Research Missing DOD or DOB for League players (AFL)

Remove this Banner Ad

Robert "Rhoda" Ernest McDonald - Coll 1897, Carl 1901 , Richmond (VFA) 1901-02, 1904-07 b: 29/4/1878 Orig club : Collingwood Jnrs
I've exhausted avenues I can think of for "Rhoda" - details below for anyone who wants to pick up the threads such as they are.
Family
Parents: Alexander McDonald (1852–27 Dec 1926) m Isabella Lavery (1854–1890)
Edith Melville McDonald (1876–1941)
Robert Ernest McDonald (1878– after 1926)
Elsie Bassett McDonald (1880– before 1926)
Arthur Reginald McDonald (1882–1925)
Norman Douglas McDonald (1884–1917)
Beatrice Florence McDonald (1886–24 Sep 1955) m David John Blake
Bassett Alexandria McDonald (1888–1890)

Both Alexander and Robert were bootmakers by profession according to electoral rolls.
Robert lived in the same street as his father until 1913 electoral roll and then moves away – I have not been able to find any evidence of where he went.

His father’s death notice in Dec 1926 (http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article202195689) indicates Robert was still living at that time. No siblings are mentioned in death notices for Beatrice Florence in 1955 and I haven't found any death notice on Trove for Edith (according to her BDM record she did not marry)

I don't know why I hadn't thought of it before but there is a certain time span when the newspapers we see on Trove
published the "Mac..." or "McC..." surnames as a "M'c..."

Perhaps these items confirm matters
West Melbourne paying respect to C McCartney's mother, long respected resident of West Melbourne
http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/106847368

mother Ann's death in mid-June 1898 (and note it states "widow of the late Francis")
http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/9837952
You've actually opened a new line of enquiry for me.

McCartney came to South Melbourne in 1896 from West Melbourne juniors

cf Recorder 11 April 1896

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article108477869

and was playing there in 1894