Analysis 2017 Non-Crows Discussion Thread - Part V for Vendetta

You think it’s a smart move for the club to share their tactics in an open forum? Or will they not actually share anything and you’ve been sucked into giving up $75?

And why would the crowd boo? With Watts in AA form and your secret weapon, won’t you be winning the flag?
No sponsor, China fiasco, free tickets to get people to the last 3 home .... a $75 "convention" ... smells like damage control to me

Hawthorn’s game style was self explanatory.

This is a chance for members to learn from the coaches exactly why we do what we do so they appreciate the roles of various players in our system. What the gamestyle is meant to look like.

It’s a chance for the members who want to learn more about how the football department operates connect with their club.

It’s about educating the members on modern football. The more people that are educated, the more likely it is we won’t hear boos when the players go backwards to reset a play.
Yawn.

It is like paying Nokia to attend a convention on how to be successfull in the modern smart phone market.

You guys are no longer league leaders in anything. Your 18 month window was only on the back of Darren Burgess bringing new ideas. However the league moved in and you guys didn't.

Your off field "vision" is just fluff as well. In a nutshell it is the AFL using you and Gold Coast to try and grow a tv market and you guys piggy backing our State Governments work on China to promote our State there.

Hawthorn did the hard yards and imemted a sustainable business model that has seen them go from a near merger to fully funding a massive state of the art league leading football department complex. This lead to the success they had and they will rise again quite quickly.

You guys are still begging for Facebook likes to get a local government community grant to fund a playground lol.

BTW are you guys really selling 2018 jumpers with a blank sponsor panel? If that is the case maybe you should ask at this convention why after over 4 years of member (and tax payer) funded resources spent in China wooing their commerce leaders why a sponsor was not ready to go to replace Renault straight off the bat?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I don't need to be tagged. I'm psychic cause I know whatever I post will end up back here.

I’ll get back to you once I attend the Port members convention - the coaches might not see his role the same way I do.

Wingard, Robbie Gray, possibly Thomas. Creative as in can create space and goals out of nothing.
Why bother coming over here if what we post doesn’t affect you ;)

Hawthorn’s game style was self explanatory.

This is a chance for members to learn from the coaches exactly why we do what we do so they appreciate the roles of various players in our system. What the gamestyle is meant to look like.

It’s a chance for the members who want to learn more about how the football department operates connect with their club.

It’s about educating the members on modern football. The more people that are educated, the more likely it is we won’t hear boos when the players go backwards to reset a play.
You know, you really should be educated by people who actually know stuff about the subject.

Yawn.

It is like paying Nokia to attend a convention on how to be successfull in the modern smart phone market.

You guys are no longer league leaders in anything. Your 18 month window was only on the back of Darren Burgess bringing new ideas. However the league moved in and you guys didn't.

Your off field "vision" is just fluff as well. In a nutshell it is the AFL using you and Gold Coast to try and grow a tv market and you guys piggy backing our State Governments work on China to promote our State there.

Hawthorn did the hard yards and imemted a sustainable business model that has seen them go from a near merger to fully funding a massive state of the art league leading football department complex. This lead to the success they had and they will rise again quite quickly.

You guys are still begging for Facebook likes to get a local government community grant to fund a playground lol.

BTW are you guys really selling 2018 jumpers with a blank sponsor panel? If that is the case maybe you should ask at this convention why after over 4 years of member (and tax payer) funded resources spent in China wooing their commerce leaders why a sponsor was not ready to go to replace Renault straight off the bat?

:fire::fire::fire:
The burning truth.

Favourite sons? What a dick. Thommo played some junior footy at Port but is a club legend at the Crows and somehow he’s their favourite son?

love this reply

"Like myself Scott Thompson played for North haven and juniors at the filthy mangrove cesspool ..favourite son ffs you really are the greatest jizzmop the afl world has seen ...keep stealing the magpies tradition its funny #FOYP"

Favourite sons? What a dick. Thommo played some junior footy at Port but is a club legend at the Crows and somehow he’s their favourite son?
Its a tongue in cheek comment designed to get a reaction so media ( Rucci ) can tut-tut about how the fun police are out in force ( or the internet bullies)

We needed leverage for the Gibbs trade and we thought Lyons would get us a second rounder. We low balled him and when Gold Coast gave him a decent offer he was off and our bargaining position was weakened. That was a failing of the club not something worth a pat on the back. Roo even said we wanted a second and tried to spin the third round pick was effectively a second.

Lyons kept Douglas out of the midfield and even this year when Douglas had a good year, Lyons stats have him mostly covered.

