List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...

Sounds about right

Pretty decent track record really, given the way player movement is going, although it could obviously be better
The other thing that the doomsdayers seen to conveniently forget as well is the SA boys that have chosen to return here in that time.
Gibbs, Jacobs, Thompson, Betts and Menzel from this years squad alone. Some pretty serious talent there as well.

So i'm watching the U18 Championships this year & Mick Ablett makes the comment ..."Some clubs are amazingly talking Dow as a top 10 pick" ...."he wasn't on clubs radar as a top pick at the start of the season"?

Now we're hearing Dow is in the discussion as a potential #1 pick ?

So with a player like Dow or a Zac Bailey who come from the clouds ......how much is development & how much is a player just having an extraordinary year, a blue moon of a year?
I think that kind of development in their last year is what the recruiters look for tbh. When a player has such exponential development of there game, that they go from relatively unknown to first round, it shows a steep curve of improvement.

Imo, it's the same reason players from the rookie list often develop into stars, more so than latish picks.

Looking at the draft, the 1 with Whitfield and Toumpas both top 5 picks,one could argue the rookie pick ups are just as good as the top 10 picks. That's due to exponential development after being drafted.

The other thing that the doomsdayers seen to conveniently forget as well is the SA boys that have chosen to return here in that time.
Gibbs, Jacobs, Thompson, Betts and Menzel from this years squad alone. Some pretty serious talent there as well.
Doomsdayers? Yeah we have no issue with the serious talent we’ve lost.

Looking at the draft, the 1 with Whitfield and Toumpas both top 5 picks,one could argue the rookie pick ups are just as good as the top 10 picks. That's due to exponential development after being drafted.
Toumpos probably a good example of that extraordinary season in his draft year, that he's never been able to repeat

Even though I watch stuff all u18 footy, I'd rather them in reverse order.
I like all 3 ......so it comes down to need & list balance IMO

Jack PETRUCCELLE supplies Charlie type speed, with a big upside ......Houlahan the SA boy with the high flying marking & above average speed

Probably a discussion for a different thread but...

I know gibbs will definately add something to the team in the next four years but I just can’t get my head around giving up 10 and 16 for him because it looks like there is some real talent in the first round of this draft after all... flame me if you want but I’ve always thought gibbs has been slightly overrated for a no.1 pick.. he’s never even been AA... he’s been the best player in a crap team is about all you really can say.

I really wonder, looking at the players that could potentially fall between pick 10 and 16 (Fogarty a long shot maybe at 10, Clark, bonar, Higgins, Balta etc), whether we should’ve let the whole Gibbs deal slide again and kept our bloody picks..

I guess it all depends how gibbs plays in the next few years before he retires.... but gee potentially adding say Clark, bonar and Balta to the current team and for the next decade with picks 10, 12 and 16 (with these three lads looking likely to fall in this range).. I would like to know everyone’s opinion, would you take that right now instead of Gibbs?...

especially with all three potentially being able to contribute something next season and to be honest our midfield isn’t bad without gibbs... it being the crouch bros who will be even better next year, Sloane, an improved greenwood and knight, Hampton, Douglas getting slower but still there and Milera and gallucci to start firing.. and poholke and some other youngsters yet to show us their potential and hopefully after this preseason being ready to shine. Would love both the names Clark and bonar in that mid list list and Balta in defence/hb
Absolutely agree. If we don’t win a flag in the next 2 years, this will be a terrible choice we made. I think we went all in on a player that I wont make much difference to us. Having put two first rounders into him this year, when we could have had him last year for the same price is just plain stupid. Can’t help but feel that if Gibbs is our missing piece, we missed the boat taking him a year too late. We are a weaker squad after this years trade period despite Gibbs coming in. We are going to look at the players taken at 10 & 16 and compare their career output to the last 4 years of Gibbs career. Frankly, I can’t see much chance of us coming out on top from the trade.

Paid two first rounders?

