Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

look to me this years best(3)

1 MADMUG
2 KINGPIN
3 WHOWANT2KNOW

bestclubman greybudgie

thanks you all, for a wonderful yr, and i hope we keep this group together:cool:
any comments

Much more entertaining than a bunch of soulless, nameless, C grade footballers running around in front of a big pile of empty concrete pretending to play football, what's their slogan again? "Best in the state" pleeeease!!!
Are you referring to North? If they are c greade then the rest of the state must be D, E, F.....

NHFC back 371 - 118. 76% of responders. Pretty resounding result, no arguing with that mandate. Great day for footy.

Well it had to happen, it was pure common sense.
You could tell that Hobart City Demons wasn't working, when you went to North Hobart Oval during the Prelim and Grand Finals the past two years there was absolutely no sponsorship signage around the boundary fences or on the stands to speak of, only the faded signs behind the Domain end goal that have been there since the mid 1990s and an old 1992 National Pies sign on the side of the scoreboard. The whole place looked rather derelict and unused.
Also clears up any confusion with having two "Hobart" teams which damaged both clubs IMO.
Now everyone can get on with the business of winning football matches.

Will they all sign back up next year? They seemed to all sign up so they could vote.

You would hope so, of those 150 members only 80 were paying (70 Life members). Changing the name of the Club was a huge problem. Hopefully the majority of those new/old members can be engaged in the Club now the Plastic Hobart Shity is a thing of the past

Will they all sign back up next year? They seemed to all sign up so they could vote.
You would hope so, of those 150 members only 80 were paying (70 Life members). Changing the name of the Club was a huge problem. Hopefully the majority of those new/old members can be engaged in the Club now the Plastic Hobart Shity is a thing of the past

Thats the problem with most clubs. getting people to commit long term. I think the new set up will work hard in rebuilding the club image & its links to members & supporters. its what keeps all clubs ticking after all.

Yes it's a difficult thing to get people to commit to anything these days.
If their club keeps engaging the supporters and has good success onfield it certainly helps.
Membership is extremely important and that was something that we didn't do very well with at Hobart for a long time.
In 1990 when we won the TFL flag, we had the lowest membership of any club at just 260 (both Clarence and New Norfolk had well over 2,000 at the time, NH not far south of that) but yet our attendances were close to the highest in TFL football back then.
By the time we pushed hard for members in the mid nineties it was far too late as our crowds had gone and success was gone too.
About 2003 we had 242 members and by the final year of "Hobart Lions" we were down to 28 and our image wasn't great.
I think our current membership is in the 300-odds, highest since around 1996 but continuing engagement with the fans and on field success is still required to keep them on board.
I think with our 18s winning the flag, the Reserves going close to a grand final spot and a gradual change in culture at the club the seniors will eventually get there too plus $5 million being spent on improvements to the TCA Ground over the coming years it helps us with improving our image and membership. Tough gig these days isn't it, Madmug?

Yes it's a difficult thing to get people to commit to anything these days.
If their club keeps engaging the supporters and has good success onfield it certainly helps.
Membership is extremely important and that was something that we didn't do very well with at Hobart for a long time.
In 1990 when we won the TFL flag, we had the lowest membership of any club at just 260 (both Clarence and New Norfolk had well over 2,000 at the time, NH not far south of that) but yet our attendances were close to the highest in TFL football back then.
By the time we pushed hard for members in the mid nineties it was far too late as our crowds had gone and success was gone too.
About 2003 we had 242 members and by the final year of "Hobart Lions" we were down to 28 and our image wasn't great.
I think our current membership is in the 300-odds, highest since around 1996 but continuing engagement with the fans and on field success is still required to keep them on board.
I think with our 18s winning the flag, the Reserves going close to a grand final spot and a gradual change in culture at the club the seniors will eventually get there too plus $5 million being spent on improvements to the TCA Ground over the coming years it helps us with improving our image and membership. Tough gig these days isn't it, Madmug?

$5mil on the old girl. Sounds like a decent make over. It'll make the ground better than some TSL grounds I recon. ;)

Taken the turf and top soil off today at the TCA as I have been told, dont know what how that will effect NHCC maybe all games at the Crossroads this Cricket Season.

The NHFC AGM will be interesting this year as well, Have they the voting rights to elect Board Members yet?

Taken the turf and top soil off today at the TCA as I have been told, dont know what how that will effect NHCC maybe all games at the Crossroads this Cricket Season.

The NHFC AGM will be interesting this year as well, Have they the voting rights to elect Board Members yet?

"As a result, the Board’s amended motion of 3 elected by members at this year’s AGM, and 3 elected by members at the 2018 AGM was voted on by a show of hands and was unanimously passed."

Motion was raised to have all 6 elected however due to the completely f***ed AFL Tas constitution that required 75% support for this to succeed it didnt get up as it got 56%.

Pre season match between North Melbourne and Collingwood at twin ovals in February.

Umm, people think parking and access is bad at Bellerive?

Yes the ground it self is brilliant, but everything else isnt up to scratch for a crowd like this. Parking, bar, kiosk and seating has basically no capacity to handle this.

North Hobart oval would be better for this match.

Pre season match between North Melbourne and Collingwood at twin ovals in February.

Umm, people think parking and access is bad at Bellerive?

Yes the ground it self is brilliant, but everything else isnt up to scratch for a crowd like this. Parking, bar, kiosk and seating has basically no capacity to handle this.