This whole bullshit that Lyons year is downgraded because he played for Gold Coast is just Crows supporters trying to vindicate their original opinions and the clubs decision. He didn’t play against his own teammates, he played against quality opposition as a key component of Gold Coasts midfield and did well, full stop.

He desperately wanted to stay. We didn't want him. Maybe he could have been a part of the Gibbs trade, but no other team in the AFL wanted him either. GC Suns weren't particularly interested, but late in the day they offered a pick they'd be unlikely to use so they had another mature body. They didn't offer him much cash, just an opportunity for a disastrous side where he'd get a run.

Douglas carried injuries in 2016, your idea that they were both fighting for a midfield spot is complete rubbish. We wanted Douglas to offer more in the forward line, he had half a dozen mediocre weeks - if we genuinely thought Lyons was a competitor for Douglas' spit, we would have had at least a mild interest in keeping him. And if he was that quality, at least one side would have be interested in getting him.

Instead, he was gifted minutes in a terrible team he wouldn't have gotten anywhere else. Good on him as he seems like a really good guy.

love this reply

"Like myself Scott Thompson played for North haven and juniors at the filthy mangrove cesspool ..favourite son ffs you really are the greatest jizzmop the afl world has seen ...keep stealing the magpies tradition its funny #FOYP"

Jizzmop

Lol
:D

He desperately wanted to stay. We didn't want him. Maybe he could have been a part of the Gibbs trade, but no other team in the AFL wanted him either. GC Suns weren't particularly interested, but late in the day they offered a pick they'd be unlikely to use so they had another mature body. They didn't offer him much cash, just an opportunity for a disastrous side where he'd get a run.

Douglas carried injuries in 2016, your idea that they were both fighting for a midfield spot is complete rubbish. We wanted Douglas to offer more in the forward line, he had half a dozen mediocre weeks - if we genuinely thought Lyons was a competitor for Douglas' spit, we would have had at least a mild interest in keeping him. And if he was that quality, at least one side would have be interested in getting him.

Instead, he was gifted minutes in a terrible team he wouldn't have gotten anywhere else. Good on him as he seems like a really good guy.
Some times you really should not post on topics you don’t have a clue about.

I received a PM on Sept 6 stating we were lowballing him and there were two clubs willing to pay $200k a year more than us, one of those clubs was Gold Coast. Their interest wasn’t late, they played it beautifully. They sat back whilst we pushed him out the door thinking we could use him in the Gibbs trade as he would bring a decent pick back. Then late in the piece they offered us a third and got him cheap. We even acknowledged we wanted more.

Douglas was carrying injuries in 2016? Really? Name them.

We moved on Lyons because we had similar players, thought we were getting Gibbs and we believed he had trade value but we were played. Why did we think he had trade value? Because he was average? It doesn’t work that way.

Gifted minutes? What an idiotic comment. Did we gift him minutes when we were trying to win a flag in 2016? And even if he was gifted minutes he performed well against quality midfields, if he wasn’t decent despite being “gifted” minutes he would not have played well. It’s a pretty basic concept.

Yawn.

Can I ask you a question?

At what point did you realise that you had made a massive mistake in supporting Adelaide over Port? All your posts ever talk about is how 'popular' Adelaide is with sponsors and how much money you have and the business side of football when it should be about the fact that your club is meant to be part of the community. Which the AFC has proven time and time again that they have massive contempt for because it's run by the likes of Chapman.

Newsflash: no one at Port Adelaide gives a shit about the Crows. In fact, Adam Thomson who works in the Commercial Department told me that they have a policy at Port Adelaide to never talk shit about AFC because quite frankly you're irrelevant to what we are doing. You lot like to do that because it makes you feel superior, but it just makes you look insecure.

Oh, and we are selling jumpers without a second sponsor because most companies don't make sponsorship decisions in November when there is literally no air time for their branding so there is little ROI. But we don't want to miss out on potential Christmas sales.

At what point did you realise that you had made a massive mistake in supporting Adelaide over Port? All your posts ever talk about is how 'popular' Adelaide is with sponsors and how much money you have and the business side of football when it should be about the fact that your club is meant to be part of the community. Which the AFC has proven time and time again that they have massive contempt for because it's run by the likes of Chapman.

Newsflash: no one at Port Adelaide gives a shit about the Crows. In fact, Adam Thomson who works in the Commercial Department told me that they have a policy at Port Adelaide to never talk shit about AFC because quite frankly you're irrelevant to what we are doing. You lot like to do that because it makes you feel superior, but it just makes you look insecure.