We gave up Cameron, moved from 10 to 12 and turned 16 into a similar pick in a better draft.

No disrespect, but folks like you are the reason nothing ever changes in Adelaide. Everyone is willing to criticise those that take risks, but no one acknowledges when those risks pay off - or, if they don't, that they were worth taking.

It's a competitive. Don't take risks and you stay mediocre forever.

I like all 3 ......so it comes down to need & list balance IMO

Jack PETRUCCELLE supplies Charlie type speed, with a big upside ......Houlahan the SA boy with the high flying marking & above average speed
Only problem with Petruccelle is that his kicking requires a lot of work. Also needs to find more of the ball, but the upside is definitely there, considering he mainly focused on BBall until recently

There’s a few others that I like for that pick - Brandon Starcevich, Jackson ROSS and Will Walker are a few examples with a lot of upside

Seriously??

We basically gave up Gibbs for Cameron. We also moved down from 10 to 12, 16 to probably 20, and maybe 35 to 38. These pick differences are likely going to mean stuff all in the long run, as the draft, long-term, is very much a lottery (especially from about pick 30 onwards). Gibbs for Cameron is an absolute win, no matter how you look at it, and absolutely helps our squad in our premiership push. If we don’t win next year, we have 3 top 20 picks in a strong draft.

It was a good deal for us

For the record, Landsberger's top 15 as of the weekend

DPD5KDdUEAAcsAs.jpg:large

Clarified that he thinks L Fog goes at pick 14 now, too

Glad to hear we’re keen on Hunter Clark, looks the ideal pick up to me, short of possibly Fogarty falling, but even then. Great size, pace, takes the game on, tough, has proven himself as half back and midfielder and kicks of both legs. I’m a massive fan of guys who can kick off both feet, just opens up so many opportunities when disposing of the footy and can get you out of serious trouble. Clark could potentially slot straight into Smiths half back, before upgrading to the midfield a year later when he returns.

It’s also because Gallucci is uncontracted at the end of this year

He was drafted earlier and has played a game but hasn’t re-sighed; while others drafted later in the same year with no games played have re-signed.

Surely this wouldn’t be through the club’s choice - Gallucci must have refused to re-sign just yet

Hope he is backing himself to have a good year and earn a better contract, as per McGrath. If he was from SA then I would assume that. But unfortunately we’ve got too much form here.

Gallucci’s also about opportunity I think, he’s not going to want to sit anonther year in the magoos. Ours is a tough side to break into at the moment and for a player like Gallucci, if he’s not getting games, there’ll be plenty of interest from Victorian clubs who would give him games.

Probably a discussion for a different thread but...

I know gibbs will definately add something to the team in the next four years but I just can’t get my head around giving up 10 and 16 for him because it looks like there is some real talent in the first round of this draft after all... flame me if you want but I’ve always thought gibbs has been slightly overrated for a no.1 pick.. he’s never even been AA... he’s been the best player in a crap team is about all you really can say.

I really wonder, looking at the players that could potentially fall between pick 10 and 16 (Fogarty a long shot maybe at 10, Clark, bonar, Higgins, Balta etc), whether we should’ve let the whole Gibbs deal slide again and kept our bloody picks..

I guess it all depends how gibbs plays in the next few years before he retires.... but gee potentially adding say Clark, bonar and Balta to the current team and for the next decade with picks 10, 12 and 16 (with these three lads looking likely to fall in this range).. I would like to know everyone’s opinion, would you take that right now instead of Gibbs?...

especially with all three potentially being able to contribute something next season and to be honest our midfield isn’t bad without gibbs... it being the crouch bros who will be even better next year, Sloane, an improved greenwood and knight, Hampton, Douglas getting slower but still there and Milera and gallucci to start firing.. and poholke and some other youngsters yet to show us their potential and hopefully after this preseason being ready to shine. Would love both the names Clark and bonar in that mid list list and Balta in defence/hb

The same could be said every year. I’ve followed the draft closely for over 10 years, every year I look at the draft and go, gee I’d love to have a few more picks this year, you then look back to the draft of 4-5 years ago, even 2 years ago, and think, you know what, most of those guys who looked like superstars haven’t lived up to expectations at all, I’m glad we didn’t end up with players x,y,z.