North Hobart oval would be better for this match.
Yes I saw this today. My first thought was how the hell are all the people going to get in and out?
They had a soccer match there a couple of summers ago in front of over 4,000 and everyone seemed spread out laying on the hills. Not sure how they went with access issues.
About as much sense as Hawthorn and Geelong meeting in a pre-season game at the old Clare Street Recreation Ground (The Rec) home of the old Railway FC!
Should be at North Hobart, I agree.

It was badly needed. Not only is it our home ground but is probably the most heavily utilised facility in the south for both adult and junior sport participants across footy and cricket.
All parties are putting money into the project, Council, Hobart Football Club, North Hobart Cricket Club, Cricket Australia, DOSA are putting a little bit in, not sure about Cricket Tasmania or State Government but from what I gather more cricket fixtures might end up there, presumably to keep them off Bellerive I guess.
Obviously levelling out the ground is a major project, as is laying cables for the new electronic scoreboard which is similar to the one at Twin Ovals.
Other projects to come will be the demolishing of the small open stand beside the H.C Smith Stand, the canteen and small glassed in bar (currently used by DOSA as their clubrooms) will also be demolished with a new multi-purpose building built in its place.
Re-roofing of the Powell-Pascoe-Payne Stand, sealing it and possible removal of wooden 1954 seating and replacement with plastic seating.
Turning the Hobart Football Clubrooms beneath into a gym and changerooms.
Demolition of the 1969/70 built HFC changerooms, a new building housing clubrooms/bar facilities and changerooms for both Hobart Football Club and the North Hobart Cricket Club (the cricket club are keen to get out of the heritage listed Smith Stand due its dilapidated nature), have heard possibly new boundary fences being erected as the picket ones installed in 2000 by Work For The Dole crews are knackered.
That's just some of it anyway, having seen the plans it's certainly going to look a lot different that's for sure lol!

Yes I saw this today. My first thought was how the hell are all the people going to get in and out?
They had a soccer match there a couple of summers ago in front of over 4,000 and everyone seemed spread out laying on the hills. Not sure how they went with access issues.
About as much sense as Hawthorn and Geelong meeting in a pre-season game at the old Clare Street Recreation Ground (The Rec) home of the old Railway FC!
Should be at North Hobart, I agree.

The next game, Sydney FC v Melb Victory was at Nth Hobart (2015?). Much better event cause the footy club volunteers specialise in these events. No access problems, no council problems, bigger crowd, great atmosphere & viewing and catering. Some of the grounds they play these games on around the nation are smallish. NH although a bit small would provide the best balanced outcome for teams, supports, crowd access, parking etc. FFS people can even walk there. Rubbish at Kingborough even on a roster game getting in, parking and getting out. S'pose AFLT need to get some return on their $500 big ones.

Yeah I suspected it would've been a problem with crowd access down at Twin Ovals.
I've only ever seen the ground from the top of the cul-de-sac when it first opened and my first impression was they were trying to create a mini-Boyer Oval, great surface but horrendous to get into and hopeless for parking. I suspect you're right, gotta get some return from that 500k!

Yeah I suspected it would've been a problem with crowd access down at Twin Ovals.
I've only ever seen the ground from the top of the cul-de-sac when it first opened and my first impression was they were trying to create a mini-Boyer Oval, great surface but horrendous to get into and hopeless for parking. I suspect you're right, gotta get some return from that 500k!

Its pointless worrying about how the hell they think the Twin Ovals could possibly cater for any sort of AFL crowd. We're use to AFL Tasmania making stupid & dumb decisions.

Twin Ovals ls lovely for our big TSL crowds of 500 or so. I've seen the shyte parking with that sort of crowd. Its crazy enough for a TSL game.

The ground itself is fantastic. The changerooms are adequate for TSL footy. The Social Club Facilities are likewise, ok for TSK footy. Two pissy grandstands & the huge grass bank, again ok for the TSL. But Ive got no idea how people will get to the game!!!

I might take my mates Caravan & park their a few days before hand. Otherwise I doubt I can get near the place.
I know NHO could handle the crowd, but it is too small for AFL games.

I agree with my Magpie mate that KGV is a far better venue for access & viewing, but they have cricket. I guess the 20 who go to that are more important than 10,000 they'd get to an AFL match!! You think they could work something sensible out.

The Advocate reported today that Devonport's new non playing coach is Simon Dent. Many wouldn't have heard of him but he was Mitch Thorps assistant for the last 2 years. Devonport are also continuing on in the NWFL which I don't think will help their development of young players but that is their decision of course.

Its pointless worrying about how the hell they think the Twin Ovals could possibly cater for any sort of AFL crowd. We're use to AFL Tasmania making stupid & dumb decisions.

Twin Ovals ls lovely for our big TSL crowds of 500 or so. I've seen the shyte parking with that sort of crowd. Its crazy enough for a TSL game.

The ground itself is fantastic. The changerooms are adequate for TSL footy. The Social Club Facilities are likewise, ok for TSK footy. Two pissy grandstands & the huge grass bank, again ok for the TSL. But Ive got no idea how people will get to the game!!!

I might take my mates Caravan & park their a few days before hand. Otherwise I doubt I can get near the place.
I know NHO could handle the crowd, but it is too small for AFL games.

I agree with my Magpie mate that KGV is a far better venue for access & viewing, but they have cricket. I guess the 20 who go to that are more important than 10,000 they'd get to an AFL match!! You think they could work something sensible out.
How many cricket games would have to be moved for one pre-season game? Takes weeks preparing a wicket.

Agree about the concern about Twin Ovals parking etc but if NHO is unsuitable(which is an issue in itself), it is the best oval left without ruining another sports season. I really liked it when been there in previous years.