Universal Love Chris Mayne

This is how a quality coach handles a question on an under performing player.

Bravo Clarko. Class act re: Vickery

"To make a judgement on one bloke in 12 months and then tip him out, if he wasn't playing for Hawthorn it would be on the basis that he feels he's got nothing he can contribute to help take us forward, but that would be on the basis of Ty, not the Hawthorn footy club."

Clarko just makes Buckleys approach on Mayne 4 days after his reappointment look even more amateurish.

Mayne had a shocker this year, every player has them, even the Great Dane Swan. If Mayne is on the list next year which I assume he will be, he should be given the chance to prove himself.

He could still add some value but would need to show a lot more. He has played some good football in the past but I'm not holding my breath but willing to see how he goes through preseason.

I like the way Clarko deals with these things but Clarko is not perfect

Mayne had a shocker this year, every player has them, even the Great Dane Swan. If Mayne is on the list next year which I assume he will be, he should be given the chance to prove himself.

He could still add some value but would need to show a lot more. He has played some good football in the past but I'm not holding my breath but willing to see how he goes through preseason.

Mayne's been having shockers for 3-4 years in a row by now :rolleyes:

Agree, but coming from a long way back. Even if Fas does decide to head home I'd still have Mayne a fair way down the pecking order for his spot.

Mayne's been having shockers for 3-4 years in a row by now :rolleyes:
The 3 years prior to arriving (2014-16) at Collingwood.
Mayne kicked 59 goals, 44 goal assists, average disposal 14 per game, tackles 5 per game, marks 5 per game.
So he was a player who...kicked goals, created goals, plus added forward pressure.
Unfortunately he didn't continue with those numbers in 2017.
Hoping he can get back to some semblance of past form in 2018.
I'm not writing him off yet...

Mayne kicked 59 goals, 44 goal assists, average disposal 14 per game, tackles 5 per game, marks 5 per game.
So he was a player who...kicked goals, created goals, plus added forward pressure.

I never had a problem with him personally. Always thought he was at the very least serviceable.

I also think Buckley is being harsher on him than other players so maybe that's affecting Chris' confidence? I mean, we're effectively lumped with him now, shouldn't we be trying to get the best out of him?

If he's on our list we need to back him, we got him to fill a role but he needs to earn it.

Interesting that Motlop is on a 4 year $2 million deal the same as Mayne. Yet he is worth a end of 1st round pick why Mayne was worth 1 band down a 2nd round pick.

Also to add to it is that that deal is under the new salary cap meaning it is a lower percentage of the salary cap compared to when Mayne signed.

I'm no Colombo but I reckon we can safely say Mayne ain't on $500,000 per year but probably closer to $400-450k mark.

Interesting that Motlop is on a 4 year $2 million deal the same as Mayne. Yet he is worth a end of 1st round pick why Mayne was worth 1 band down a 2nd round pick.

Also to add to it is that that deal is under the new salary cap meaning it is a lower percentage of the salary cap compared to when Mayne signed.

I'm no Colombo but I reckon we can safely say Mayne ain't on $500,000 per year but probably closer to $400-450k mark.

Something about where he fits in the rankings of highest to lowest paid at his destination club is my understanding of it. Was speculated to be worth pick 35 but the "expert panel" can recommend whatever they like I think.

Was out this morning for work near Sandringham footy ground and saw Mayne training. Stopped to have a chat to him and see how things are going.

he has been training 5 days a week since the end of the season and when i seen him he was doing sprints and Goal kicking, must say ive been against the Mayne deal since he signed but just maybe things might turn for him and i can tell you it wont be from not caring cause he does care and hopefully he can turn it around next season.

Was out this morning for work near Sandringham footy ground and saw Mayne training. Stopped to have a chat to him and see how things are going.

he has been training 5 days a week since the end of the season and when i seen him he was doing sprints and Goal kicking, must say ive been against the Mayne deal since he signed but just maybe things might turn for him and i can tell you it wont be from not caring cause he does care and hopefully he can turn it around next season.

Well done mate
He's a quality bloke and I wish him success
New town , new structures,new team mates
Excessive expectations from the media didn't help , typical pie bashing
All Want to know why we get reamed at the trade table
Put it in the basket of typical pie bias

This is how a quality coach handles a question on an under performing player.

Bravo Clarko. Class act re: Vickery

"To make a judgement on one bloke in 12 months and then tip him out, if he wasn't playing for Hawthorn it would be on the basis that he feels he's got nothing he can contribute to help take us forward, but that would be on the basis of Ty, not the Hawthorn footy club."

Clarko just makes Buckleys approach on Mayne 4 days after his reappointment look even more amateurish.

How's your clarko doll travissss

Needs to work on explosiveness and agility to have any chance of finding a place in the side. Running laps won't help.
Good to see he's having a crack so good luck to him.

I suppose we have to try and forget about the pay packet and just focus on what we can get out of him now.

If he can get that tenacity back into his tackling and get his goal-kicking right, he can still be a handy depth player.

I just think he lacks pace and that goal sense to be a best 22 player. He also just doesn't find the ball enough.

But Jarryd Blair has pretty much held his spot on defensive pressure alone, so if Mayne can just focus on his fitness and defensive acts, then he may still have a role to play.

But really, we'd be hoping the likes of Crocker, Brown, Daicos and Kirby start cementing their spots.

Well done mate
He's a quality bloke and I wish him success
New town , new structures,new team mates
Excessive expectations from the media didn't help , typical pie bashing
All Want to know why we get reamed at the trade table
Put it in the basket of typical pie bias

Yeah really nice bloke and says that all the boys have been very supportive of him.

His last good year was 2013 where he kicked 37 goals. In the 4 years after that, he has averaged a little over 15 goals per year.

Funny how you are the one completely wrong... Wonder who has an agenda :D

Played backline 2016 he can't kick that long few can maybe blight
Injured as well prior
Well known your opinion
You do understand the position he plays
You do realise that freo had 2 small quality forwards as well

Played backline 2016 he can't kick that long few can maybe blight
Injured as well prior
Well known your opinion
You do understand the position he plays
You do realise that freo had 2 small quality forwards as well

Ah okay, so despite 100% of Fremantle supporters celebrating him leaving due to his consistent terrible performances and his terrible performances at Collingwood, he has actually performed well in the past few years?

Interesting opinion you have, completely foolish, but interesting.

Ah okay, so despite 100% of Fremantle supporters celebrating him leaving due to his consistent terrible performances and his terrible performances at Collingwood, he has actually performed well in the past few years?

So you're talking out of your arse again
100% of supporters yeah
Like you'd know
Spoke to all of them did you
Can't believe that unless its the suns or giants lol
By the way my man lynch shot you down earlier

Really, wasn't aware of that. Actually thought I'd read comments from their supporters lamenting his departure. Go figure.

Universal Love Chris Mayne