With regards to giving up 10 and 16, the club would be treating Carlton’s 2nd next year as likely equivalent value to 16, especially if they finish bottom 4 again as expected. Next years the supposed “super draft” with a lot of SA prospects in the top 25. This draft appears to peter out at around 14-15 a little. Essentially it’s Gibbs for 10 which is steep, but again, just wait to you see our midfield in next year with Sloane, Crouch x2, Gibbs and Greenwood in action. Sometimes risks have to be taken.

Personally I just wonder if a similar deal couldn’t have been made last year for Gibbs, would have left us with 10 and 12, plus possibly a pick in the early 20’s, as well as giving us extra year of Gibbs. Will depend a little though on what kind of player Gallucci develops into. All academic now though.

Gee i get pissed when players not even in first round consideration 2 weeks ago .....now is being even discussed for #12 .......lets move on to someone plausible

They’re being talked about because we’re no longer relying on the phantom drafts of amateur draft watchers, but actual possible inside info from the journo’s, inside info that when it comes to draft time, quite often turns out to be pretty accurate. Clubs don’t follow the general order of the media/BigFooty phantom drafts, they quite often have wildly different rankings of players. Remember when Rendell was ridiculed for not only selecting Dangerfield at 10, but then having the gall to let on that they actually ranked him #2 or 3 in the draft? 2 years ago Adelaide picked a guy no one had ever heard of in Doedee with a first round pick, Collingwood did similar in the same draft.

Thus far all we’ve had to go on is the assessments of guys who watch no where near as much junior football and are no where near as well resourced as football club drafting departments. Close to the draft, clubs finalise their lists and word starts to seep out through various channels of who the clubs are interested in. It would not surprise at all if a few of these “not even close to 1st rounders” end up going relatively high in the first round.

James_37
“Personally I just wonder if a similar deal couldn’t have been made last year for Gibbs, would have left us with 10 and 12, plus possibly a pick in the early 20’s, as well as giving us extra year of Gibbs. Will depend a little though on what kind of player Gallucci develops into. All academic now though.”

This is essentially the crux of it all... if we hadve given last years first round plus this years first round up for Gibbs last year... we would now have picks 10 & 12 this year plus Gibbs and possibly had Carlton’s second round last year.. minus Gallucci and this years pick 16. Oh well... hindsight.

Bicks .....your view of Jack PETRUCCELLE for #19

Your Preference at #39:
1. Jack PETRUCCELLE
2. Andrew MCPHERSON
3. Jordan HOULAHAN
It will all depend who we take at 12, I'm speculating it will be a mid/medium HB if Fogarty is off the table. Only tall I could see us looking at that early would be Jarrod Brander who I'm not completely sold on, just does not handle a close checking defender at this time, saw local lad Flynn Appleby giving away 10cm and 10Kg absolutely take him to the cleaners here a couple of months ago.

1. Oscar Claravino KPD [if available]
2. Andrew McPherson HB/Mid
3. Jordan Johnston MF/Mid.....Very similar player to Houlahan a high flyer with a heap of X factor but more aggression and hardness.

Wherever Johnston goes the team that takes him will be getting a special talent...I've been watching him up close for 2 seasons and he is capable of things on a football field most players can only dream about.

Don’t be seduced by the poor footy journalism.
In a nut shell it is pick 10 and a downgrade of picks. Assuming Carlton have another poor year next year, their pick 20-22 in a strong draft will be pretty equal to pick 16 in this draft.
Plus we got pick 12 for Charlie.

In trade period every one wants us to trade trade trade, then come draft time, “why did we do that trade, we need more draft picks?”.

Imo we looked after the immediate need (trading in Gibbs), while securing assets for the long term (a stack of high end draft picks over the next 2 drafts).

