Practice Match vs Box Hill

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Jon Ralph saying prestia 19 disposals 8 tackles in 2and a half qtrs best
Was confirmed in the VFL report on the club web site.

Star Richmond premiership midfielder Dion Prestia showed he has recovered from the hamstring injury that interrupted the latter part of his pre-season, with a strong showing for the Tigers’ VFL team in a practice match earlier today against Box Hill Hawks at the Swinburne Centre’s Punt Road Oval.

Prestia looked a class above the level, as he racked up 19 disposals, along with five clearances and eight tackles, before being rested from about midway through the third quarter.

It remains to be seen whether the Richmond selectors believe Prestia now has sufficient match fitness to be recalled to the senior line-up for next Sunday’s Round 3 fixture against Hawthorn at the MCG, but he certainly boosted his promotional chances with that impressive display today.

"It remains to be seen whether ...." Pfffff.

I'll take that bet. He plays.. no doubt!!

Has to come in to help the contested ball debacle. Vlastuin hopefully back to help down back , get through vs hawks and broad is back (never thought I would be saying that a year ago !) and we start taking better shape .

yeah i have similar thoughts, he's a little way off it yet.

that being said, i really reckon he could play senior footy later this year and have an impact. imagine him and the tross in full flight. i'm at half-mast already :D
Yep Balta is definitely capable of playing 1s some time this year. It will depend how quickly he can adapt to team structures too, once he has that worked out look out. I’ll be surprised if he’s leap frogged Moore at this early stage. Moore’s kicking has improved although he tends to go the long option a little too much rather than kicking to leading forwards

for those at the game how was Moore's defensive workrate & tackling etc? if not up there he won't be selected next week.

Not bad I couldn’t tell you his tackling numbers but observed him on numerous occasions applying defensive pressure when they had the ball but then again the entire team buys into that under McCrae.
His ability to push up high and then double back into the forward line makes him a hard matchup. Also a very good below the knees, he doesn’t fumble too often at ground level

Not bad I couldn’t tell you his tackling numbers but observed him on numerous occasions applying defensive pressure when they had the ball but then again the entire team buys into that under McCrae.
His ability to push up high and then double back into the forward line makes him a hard matchup. Also a very good below the knees, he doesn’t fumble too often at ground level
The goal he kicked in the 2nd q on the boundary , was from a free kick for a great tackle
his defensive efforts have improved

The goal he kicked in the 2nd q on the boundary , was from a free kick for a great tackle
his defensive efforts have improved

Just listening to our old mate Kane Cornes on radio he said that we didn’t bring the ball to the ground enough to allow our small forwards the opportunity to crumb goals. Hard to know what sort of impact Moore could have at the next level up but if he could give an aerial contest and also use his athleticism to provide defensive pressure then he actually might increase opportunities for our small forwards.

Agree with that, and he can help out in the ruck,
He will definitely fly for his marks
He is a very good long kick but struggle when he tries to weight , the ball or chip kick it,he doesn't have silky skills, could definitely play up the ground
Athletically he is very good,,,, the only other option would be chol but i dont think he is quite ready YET

Balta is very physical , great build for afl

I nearly fell over yesterday when I saw him. Already looks like he's done 2 or 3 preseasons. A beast, goes hard and was fearless yesterday at the game.

I don't recall during the draft, but did he already come with gametime against men?

Stengle is so smart with ball in hand

His ability to evade a second tackle while still getting out of the first & still maintain his feet is a skill on it's own....

Cho
has such a beautiful laconic shot when kicking for goal still
A work in progress , but has developed nicely over summer
Definitely has gotten more physical , strong tackler too

Chol seemed to be in early when our smaller guys or any Tiger was being pushed around. He just looked like he wasn't going to tolerate anything like that....He looks like he's gained some genuine self belief too, which is great!!

Hard to lose Caddy but having those three in sounds good.

A question to anyone who saw the game, was Markov playing and how'd he go?

Looks to have put on more size and looked more confident at the level....coming on nicely imho

Could Moore replace McIntosh? Kamdyn's disposal is abysmal at times...

I nearly fell over yesterday when I saw him. Already looks like he's done 2 or 3 preseasons. A beast, goes hard and was fearless yesterday at the game.

I don't recall during the draft, but did he already come with gametime against men?
He is a beast,, superb looking athlete,
Dont think he smiles though