Play Nice North Melbourne - 2018 and beyond

North have to give the fans something to cheer about...
The Carlton and melbourne rebuild both focused on making it really hard for opposition to score heavily while the strengthening the playing group and game style but the fans are fed up with not having enough to cheer about I reckon.
During the s**t years at Richmond we always had Richo and a bit later on Delidio to be proud of.
I know Scott has talked it down in the past and tried to focus on other more tangible KPI's but the shin boner spirit is something to be proud of and it is a North thing.

North need to address the loss of their senior core of players in Harvey, Dal Santo, Swallow and Petrie.

They focussed too much on topping up and have no midfielders of a Swallow or Dal Santo calibre or the leadership Harvey brought to the team.

What? Brown is already better than Petrie, Cunnington is better than Swallow and was while they were playing together.

I’m just thinking how intolerable North posters will be on the mb when we win a premiership, we’ll be much worse than anyone else.
Oh boy.

Not even close mate.

Similar winning percentages shows that they haven’t been too dissimilar over the years, which was the original point that was made by the original poster.

You can't just compare 8 years of wins and losses - the timing of those wins throughout the 8 years tells a major part of the story about how a club is either building to a premiership, or treading water.

Hardwick's original list was "worse than Fitzroy", whereas Brad Scott's original list was already capable of winning games.

I’m just thinking how intolerable North posters will be on the mb when we win a premiership, we’ll be much worse than anyone else.

With all due respect, but if the Kangaroos win a premiership there simply isn't enough supporters to cause a fuss on the mb. It'll be more like the Dogs where you see the odd smug post, but it's overwhelmed by non-Dogs posters so you kind of forget about it.

Winning percentages only really matter for coaches once they've finished their tenure with a club or their career in general. Coaches start coaching from different positions and you have to evaluate their careers in hindsight. What you'd hope from a coach is for the team to progress up the ladder. Richmond has done that, North have regressed down to the bottom. Question for Scott is how long does it take for him to build a side capable of winning a premiership. I'm not sure he'll ever do that, as his player development and tactics aren't the best.

Please refrain from bringing any club boards into the discussion as it wont end well, for the poster who links, should there be any linking back to threads from team boards.

You just described 90% of threads on the main board since late September last year.

to be fair thats driven by decades of payback

not long ago we had hawks supporters wanting us carded for trolling if we tipped the tigs to beat the hawks on the mb

and that ignores the general consensus that rfc fans were banned from having any opinion on footy because we backed for a s**t club so what would we know

to be fair thats driven by decades of payback

not long ago we had hawks supporters wanting us carded for trolling if we tipped the tigs to beat the hawks on the mb

and that ignores the general consensus that rfc fans were banned from having any opinion on footy because we backed for a s**t club so what would we know
well they cant and wont have it both ways. haha

It should be GWS turn next for a few years of dominance. They have built up top picks and have class players in a good age range. Melbourne are a couple of years behind but are looking good. Carlton have slowly rebuilt but have a good core that should mature slightly after Melbourne. North Melbourne are behind the Blues in their rebuild.

It’s going to take time but Coach Scott can’t take short cuts.

The problem he has is that with such a small membership base they can’t afford to stay on the bottom for too long. But to ultimately succeed, they need to truly bottom out and give the kids that may take them forward a chance.

Will be interesting to see how they approach team selection this year.

It should be GWS turn next for a few years of dominance. They have built up top picks and have class players in a good age range. Melbourne are a couple of years behind but are looking good. Carlton have slowly rebuilt but have a good core that should mature slightly after Melbourne. North Melbourne are behind the Blues in their rebuild.

It’s going to take time but Coach Scott can’t take short cuts.

The problem he has is that with such a small membership base they can’t afford to stay on the bottom for too long. But to ultimately succeed, they need to truly bottom out and give the kids that may take them forward a chance.

Will be interesting to see how they approach team selection this year.

If the club can sell hope and future to it's members and fans then finishing near the bottom for a few years then fans wouldn't jump off.

What? Brown is already better than Petrie, Cunnington is better than Swallow and was while they were playing together.

Brown and Cunnington were better with those four players running alongside them, as was the whole team collectively.

Petrie was far better then Waite, and Swallow easily one of your best bigger bodied mids.

You can't simply replace a senior core of players and their leadership/experience.

Had a few issues recently off field. They are all relatively minor but a pattern is starting to emerge which suggests there may be a few cultural issues among the players.

And lets be honest, they aren't the kind of players who could get away with poor preparation for games etc.

Seem like a team desperate for new leadership

With another bottom 4 finish looming this year do North need a priority pick? If not after their first then certainly end of first round. If as predicted another bottom 4 finish eventuates next year then a priority pick after their first pick is a certainty next year.
Two years near the bottom, assuming that eventuates, is hardly priority pick material. Four or five years with under twenty wins combined in that period, maybe. And I don't think we'll reach the depths of a Carlton/Brisbane/Melbourne 5-10 years.

What do you base your final statement off? What makes you so confident you aren't set for a pretty standard 3 - 5 years rebuild? I wouldnt be surprised if 3 quarters of North's list isn't there in three years. Absolutely cooked

And Carlton's rebuild is in its third year.

What do you base your final statement off? What makes you so confident you aren't set for a pretty standard 3 - 5 years rebuild? I wouldnt be surprised if 3 quarters of North's list isn't there in three years. Absolutely cooked

And Carlton's rebuild is in its third year.

Round 4 is 35 days away.

3 -4 years at the bottom. Recruit well, build a culture and start hitting the finals in 2021 -2022. With a bit of luck, you may win a premiership in that period.

That is how everyone else has done it.

Hardwick's original list was "worse than Fitzroy", whereas Brad Scott's original list was already capable of winning games.

North endured 9 x 10+ goal beatings in Scott's first two seasons. Two years later we were playing in a preliminary final.

With all due respect, but if the Kangaroos win a premiership there simply isn't enough supporters to cause a fuss on the mb. It'll be more like the Dogs where you see the odd smug post, but it's overwhelmed by non-Dogs posters so you kind of forget about it.

The fact that you rate a clubs success on the back of their internet fanboy quota, speaks volumes about your football knowledge.

North endured 9 x 10+ goal beatings in Scott's first two seasons. Two years later we were playing in a preliminary final.

The fact that you rate a clubs success on the back of their internet fanboy quota, speaks volumes about your football knowledge.
No, we rate success on the fact Richmond won the premiership o_O

That is all.

Brown and Cunnington were better with those four players running alongside them, as was the whole team collectively.

Petrie was far better then Waite, and Swallow easily one of your best bigger bodied mids.

You can't simply replace a senior core of players and their leadership/experience.
hahahaha oh my lord