Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

The crisis made the discussion on 3AW in Melbourne this morning, there seemed to be some confusion between the TSL and a Tassie state side. :rolleyes:

Does anyone think 3AW would know anything about anything outside of Melbourne?

At least something got a mention I guess.

I wonder if they discussed anything about AFL nepotism?? ;)

Burnie has received in principle approval to rejoin the NWFL which is good news for them. I don't think we will see Burnie or Devonport involved in a statewide league ever again. AFL Tasmania's idea of a composite club from the North West has even less chance of happening. Don't they remember the disasters of these heartless soul less clubs like Southern Cats and Western Storm and the travel issue will still be there. In my opinion AFL Tas made no effort at all to assist the coastal teams travel problems despite knowing it was a major problem, there were things they could have done such as playing some games between the southern clubs and the coastal sides in Launceston, this would have been a good outcome for all concerned but they did nothing. I have a feeling that 1 or 2 of the southern clubs may go back to regional footy as well, possibly even before this season starts but an even bigger chance to happen next year and if they do its all over. Its basically become a southern league anyway and with the 2 northern clubs now set to raid the coast of its best players from now on what chance will they have to compete in such an unbalanced league.

Congratulations to Brett Stubbs for his article in today’s Mercury "With State League in crisis. Afl treats Tasmanians as imbeciles ARE YOU SERIOUS GIL"

Unfortunately hidden behind a paywall online. Two good points

“In the middle of this(Crisis) AFL Tasmania’s chief executive Rob Auld announces he has been promoted to AFL house in Melbourne, where his brother, Travis is pretty much second in charge to AFL Boss Gillion McLaughlin. The position as AFL Tasmania CEO was not advertised with Trisha Squires immediately appointed as his replacement from within the Organisation a. And Mclaughlin comes out and says nothing to see here? Are you serious Gil “

“To Promote the codes top administrator in its biggest crisis since the reintroduction of the state league in 2009 shows how little attention the AFL gives or cares about Tasmanian football. Its appalling timing

Hats off to you Brett unfortunately your AFL accreditation will probably be pulled as Mr McLaughlin is the equivalent of Kim Jong-un in Australian Sports he and his organisation is accountable to no one.

Congratulations to Brett Stubbs for his article in today’s Mercury "With State League in crisis. Afl treats Tasmanians as imbeciles ARE YOU SERIOUS GIL"

Unfortunately hidden behind a paywall online. Two good points

“In the middle of this(Crisis) AFL Tasmania’s chief executive Rob Auld announces he has been promoted to AFL house in Melbourne, where his brother, Travis is pretty much second in charge to AFL Boss Gillion McLaughlin. The position as AFL Tasmania CEO was not advertised with Trisha Squires immediately appointed as his replacement from within the Organisation a. And Mclaughlin comes out and says nothing to see here? Are you serious Gil “

“To Promote the codes top administrator in its biggest crisis since the reintroduction of the state league in 2009 shows how little attention the AFL gives or cares about Tasmanian football. Its appalling timing

Hats off to you Brett unfortunately your AFL accreditation will probably be pulled as Mr McLaughlin is the equivalent of Kim Jong-un in Australian Sports he and his organisation is accountable to no one.

I was surprised with the article. I didnt think the 'Muckery' would have the balls!!!!

Its about time they stood up for our football. Next is the Politicians turn. They've been a pathetic AFL cheer squad so far. Let see if they too can grow a pair. :)

Burnie has received in principle approval to rejoin the NWFL which is good news for them. I don't think we will see Burnie or Devonport involved in a statewide league ever again. AFL Tasmania's idea of a composite club from the North West has even less chance of happening. Don't they remember the disasters of these heartless soul less clubs like Southern Cats and Western Storm and the travel issue will still be there. In my opinion AFL Tas made no effort at all to assist the coastal teams travel problems despite knowing it was a major problem, there were things they could have done such as playing some games between the southern clubs and the coastal sides in Launceston, this would have been a good outcome for all concerned but they did nothing. I have a feeling that 1 or 2 of the southern clubs may go back to regional footy as well, possibly even before this season starts but an even bigger chance to happen next year and if they do its all over. Its basically become a southern league anyway and with the 2 northern clubs now set to raid the coast of its best players from now on what chance will they have to compete in such an unbalanced league.

