Bluemour Discussion Thread VII (cont. in pt VIII)

Sam McClure said on SEN this morning that he believes that Carlton just genuinely do not want to lose Gibbs and so doesn't think the trade will be done.

Guy on SEN this morning reckons no chance that Gibbs will get to Adelaide and they never put up 10 and 16. Schacke staying as no one interested..

Last edited by a moderator:

I reckon Tomorrow 1pm Kennedy to Carlton... our only trade this year.

I do expect to hear "he was mentioned, but again his contracted, and we didnt feel an adequate offer was put on the table" inregards to gibbs post trade period.

according to trade talk lang's manager has as narrowed it done to suns or blues

If Lang does want to stay in Melbourne, and he's considering GC, then you'd imagine the dollars on offer are higher from GC. If so, I wonder if the AFL has had a hand?

Can they hurry up and pass those euthanasia laws before trade period ends.
If Graham, Buckley and White are still on our list for next year I need to check out.
A bit hard on White for his service but geez - three wasted list spots.
SOS, you and I both have until 2.00 pm tomorrow mate.

Do they have a speedy line-breaking mid that wins a decent amount of contested ball and kicks goals?

Adelaide's midfielders are one-paced and don't hit the scoreboard.
Crouch brothers, Milera? Zorko might have a hard edge for an outside player, but he's still something they very much have in surplus.

The need a bigger bodied mid, and someone with more attacking flair and vision than what the Crows mids tend to play with.

If you were Marc Murphy would you hang around and tolerate another bottom 4 finish with your co-best mid being traded out? I'd be massively annoyed. 200+ games and a few finals a few years ago but nothing to show for his outstanding efforts and skill and captaincy.
The counter argument to this is that he's been helping out with talent ID for the club in his spare time, so he'd have a decent grasp on what's on offer for 10 & 16.

I don't think the intrinsic value of the trade is what's upsetting club or player, I think it's the time it'll take for one or both to get senior ready. In that way, it's not really an adequate replacement with respect to talent, club culture or our current development trend. So they either need to go above and beyond, or they need to help facilitate some senior replacement that'll remain in our 22 for 3-5 years.

Interesting how people continue to pick the faults of other players, unless of course it is Kelly, Lynch, Martin ETC

Despite your opinion of him being a turnover merchant, would you concede he would walk into our current side and be less of a turnover merchant than some of our current players?
I don't see us satisfying Hawthorn in a trade. Happy to look at him as a DFA.

If Lang does want to stay in Melbourne, and he's considering GC, then you'd imagine the dollars on offer are higher from GC. If so, I wonder if the AFL has had a hand?
They're losing Ablett from their cap, plus the cap raise, plus the other players that have already jumped ship. They have cash to burn.

Only goes till 2pm tomorrow

Edit: or was that the joke :/
thatsthejoke.jpg

They're offering lachie Weller 800k x 5years
They're paying Trent McKenzie 500k
The money will be bigger for him at gc
The lure of playing finals in the near future in front of a big crowd is with us

If Adelaide do not make a play for Gibbs - while they are in their Premiership window - Reid should be sacked.

Put the shoe on the other foot - if we fall short in one year, I'd hope we do what we can to add the extra element to go further the next year, even if it means paying slight overs to do so.

They can howl all they fair value etc, but they ran away like bandits in the Lever deal and have the picks we want. Simply, if they don't get extra experience in to sustain their form in 2018, they'll waste their flag years with Sloane, Tex, Betts, Jacobs etc while developing a bunch of 18-year-old kids.

Pay up, pricks. It's time.

They're offering lachie Weller 800k x 5years
They're paying Trent McKenzie 500k
The money will be bigger for him at gc
The lure of playing finals in the near future in front of a big crowd is with us
If its to be believed, he's already spurned North for us in preference despite them offering more. So when he can stay in VIC and the money isn't an issue, you'd think he'd choose us. But the Cats will be pressing him to accept a Suns move because... Ablett. Cats benefit more from him going to QLD. Expect news today.

For what its worth (so basically nothing) I would be OK if the club kept Gibbs, swapped 3rd pick for Kennedy and hit the draft. I could live with losing Gibbs but only if we are paid overs. We will be a much better team in 2 years time if Gibbs decided to leave under free agency. If he leaves now we will have a hole in the part of our lineup that is already arguably our weakest. Basically we cant cover for losing Gibbs. Bolton would be gutted to lose Gibbs and perhaps some of our progress stalls. All this is potentially overlooked with the gloss of massive overs but I'm not sure Pick 10 or 16 in a shallow draft gets that done. I could not care less what Adelaide think is fair value, their opinion is irrelevant as it is a seller's market and we dont want to sell. Find a way to change our mind or go back to West Lakes and keep sooking!

The smaller deals will go elsewhere while we play the waiting game. Hard to keep players from other clubs from getting scared and accepting offers. I hope Kennedy is feeling okay.