his record is now hard to argue against.

But I don't know - are we rating them on their premiership year solely or their entire career since 2000?

Interesting question and surprising the thread has gone this far without it being asked (apologies if someone has).

If it’s based on whole career, ok, can understand potentially some Hardwick votes. If it’s based on flag year only, can’t understand at all how anyone could vote Hardwick. On paper, this Richmond team is (at least arguably) the worst premiership team since 2000 and his effort to get everything out of them and produce a flag surely goes down as an amazing achievement. Top four, massive finals wins and knocked off the entire rest of the top four.

Suspect I’d still vote Williams. The 04’ side achieved what it should have achieved with the strength of that list, nothing more.

Must disagree on Worsfold, made a really important change to our game plan at the business end of 2006 and for all the gold he was dished up midfield wise, made it work with a team many on BF will happily claim was average outside of Judd, Kerr, Cousins and Cox.

Hardwick was lucky to have a job at the end of last year. If he had been boned like a large chunk of the Richmond fan base baying for his blood wanted, nobody would be arguing with a straight face that Hardwick was a better coach than C Scott.

In any event I'm more inclined to attribute Richmond's flag this year to Caracella and Balme both who are former Geelong employees who've probably shared intellectual property that CS would've had some influence on.

Hardwick was lucky to have a job at the end of last year. If he had been boned like a large chunk of the Richmond fan base baying for his blood wanted, nobody would be arguing with a straight face that Hardwick was a better coach than C Scott

So was Bomber, around the end of 2006

Who the hell are the 2 dimwits who voted for Leigh Mathews?

The man got our team into 4 consecutive GF's, winning 3 in a row, falling to Port on 4th.

Hardly the worst! Fair dinkum, no idea!:rolleyes:

Who the hell are the 2 dimwits who voted for Leigh Mathews?

The man got our team into 4 GF's, winning 3 in a row, falling to Port on 4th.

Hardly the worst! Fair dinkum!:rolleyes:

Not even worth acknowledging mate. Why potentially interesting polls aren’t what they should be. A percentage who vote on actual thought, a large percentage who can’t see past club bias and the percentage of peanuts who vote for the ‘lolz’.

In any event I'm more inclined to attribute Richmond's flag this year to Caracella and Balme both who are former Geelong employees who've probably shared intellectual property that CS would've had some influence on.

Maybe the IP that Scott didn't want to listen to?

The thing about Chris Scott is, whiles there's no question his teams have underachieved in finals since 2012, I think that Geelong has consistently produced above preseason expectations in his time. I'd say that when you consider that aspect, he's only really underperformed in 2012 and 2015. We were expected to make up the numbers in the eight in 2011/16/17, to fall away in 2013. Given the mass departures that we had at the end of 2013, I would say that finishing fifth (following a straight sets finals exit) was probably about par from what was expected of the team in preseason. I'd rate his seasons as follows, from where I remember us being expected to finish at the start of the year:
  • 2011: 10/10
  • 2012: 5/10
  • 2013: 8/10
  • 2014: 6/10
  • 2015: 3/10
  • 2016: 8/10
  • 2017: 7.5/10
I'd downgrade his 2016 and 2017 (and to a lesser extent, 2013) slightly because, while top four is nothing to sneeze at for most clubs, premierships were there for the taking in each of those years and despite having flawed teams Geelong failed to seize that golden opportunity (where other flawed teams, arguably more flawed teams, were able to capitalise).