Agree, we don't want to lose any more clubs. Great they can continue on. The best thing would have been a balanced competition of 8 clubs in 2 conferences to limit travel. But even more, it needed funding to make the players efforts worth while. Its only administrators who take the bulk of the money from the AFL, our Government & sponsors. The clubs were dying slowly from within.

That AFLTas were 'blind sided' says it all about their total incompetence to run football, let alone a professional organisation of any standing. Maybe they could manage a nursery, specialising in growing weeds. :)

I think I know why The Mercury would go the AFL now... it's election time!

This will soon spin into how much money the Tassie Government are pouring into aussie rules (local and AFL)? Is the state getting bang for buck? Something for the pollies to argue over and plenty of easy copy for journos to write.

I think I know why The Mercury would go the AFL now... it's election time!

This will soon spin into how much money the Tassie Government are pouring into aussie rules (local and AFL)? Is the state getting bang for buck? Something for the pollies to argue over and plenty of easy copy for journos to write.

All the Government money goes into AFLTas. What do you think comes back out to community footy?

Their is no bang in the real world of club footy. Its all about the AFLTas office & some pretence at elite development.

the mercury has been silent for years, great mates with Wade (Smith and Bresnehan are confirmed Clarence supporters &/Stubbs is a kingston Boy ) so when the bleeding obvious happens Stubbs writes stuff.
Stubbs has a lifetime ban from going to any Hobart fc games, as we hold him responsible for the near death of our footyclub,
It was his constant attack through the Merc , front and back page , telling everyone we 'were gone " ( we were financially ok )
Just lost all players

the mercury has been silent for years, great mates with Wade (Smith and Bresnehan are confirmed Clarence supporters &/Stubbs is a kingston Boy ) so when the bleeding obvious happens Stubbs writes stuff.
Stubbs has a lifetime ban from going to any Hobart fc games, as we hold him responsible for the near death of our footyclub,
It was his constant attack through the Merc , front and back page , telling everyone we 'were gone " ( we were financially ok )
Just lost all players
Banned from the clubrooms and changerooms after his antics yes.
Not banned from the TCA itself though, Council owns the ground not HFC.
Not that they report on SFL footy anyway.

My old cricket coach Peter DiVenuto (Michael's brother, respected cricket coach and ex TFL player) was given a fair crack on SEN the other day to address the tassie footy crisis after he made an impassioned plea to various quarters on facebook. Should be on some form of SEN podcast if anyone wanted to listen.

Read with interest where clubs are meeting with AFL Tas on Thursday seeking answers and direction.

Not sure what the outcomes will be but hope it is productive and provides clubs certainty on the direction and viability of the competition.

Read with interest where clubs are meeting with AFL Tas on Thursday seeking answers and direction.

Not sure what the outcomes will be but hope it is productive and provides clubs certainty on the direction and viability of the competition.

It must be a tough job as CEO of AFLTas. You have to talk to Media & Clubs & sound like you give a toss about Tasmanian football, make bland general positive comment, not promise anything concrete, not spend any money above the minimum subsistence level , do as you are told by Gil & don't annoy him either.

Gil has important work. The Launch of AFL Xtrordinary crap & promote AFLW above the health of community football, men & women.

Something something about Nero & Rome burning etc etc.

It must be a tough job as CEO of AFLTas. You have to talk to Media & Clubs & sound like you give a toss about Tasmanian football, make bland general positive comment, not promise anything concrete, not spend any money above the minimum subsistence level , do as you are told by Gil & don't annoy him either.

Gil has important work. The Launch of AFL Xtrordinary crap & promote AFLW above the health of community football, men & women.

Something something about Nero & Rome burning etc etc.

Understand the sentiment but I hope the meeting provides the clubs and public assurance the State League is here to stay.

