- Nov 7, 2010
- AFL Club
- Geelong
- Other Teams
- WADA
You know Johnson and Bartel were half decent footballer for the GFC it would be easy to lose sight of that reading some of the crap in this thread.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Gerard Whateley straight up said that's why he was let go. Whateley could be wrong, but he's pretty plugged in at Geelong.Or possibly he didn't fess up because these "problems" only existed in the minds of some posters on here.
I came across an excerpt from the book yesterday in an AFL feed on Facebook, the one where SJ claims Chris Scott wouldn't look him in the eye at training, and how he knew something was going on. This was then confirmed when Steve Hocking called Johnson in for a meeting to tell him his time at Geelong was over. It was clear from the excerpt that Johnson didn't think much of Chris Scott, but in the same breath he sang Scott's praises claiming he dropped into his home with a six pack of beer to talk over things and clear the air. Johnson wrote that he found this to be courageous.
It was like Johnson was having it both ways. If that excerpt is any indication I'm not sure we'll learn too much.
umm...
I get the point you are making and I know using the phrase "we are still waiting to see them string more than a handful of games together" suits your narrative but Gregson in his first year played 20 games before the foot injury. Now I get he's been out since that injury and we have seen nothing since but to say he couldnt " play more than a handful" is just wrong.
GO Catters
Or someone wrote it for Stevie. He didn't like what he read and insisted on adding something at the end to soften the criticism, you know, just in case he ever wanted to work at Geelong again.the way that these post-retirement books are churned out, it wouldn't surprise me if each of those parts were written on different weekends and not properly edited later if at all.
almost student-style cut and paste![]()
Gaz is a fair replacement for Motlop, I would have thought...
Doesn't mean that what they write in a "tell all" book shouldn't be beyond criticism.You know Johnson and Bartel were half decent footballer for the GFC it would be easy to lose sight of that reading some of the crap in this thread.
Jordan Murdoch should be delisted and Lang has been traded. Nakia and Gregson probably needed time in the VFL to develop their games and I personally think they were rushed a bit into the AFL.
to be fair we got rid of sj cause we needed to get much needed games into gregson, kersten mccarthy and ruggles. these were the guys earmarked to help hawkins in the forward lineI find it ironic that the bloke we picked up with the Stevie trade got delisted today. Say what you want about Steve this year, but Jeez a forward target other than Hawkins would of been handy in September last year. (Used the pick in the Stevie trade to list Ruggles).
At what point has Murdoch ever played decent footy?Whatever should happen now is not relevant to johnnos call in 14/15. Murdoch was playing very good afl footy then and fully deserved his spot. Walker played because vardy and stanley were injured and hmac and simpson cooked, not to increase his trade value. What did SJ expect that we would play stokes at CHF? Gregson was very good in his first year and defensively better than most of our forwards. We like all clubs do make questionable selection calls but SJ has picked the wrong ones there.
So long as you ignore the fact Gaz has maybe 1 season left in him and Motlop, at 26 has the majority of his career infront of him still. Then yes, GAJ is a good replacement for Motlop![]()
I hope you're not referring to me not that I actually mind because I remember using my original account and I reckon I wrote about 20 different hateful posts aimed towards Varcoe. Hours later I created a thread saying all of Geelongs players are stars and one individual posted in it with all 20 posts of what I said about VarcoeMan I still can't get over the end of the 2013 Hawks final.
The same bloke in here who blamed Stevie J for the Saints loss also blamed Varcoe for the Hawks loss.
No mention of Bartel again.
I know Varcoe shouldn't of been playing and missed that goal to draw it but bloody hell you're not wrong, we don't mind turning a blind eye to Jimmy.
Yes! Dreadful book! And I’ve got a lot of time for Harley.Doesn't mean that what they write in a "tell all" book shouldn't be beyond criticism.
I bought Tom Harley's "inspirational"(not) book several years ago (signed copy too!). Absolute garbage, I thought. Pearls of so called wisdom that came straight out of a school text book.
Haha. There's no way I could remember that far back. I do remember Meto not liking Varcoe too much though.I hope you're not referring to me not that I actually mind because I remember using my original account and I reckon I wrote about 20 different hateful posts aimed towards Varcoe. Hours later I created a thread saying all of Geelongs players are stars and one individual posted in it with all 20 posts of what I said about Varcoe
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...e-greatest-team-of-all.1033875/#post-30297057
#everyones16once
I came across an excerpt from the book yesterday in an AFL feed on Facebook, the one where SJ claims Chris Scott wouldn't look him in the eye at training, and how he knew something was going on. This was then confirmed when Steve Hocking called Johnson in for a meeting to tell him his time at Geelong was over. It was clear from the excerpt that Johnson didn't think much of Chris Scott, but in the same breath he sang Scott's praises claiming he dropped into his home with a six pack of beer to talk over things and clear the air. Johnson wrote that he found this to be courageous.
It was like Johnson was having it both ways. If that excerpt is any indication I'm not sure we'll learn too much.
Gerard Whateley straight up said that's why he was let go. Whateley could be wrong, but he's pretty plugged in at Geelong.
Yes! Dreadful book! And I’ve got a lot of time for Harley.
So long as you ignore the fact Gaz has maybe 1 season left in him and Motlop, at 26 has the majority of his career infront of him still. Then yes, GAJ is a good replacement for Motlop![]()
I never warmed to Chappy. Seemed a bit of a flog, and not in a fun way like Stevie J.Stuff like this ..makes it clear that its no easy job that Scott inherited. There may be some that say he had the team and all he had to do was sit and eat salad sandwiches.. but a lot ego and and opinions get generated with success. For mine , some of these guys need to see the big picture..of course SJ was selfish at times... any money man needs to be a bit selfish , needs to have a green light to try stuff and that sometimes will come across as selfish, ironically id say at times Chappy call ed be accused of the same flaw. I loved both of these guys because they were willing to play the big moment ..and along with that comes an occasional inward looking action.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...y/news-story/e8553b06fba7caa526c1b73d6b3e5c88
Also interesting that SJ said to day that he was very happy to see Ablett back at Geelong.. that if theu were going to back peddle on their recent approach.. Ablett would be the one to do it for.
maybe...I never warmed to Chappy. Seemed a bit of a flog, and not in a fun way like Stevie J.
I never warmed to Chappy. Seemed a bit of a flog, and not in a fun way like Stevie J.
Loved him as a player, seemed like a shit bloke. I'd say on field he was more selfish than Stevie J too.maybe...
but id take some of that flog in the FP last year for sure...
Well not him specifically but what he brought to the table... 9 games a season missed with injury and suspension and probably 40 goals - and some real hardness.
Go Catters