Oh, and we are selling jumpers without a second sponsor because most companies don't make sponsorship decisions in November when there is literally no air time for their branding so there is little ROI. But we don't want to miss out on potential Christmas sales.
Massive mistake? Ask Tribey how that feels.

Seriously you are such a tool.

Stop posting.

Just curious How many times does your club contact you directly thru Email, tex, Phone calls invites.
How many times a year does your CEO send out statements to you. PS, I know the Answer but just curious if you do.
Because the Crows manage to contact its members via email or Tex and even the return phones calls to queries more than any other AFL club in the competition.
I have even received several return calls from Fagan after I queried some issues. and 1 so far from Burton a very good conversation.
MY club talks to me how much does your club talk to you. And yet you say that my Club shows contempt to me and my fellow supporters without proof or basis to your argument.
For someone so hot on stats, I would have thought you would have checked.
MY CLUB TALKS TO ME DOES YOURS. and does not ask for money to do so. interesting

G'day folks.

This is a crows question, but i didn't want to start a new thread and I couldn't find any general discussion type threads.

Question: Do any of you folks know the actual amount of the SANFL (Adelaide Crows) 1990 AFL licence fee?

I see that it was tabled that Port were given a $1.5 million fee price, but I assume the Crows paid more.

Thanks.

Yeah I was a Port Magpies member till One club. Before that I remember Tim Ginevar and George Fiacci saying they would never be the Port Power Reserves at an AGM. The same ATM us members voted to buy the Prince of Wales Pub. And that purchase would stop it happening. Membership at a real.club means the members vote on such things. Not pay $75 to listen to Propoganda and nod their heads in agreement at the pearls.of wisdom sold to them.

The Crows do plenty of community work. Our club just does not use it as PR. You guys are like BP after the Valdez disaster. BP heavily promoted their environmental works after that. Much like you guys promote community after years of taking from junior Footy via the SANFL having to prop you up instead lf funding their junior footy works (which we are seeing the knock on effect now) and got a bad rep for doing so.. Now you guys use all this "community" spin just like BP does with environmental works. It is week three Corporate Marketing studies for an entity to do such a thing.

The fact Port has to have a policy that states they don't talk about the Crows says a lot. Pretty sad actually. Nice to know we live in your staffers heads rent free.

You have had four years in China and yet no one wants that space on your jumper. As you say the Christmas sales rush is a big time for jumper.sales and getting a logo on the jumpers for that period would add value to the sponsorship. It has been known for a few.months now that Renault were pulling out. If someone was wanting to buy that space it would have happened now. Surely you club has not waited till now to sell that space, as you are suggesting.

With all your contacts in China it should be done.

It is kind of nieve that you think a business would only be approached in November to buy that space and sponsorship package and such entities would be making tbise decisions now. Truth is KT and Kochie would be quite disappointed to have that blank panel in the club jumper right now. They would have been working hard to sell it. But have failed.

Your mate Lockhart Road , who unlike you actually has the ear of people at the club, was on here telling us how the whole China crusade was to stick it up us.

You are on our board, but we’re obsessed?

And how did Port deal with Andrew Hunters tweet about our China Southern Airlines “table scraps”, Ollie Wines on radio saying how much he hates us, Wingard tweeting some shite like #idratherflyalone

Yeah I was a Port Magpies member till One club. Before that I remember Tim G8never and George Fiacci saying they would never be the Port Power Reserves at an AGM. The same ATM us members voted to buy the Prince of Wales Pub. And that purchase would stop it happening. Membership at a real.club means the members vote on such things. Not pay $75 to listen to Propoganda and nod their heads in agreement at the pearls.of wisdom sold to them.

The Crows do plenty of community work. Our club just does not use it as PR. You guys are like BP after the Valdez disaster. BP heavily promoted their environmental works after that. Much like you guys promote community after years of taking from junior Footy via the SANFL having to prop you up instead lf funding their junior footy works (which we are seeing the knock on effect now) and got a bad rep for doing so.. Now you guys use all this "community" spin just like BP does with environmental works. It is week three Corporate Marketing studies for an entity to do such a thing.

The fact Port has to have a policy that states they don't talk about the Crows says a lot. Pretty sad actually. Nice to know we live in your staffers heads rent free.

Still didn't answer my question...or maybe you just did by the fact that you side stepped it :D

And you missed my point - I wasn't talking about 'community work', but being part of the community instead of apart from it and glorified as celebrities. Didn't Walker get a police escort to a pre-season game in Clare once?