If it doesn't clubs will need to start to look elsewhere to ensure their long term survival.

Understand the sentiment but I hope the meeting provides the clubs and public assurance the State League is here to stay.

If it doesn't clubs will need to start to look elsewhere to ensure their long term survival.

Well this is the point. We do hope for 'a plan'. Something concrete with objectives & goals etc, things one can measure. I & I'm sure may others are sick of the dribble & platitudes we have been fed for far too long.

Reading the 'Muckery' this morning just shows the disappointment of people like Max Brown, also the comment about the limited financial input of the AFL.

They spent more money on AFLX than is spend on Tasmanian Football.

Sums it all up.

Don't get me started about the CEO earning $700000 more than the amount allocted to the SWL.

They spent more money on AFLX than is spend on Tasmanian Football.

Sums it all up.

Don't get me started about the CEO earning $700000 more than the amount allocted to the SWL.

The punters will decide about AFLX. It might suck the kids in a bit. Maybe they think they can challenge soccer with it. Who knows. Who cares.

Well this is the point. We do hope for 'a plan'. Something concrete with objectives & goals etc, things one can measure. I & I'm sure may others are sick of the dribble & platitudes we have been fed for far too long.
Must admit, years ago when Wade came out and said "we don't care about bums on seats, crowd numbers" etc and their decision to rewrite the history books as it were by refusing to use the historical TFL records, constantly chop and change the makeup of it that was the red-flag to me that they've done a half-arsed, rushed job of all of this and sold the clubs a pup about this competition.
Yes, we know crowds are poor, but why aren't they releasing crowd figures each week?
It'd give a clearer gauge each year as to how it was travelling with the public and what changes would be needed to promote it more effectively to get the public behind it (too lazy to promote it).
Using the historical records from the TFL would've given it a bit more of a traditional feel and given it a bit of a spark and prestige.
It has zero spark. At all.
All it currently is is a nine year old competition which has been mismanaged from day one, that has seen so many changes that it would fill a War & Peace novel, endless duds at the top, a failure to listen or learn at every turn.
One that has almost no public interest, no media interest apart from when crises happen or a couple of coaches have spats in the paper to rally interest, anecdotally the lowest attendances at Tier One level in this state in at least a century, and five clubs gone in five years.
Boy oh boy, those of us that were here in 1997-99 and saw the carnage of the previous competition thought we wouldn't see lower than that, well it is now because not only is the top level struggling but so is grass roots footy.
How many clubs have gone out of Tasmania in the last 20 years? About 70.
Christ we can't afford to many more of these "crises" or else the sport will be gone totally.

New AFL Tasmania CEO Trisha Squires has called for action from AFL House. see letter here
Video announcement here

As KingPin mentioned above easy to be disillusioned we have seen it before and the last three to five years SWL has been in free fall.

I for one hope its more than spin last chance Saloon Tassie Footy..

No doubt AFL Tas will tell the clubs all is rosy and there is nothing to worry about. In my opinion the current make-up of the league is unsustainable with half the states population represented by 2 teams and the other half having to come up with 5 teams. Both Launceston teams are very strong and I think Launceston will be the benchmark of the league this year as their rapidly improving list from last year will be topped up by Thorp, Riley and Beau Sharman from Devonport as well as some very talented youngsters from Burnie. The 2 Launy teams can already be pencilled in to finish first and second and its not beyond the realms of possibility that none of the southern teams will be able to beat either of them this year, and if that occurs the competition will be in real trouble. The only hope to retain the TSL as a viable competition is to get another team out of Launceston, a single combined team from the coast and unfortunately one will have to go from the south and that would create a 4 North/4 South team competition. I would think at least one northern club would strongly resist the idea of a third team in Launceston as they have done in the past and the chances of another team from the coast is very remote in my opinion.

They should have let Ulverstone in the first place as a hedge to other two coastal teams.
South should never have been allowed to leave either.
If they are serious about the state league, they should be courting these two clubs very hard.
I suspect the mentality from HQ is that any new club should come to them seeking admission, which is the wrong tact in my view.