Toast Geelong - going pokies free

First please allow this Bulldog a little intrusion into your board. Thanks for giving us Steven King and Joel Corey as assistant coaches. Good blokes and bloody good teachers.

But that’s not why I’m here. I’m a member of the Alliance for Gambling Reform. We’re trying to limit the relentless spread of pokies across our state, which is a constant struggle as even though local councils and the AFL are generally against them, both Labor and the Libs get massive kickbacks from Aristocrat, Hotels Australia and James Packer etc to keep them addicted to that sweet, evil pokie revenue.

I was fascinated by this article in The Age. It’s a fabulous model of club financing. I came here to thank anyone who contributed. It means a lot to this gambling addict and to our organisation. Even if you didn’t contribute with the intention of getting rid of pokies, you did. That’s a wonderful thing.

How many of you did chip in and how did the club make you aware of what they were up to?

For those who don’t know, I ran for the Bulldogs board on an anti-pokies ticket this year and gave a robust speech at the AGM. I didn’t get very far with Pete Gordon & the crew but I hope I got them thinking.

You can read about my journey here:

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/a-favour-to-ask.1183726/

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/north-melbourne-proudly-pokie-free.1185118

And here
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...o-give-up-pokie-machines-20180123-h0myfk.html

This is my association’s website:

http://www.pokiesplayyou.org.au/

Thanks all

Thanks for the information.

The club I believe opened the Debt Abolition to everyone but and it was some benefactors that really pushed it through.

The club has long been pushing the removal of Pokie machines and as I understand has removed some with more to go.

Its hard for an organisation that thrives on revenue to walk away from easy money - and yes its a credit to the club for doing so.

Lets hope they continue the trend.

GO Catters

Spazz Cat

Jun 10, 2013
Meanwhile at Hawthorn....
IMG_0897.JPG

Nov 7, 2010
308 Negra Arroyo Lane Albuquerque New Mexico
WADA
First please allow this Bulldog a little intrusion into your board. Thanks for giving us Steven King and Joel Corey as assistant coaches. Good blokes and bloody good teachers.

But that’s not why I’m here. I’m a member of the Alliance for Gambling Reform. We’re trying to limit the relentless spread of pokies across our state, which is a constant struggle as even though local councils and the AFL are generally against them, both Labor and the Libs get massive kickbacks from Aristocrat, Hotels Australia and James Packer etc to keep them addicted to that sweet, evil pokie revenue.

I was fascinated by this article in The Age. It’s a fabulous model of club financing. I came here to thank anyone who contributed. It means a lot to this gambling addict and to our organisation. Even if you didn’t contribute with the intention of getting rid of pokies, you did. That’s a wonderful thing.

How many of you did chip in and how did the club make you aware of what they were up to?

For those who don’t know, I ran for the Bulldogs board on an anti-pokies ticket this year and gave a robust speech at the AGM. I didn’t get very far with Pete Gordon & the crew but I hope I got them thinking.

You can read about my journey here:

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/a-favour-to-ask.1183726/

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/north-melbourne-proudly-pokie-free.1185118

And here
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...o-give-up-pokie-machines-20180123-h0myfk.html

This is my association’s website:

http://www.pokiesplayyou.org.au/

Thanks all
I love the pokies,pokie palaces RSL's and casinos,bloody do gooders just need to butt out,you don't like them DON'T F--KING PLAY THEM,but stay out of my bloody life.

May 20, 2014
I love the pokies,pokie palaces RSL's and casinos,bloody do gooders just need to butt out,you don't like them DON'T F--KING PLAY THEM,but stay out of my bloody life.

Oooh you would really love the Tasmanian election campaign.

Labor/greens trying to ban them. Liberals running really cringeworthy pro pokies ads.

Personally couldn't care less either way.

Catsace

Apr 15, 2007
Golden State Warriors
Pokie addict here...well i was when playing them from the late 90's until 2014, but i also kind of think a little like You Pick One. It was my choice to play them...although despite being a lifelong Geelong resident i hardly ever played at K.P. I had to get my head around the reality that i was simply no good at playing them. Time and again people all 'round me would be getting features and jackpots, but i would foolishly think that i would 'get my turn'.

It doesn't work like that sadly, they do extract your money unless you are lucky (or talented in gambling), and obviously there were a few people who would win big. Not sure if those people were just occasional punters who would luck out when i'd be there or regulars...but perhaps like smoking, drinking etc it is a legal thing and it is caveat emptor i guess.

In any case now, and as a person who has not played them for 46 months, i get my pokie jollies for free now on the facebook apps. same games, same music, and for me it's even very similar excitement. Ande they cost nothing to play. I also write regularly on the 'Gambling Help Online' forum and i do reckon those are a way people can be weaned off playing the real things. I actually lose almost all the time on the free ones anyway, so that just confirms that as a pokie player goes, i'd be delisted if there was a draft for pokie playing talent and winning ability.

Just as insidious is the online international casinos, where they also take your money and you don't even leave your PC.....i also played them for a few years but as with the venue-based machines, they take your money and leave you broke. That may be a danger...simply substituting money lost in Australia to venues that at least employ Aussies for losing them on online sites that take your money overseas with no taxes, anything.

Pokie addict here...well i was when playing them from the late 90's until 2014, but i also kind of think a little like You Pick One. It was my choice to play them...although despite being a lifelong Geelong resident i hardly ever played at K.P. I had to get my head around the reality that i was simply no good at playing them. Time and again people all 'round me would be getting features and jackpots, but i would foolishly think that i would 'get my turn'.

It doesn't work like that sadly, they do extract your money unless you are lucky (or talented in gambling), and obviously there were a few people who would win big. Not sure if those people were just occasional punters who would luck out when i'd be there or regulars...but perhaps like smoking, drinking etc it is a legal thing and it is caveat emptor i guess.

