News 2018 AFL Fixture

- It's cold and soulless.
- The deal we got shafted with from the outset. Didn't see a profit for many years.
- You can't see the nearest boundary line from the third deck.
- The surface is shit and not good for the players.
- The stadium announcer's voice.
- The roof when open/sun glare.
- It faces E/W when it shouldn't.
- The post-game bottleneck is compounded by people getting to trains, trams AND the city car parks.
- Food more expensive than at the 'G.
- No green spaces.
- Screens are embarrassingly small by 2017 standards.
- Collo
- Car park cost ($25 to the 'G's $10).
- We seem to "host" Etihad tenants there which is no advantage at all.
- Harder to get to (that one's personal).
- It's not the ******* MCG.

Need any more?

It’s a darn sight warmer than the g on a winters night, to say anything different is ridiculous. The G on a sunny day, no stadium in the world beats it.

Never been on the third deck, but what I will say if ur on the third deck at the G you would be at least 30-40 metres further back from the action than you would at Etihad

Nothing wrong with the surface nowadays, it’s like carpet. Early years, yes it was diabolical

Announcers voice......umm, rightio [emoji15]

G faces east/west also...but why does it matter? No sun gets on the ground at th G during winter either....so Etihad bought grass growing heat lamps - see answer to point 3 above

50k of people moving out of any stadium in the world at the same time will cause bottlenecks...get some patience dude

Got me on the food point...agree wholeheartedly....but what I will say is that I can buy Fat Yak full strength at a night game, can’t do that at the G unless ur in the MCC members!! I win on that point[emoji3]

Green Spaces? Really? All I’ll say to that is kick the footy to your mates so it doesn’t hit the concrete....only green space needed is within the stadium.... see answer to point 3 above

Screens too small....should have listened to your mum when a teenager...

Collo? No idea how to respond to that

It’s $10 to park at dock lands, stop being a lazy bastard and walk for 5 minutes.....best part of it is you don’t use $15 bucks worth of petrol trying to get out of the car park like you do at the G

No idea what you mean by the next point....

Etihad is ****ing simple to get to, no harder than for the people living in the north or west to get to the G....in fact the 5 minute walk from southern cross to Etihad beats the 10-15 minute walk from Richmond to the g any day

The G is the best ground in the world when at least 2/3 full and the weather is reasonable. The weather is not reasonable in the middle of winter.

- The deal we got shafted with from the outset. Didn't see a profit for many years.
- The post-game bottleneck is compounded by people getting to trains, trams AND the city car parks.
- No green spaces.
- Collo

Need any more?

Couldn't agree more.

- No green spaces.
- Collo

Need any more?
Can't go with that Walshy. I quite like how they've structured the fixture. Outside at the "G" while the weather is still reasonably good and inside when the weather has gone to crap during July & August. If the club offered it, I'd buy an Etihad only membership for home and away games. I'm over sitting on Level 2A at your beloved ****ing "G" with an Antarctic blast roaring up my arse. I'm sick of forking out in excess of $800 bucks for a Premium Membership to have yahoos in the same area who aren't even members pushing past me every 30sec in the quest for yet more ****ing beer, because the ground attendants are too lazy to check tickets. Don't have to put up with any of that crap at Etihad.

I can guarantee you this angle is 100% deliberate...
There are plenty in footy media world mystified Bucks still has the gig, and many of those have an axe to grind with Maguire...it’s a perfect storm made by Maguire himself.

And, if by a miracle, the pies play above themselves they will blame it on the fixture.

Win/Win

So true. Maguire tied his reputation to the succession plan, so Buckley's failure is Maguire's failure. And plenty of people want to see Maguire fail, including it would seem, the journo who wrote the article in question.

I pause to remind myself that this is after all, the HUN we're talking about, where pursuing personal agendas under the thin disguise of writing news stories is quite okay, as long as it makes a good headline and sells papers. :rolleyes:

You betcha! :)

It's going to be a historic occasion and I want to be there.

Some day I want to be able to tell my great-grandchildren "I was there when Richmond unfurled their last flag. You should have heard them. They were so happy back then..."
Very very unlikely at this stage.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/10/31/lyon-blasts-afl-over-friday-night-blues/

Ruccuito was also whinging on Adelaide radio this morning, and his dopey sidekick mate chimed in with the fact that it's a disgrace because we are "a basket case".

I love it.

Is he talking about the same basket case mob who pushed them on the MCG earlier this year and they just managed to brush us off?

Alarm bells for playing finals on the MCG should have been ringing then. Wow, if we are struggling to beat a basket case side on the G, how are we going to go against the finalists on the G?

Is he talking about the same basket case mob who pushed them on the MCG earlier this year and they just managed to brush us off?

Alarm bells for playing finals on the MCG should have been ringing then. Wow, if we are struggling to beat a basket case side on the G, how are we going to go against the finalists on the G?

Sorry didn't make that clear.

It was Chris former squash player, Port Adelaide mouthpiece, opinion on everything Dittmar that called us a basketcase.