James_37
“Personally I just wonder if a similar deal couldn’t have been made last year for Gibbs, would have left us with 10 and 12, plus possibly a pick in the early 20’s, as well as giving us extra year of Gibbs. Will depend a little though on what kind of player Gallucci develops into. All academic now though.”

This is essentially the crux of it all... if we hadve given last years first round plus this years first round up for Gibbs last year... we would now have picks 10 & 12 this year plus Gibbs and possibly had Carlton’s second round last year.. minus Gallucci and this years pick 16. Oh well... hindsight.
No way. Carlton would only accept 2 first rounders last year with nothing coming back. I suggest you look deeper into the trade. We didn’t give up a net value of 2 first rounders. Yes we gave up 2 first rounders but got other valuable picks back in return in a better draft with more SA talent. Plus we got a steal for Charlie.

It will all depend who we take at 12, I'm speculating it will be a mid/medium HB if Fogarty is off the table. Only tall I could see us looking at that early would be Jarrod Brander who I'm not completely sold on, just does not handle a close checking defender at this time, saw local lad Flynn Appleby giving away 10cm and 10Kg absolutely take him to the cleaners here a couple of months ago.

1. Oscar Claravino KPD [if available]
2. Andrew McPherson HB/Mid
3. Jordan Johnston MF/Mid.....Very similar player to Houlahan a high flyer with a heap of X factor but more aggression and hardness.

Wherever Johnston goes the team that takes him will be getting a special talent...I've been watching him up close for 2 seasons and he is capable of things on a football field most players can only dream about.
Bicks - who you rate higher out of Houlahan and Johnston ?

Would it mean we have 2 JJ's ? How can we survive with 2 JJ's haha

Don’t be seduced by the poor footy journalism.
In a nut shell it is pick 10 and a downgrade of picks. Assuming Carlton have another poor year next year, their pick 20-22 in a strong draft will be pretty equal to pick 16 in this draft.
Plus we got pick 12 for Charlie.

In trade period every one wants us to trade trade trade, then come draft time, “why did we do that trade, we need more draft picks?”.

Imo we looked after the immediate need (trading in Gibbs), while securing assets for the long term (a stack of high end draft picks over the next 2 drafts).
Correct and to not have got an experienced good player in after losing Lever and Cameron would have been close to a disaster

We haven't sold the future to get Gibbs , we are swimming in decent picks this year , last 2 years and next year

Bicks - who you rate higher out of Houlahan and Johnston ?

Would it mean we have 2 JJ's ? How can we survive with 2 JJ's haha
Of course I've seen a lot more of Jordan Johnston than Jordan Houlahan but to me their both capable of the mercurial at times, both have heaps of X factor [something that can't be taught], both capable of pulling down towering contested marks over bigger opponents with their equally sticky hands, reckon Johnston has Houlahan covered for agility and ground ball, both dead eye dicks with goal kicking, both equally penetrating and accurate kicks, both have shown some ability to play midfield from limited opportunities in there. On what I've seen Johnston the harder and more aggressive at the man/contest with ground ball.

Houlahan has the higher profile because he's had more exposure at the Championships with Johnston only getting the 1 game for Vic Country which was disappointing, I daresay if Johnston was domiciled in SA he'd have played every game given the relative strength of Vic Country and the SA teams at the Championships this year. Because of Houlahan's higher profile least likely to get through to pick 39 IMO.

Just interested in what any of you think about potentially drafting Lachlan Murphy in the rookie draft? In my opinion I see us using 3 rookie drafts picks, one on Ellis Yolmen, one of Edwards if available and one on someone else, there is at least one chance for Murphy to be added as a rookie, two if Edwards goes national.
This bloke can play, still only 18 years old as he is born in December, top 5 in our SANFL b&f and had a better season than every single player we drafted last year. And he has come back to training this week in great condition and done well in the 2km trial. Must be considered

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...