In any case now, and as a person who has not played them for 46 months, i get my pokie jollies for free now on the facebook apps. same games, same music, and for me it's even very similar excitement. Ande they cost nothing to play. I also write regularly on the 'Gambling Help Online' forum and i do reckon those are a way people can be weaned off playing the real things. I actually lose almost all the time on the free ones anyway, so that just confirms that as a pokie player goes, i'd be delisted if there was a draft for pokie playing talent and winning ability.

Just as insidious is the online international casinos, where they also take your money and you don't even leave your PC.....i also played them for a few years but as with the venue-based machines, they take your money and leave you broke. That may be a danger...simply substituting money lost in Australia to venues that at least employ Aussies for losing them on online sites that take your money overseas with no taxes, anything.

Good luck mate. I stopped all gambling for a year, but then a family member went through a health crisis & I've had a few lapses. If you play the pokies long enough you always lose, because you're up against a computer algorithm that is programmed to take your money. Strangely, because I've only played 6 times in the last year, I'm slightly ahead. But that's an anomaly

Strangely, because I've only played 6 times in the last year, I'm slightly ahead. But that's an anomaly
That's the only time anyone will ever come out ahead.

Nov 7, 2010
WADA
You have to be disciplined set your loss acceptability for a session as well as a time limit to play,I also walk away if I get to triple my stake.If you can't walk away while you are in front you shouldn't start.
Never play hungry thirsty or tied,don't consume alcohol,and don't sit next to the hottest little honey in the house.

Dec 11, 2009

Respect your opinion, and right to play, but there’s two sides to every debate.

As someone who’s worked in hospitality, and all too often watched people urinating in the chair, spending money you know they haven’t got etc because they simply can’t leave it suggests there’s too many who simply can’t stop playing them, and that’s the issue. Not the playing in itself, but the addiction.

Not the playing in itself, but the addiction.
Well yeah. If pokie machines only existed in fish and chip shots and were only played by people waiting for their fry up, nobody would complain - even if they only returned 5 cents in every dollar. We'd all be happy with that. But they dont, they're human bear traps. Most people avoid them, but some get caught horrendously, bleeding money until they gnaw their own leg off.

Benny78

BeanCoiNFT Investor
Apr 4, 2016
Australia
Ken Hinkley

hahahahaha you know they're programmed to rob you yeah? They sucker idiots into thinking they can win. They're literally cruel and deceptive towards idiots
with no basic comprehension of anything.

The type of animal who could even write in such algorithms needs to be shot in the head. The only people who like them are those too stupid to understand how they work and why they're designed to work that way.

Nov 7, 2010
WADA
hahahahaha you know they're programmed to rob you yeah? They sucker idiots into thinking they can win. They're literally cruel and deceptive towards idiots
with no basic comprehension of anything.

The type of animal who could even write in such algorithms needs to be shot in the head. The only people who like them are those too stupid to understand how they work and why they're designed to work that way.
There are plenty of ways to part a fool and his money,I've handed the lot over to a coulple of xwives who are also programmed to rob you,now that's cruel and deceptive and they haven't ban marriage?Now with the pokies Ive never lost more than $200 in one week,I play no more than once a week,I play $2 a hit,some times I'm gone in half an hour $200 short other times with a pocket full and a cheque to cash the next day,best day 3 minutes $17,000 + collected and walked out as usual.Most of my trip down to watch the Cats are pokies funded,I up grade sounders and GPS units on the boat,BBQ freezer washing machine all from wins,heaps of stuff. Discipline play with petty cash play minimum $1 and take wins OVER TRIPPLE YOUR STAKE AND GO IE IF YOU GO IN WITH 100 YOUR OUT OF THERE WHEN YOU HIT 300 don't win and feed it back, which is the reason people go belly up.

I love a bet but don’t understand the appeal of pokies at all. Guaranteed losses over the long run for just pushing a button? No thanks.

As for the societal issue, there are ways you *could* manage them better rather than getting rid of them altogether. You can have gamers pre-commit to their limit when they enter a venue and once they hit that limit that’s it. You can even have all venues linked so the poor sod can’t go to another venue once the limit is reached. But all of this is in the too hard basket politically.

I believe people should be free to do anything they like with the money they have earned provided it is legal,welfare money shouldn't find it's way into gambling, drugs or alcohol.I'd support action in that area.
We regulate all sorts of things where people end up doing harm to themselves and others. This is no different.

Landgraft

Dec 18, 2016
I believe people should be free to do anything they like with the money they have earned provided it is legal,welfare money shouldn't find it's way into gambling, drugs or alcohol.I'd support action in that area.
This is a minefield to discuss but suffice to say I strenuously disagree with segregating the purchasing power of different citizens like this. It will not have the intended outcome or any good outcomes at all.

I'm in the not understanding pokies part, seems boring as batshit to me.
But plenty of things I do probably are boring to others. Each to their own, if you want to play them then that's nothing to do with me.

It is a shame so many people get hooked and sit there chasing the win that really will never happen for then if they are playing so much.. but there are demons in all facets of life

Spazz Cat

Jun 10, 2013
Alcohol? should the Club be going dry,far more damaging than pokies.
Yeah where does it stop. It's hypocritical for someone like me to say ban pokies when I like drinking and betting at the TAB.
It's strange I have an addictive personality but have never liked the pokies at all. Just don't get it + always hate the dark lighting they have in pokie venues.
There's definitely something about them though. I have known so many people who've loved them and when I was a kid I remember the grandparents always going with a bus load of other oldies up to Moama just to play em.
I think not being able to smoke anymore while playing them is a good thing, I would probably ban that button you press when you want a drink too as I don't think that's good.
People need a break after a while just to stop and think about what they're doing.