Ruccuito just keep repeating about it being a disgrace and rehashed the 2015 cliche example as his reasoning.

Surely this is the Lethlean draw? Gillon’s way of saying “I know you’ll take some heat from Caro and the rest of the media for appointing my mate, so I’ll schedule you on Friday night so you don’t lose sponsorship”.

Anyway, I reckon we will do fine in those games. We’ll beat Collingwood for a start, and I have the Dogs, Tigers (hangover), and Saints as coin tosses. Garry Lyon says Carlton supporters would be embarrassed to have this draw. Not one bit, I say.

loving all this press about us getting 4 friday night games, its going to give the coaches alot of fuel for the fire to get the boys fired up for next year. Go ya hardest carlton haters, were going to have a big year next year, finals is the clear goal and i think we'll get there.

Sorry didn't make that clear.

It was Chris former squash player, Port Adelaide mouthpiece, opinion on everything Dittmar that called us a basketcase.

Ruccuito just keep repeating about it being a disgrace and rehashed the 2015 cliche example as his reasoning.

Cheers, you left out, Chris, good head for radio, Dittmar.

Oh coming from a Port Adelaide person, whose club made the finals due to a dream draw in 2017

Interesting to note that of the 9 night games we play including Thursday, and Saturday only 1 is a home game (Collingwood), so I take it none of the other 8 competing clubs who more then likely requested us as an opponent in these timeslots, have any issues with the increased ratings, crowds etc.

Surely this is the Lethlean draw? Gillon’s way of saying “I know you’ll take some heat from Caro and the rest of the media for appointing my mate, so I’ll schedule you on Friday night so you don’t lose sponsorship”.

Anyway, I reckon we will do fine in those games. We’ll beat Collingwood for a start, and I have the Dogs, Tigers (hangover), and Saints as coin tosses. Garry Lyon says Carlton supporters would be embarrassed to have this draw. Not one bit, I say.

Why would we be embarrassed Lyon is full of it

It’s a darn sight warmer than the g on a winters night, to say anything different is ridiculous. The G on a sunny day, no stadium in the world beats it.

Never been on the third deck, but what I will say if ur on the third deck at the G you would be at least 30-40 metres further back from the action than you would at Etihad

Nothing wrong with the surface nowadays, it’s like carpet. Early years, yes it was diabolical

Announcers voice......umm, rightio [emoji15]

G faces east/west also...but why does it matter? No sun gets on the ground at th G during winter either....so Etihad bought grass growing heat lamps - see answer to point 3 above

50k of people moving out of any stadium in the world at the same time will cause bottlenecks...get some patience dude

Got me on the food point...agree wholeheartedly....but what I will say is that I can buy Fat Yak full strength at a night game, can’t do that at the G unless ur in the MCC members!! I win on that point[emoji3]

Green Spaces? Really? All I’ll say to that is kick the footy to your mates so it doesn’t hit the concrete....only green space needed is within the stadium.... see answer to point 3 above

Screens too small....should have listened to your mum when a teenager...

Collo? No idea how to respond to that

It’s $10 to park at dock lands, stop being a lazy bastard and walk for 5 minutes.....best part of it is you don’t use $15 bucks worth of petrol trying to get out of the car park like you do at the G

No idea what you mean by the next point....

Etihad is ******* simple to get to, no harder than for the people living in the north or west to get to the G....in fact the 5 minute walk from southern cross to Etihad beats the 10-15 minute walk from Richmond to the g any day

The G is the best ground in the world when at least 2/3 full and the weather is reasonable. The weather is not reasonable in the middle of winter.

- Wasn't referring to the literal "cold", but cold in the way of soullessness.

- Surface is still much harder than that of the 'G - many more leg and soft tissue injuries occur on Etihad.

- The difference between the 'G facing west is that the sunlight isn't as harsh as it isn't a closed-off stadium. The 'G is better lit in other parts making it easier on the eyes. Shocking for TV and at the ground at Etihad.

- Difference about the train lines is that some go to Jolimont and others go to Richmond. There's also much more space for punters to spread out walking out of the ground at the 'G. EVERYONE who caught a train to Etihad needs to get to Southern Cross. Undeniable.

- Screens being smaller is a legitimate qualm for some. Honestly, we've all become accustomed to the best, and those screens at Etihad are FAR from the best. I know which ones I prefer to watch replays on.

- But it's $25 to park AT Etihad, and just $10 to park AT the MCG. Cheaper/free parking within walking distance to the MCG, too. Null point.

- The walk to Richmond is comparable t that of Southern Cross - particularly the rate at which the crowd moves coming out of Etihad because of the shocking congestion.

- Did say the ease of access was a personal point, haha!

Anyway I don't like the joint and many agree. Give me 40k at the 'G vs the Crows any day. Those wins we had against them at the MCG in 2013/14 or whenever were great spectacles with a great atmosphere.

Port win in 2015 also an incredible atmosphere from just 23k.

Etihad's still better than Subi though, I'll give it that.

News 2018 AFL Fixture