Chris Scotts coaching

Apr 3, 2006
I was talking with Gavin and co. You interjected with your usual nothing. You quoted me, not the other way.
Feel free to go back to the original point of mine where i was suggesting there’s other things in play, not necessarily just Scotts coaching which is the OP. You go from there hey.....

Sure you can question the choices made with list management, but there isn't a team in the comp that doesn't trade in ready made players when they can.

If you think Geelong should have gone full rebuild and spent some time down the bottom of the ladder, that's your opinion, but as we've seen time and again that's no guarantee of any sort of success.

If you want to do a comparison of the players taken, players who've left, picks given and brought in, good luck to you but it's completely hypothetical and pointless in my opinion. That was the point of my original post.

Sure you can question the choices made with list management, but there isn't a team in the comp that doesn't trade in ready made players when they can.

If you think Geelong should have gone full rebuild and spent some time down the bottom of the ladder, that's your opinion, but as we've seen time and again that's no guarantee of any sort of success.

If you want to do a comparison of the players taken, players who've left, picks given and brought in, good luck to you but it's completely hypothetical and pointless in my opinion. That was the point of my original post.

I think it’s simplistic to just say it’s the coaching that is the issue. I just reckon the issue is deeper than that. That’s my point.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

May 5, 2016
-Not playing a ruck against one of the best in the comp atm, then allowing said ruckmen to be BOG
-Running GAJ into the absolute dirt by playing him in the midfield for the entire game.

Pure ******* brilliance from Scott :thumbsu:

You know the guy playing on Natanui had more touches than him, laid 8 tackles, and the back-up guy that played on him had 8 marks and kicked 2.1?

Natanui’s last quarter was colossal, but I would be remarkably surprised if either Stanley or Smith offered a skerrick more than Blicavs or Ratugolea. And while it’s a fairly meaningless stat in the context of the match, the fact that Blicavs had equal fantasy stats with NicNat, and Ratugolea had more than him, would suggest that they at least played a functional role in the game.

Benji85

Aug 22, 2013
You know the guy playing on Natanui had more touches than him, laid 8 tackles, and the back-up guy that played on him had 8 marks and kicked 2.1?

Natanui’s last quarter was colossal, but I would be remarkably surprised if either Stanley or Smith offered a skerrick more than Blicavs or Ratugolea. And while it’s a fairly meaningless stat in the context of the match, the fact that Blicavs had equal fantasy stats with NicNat, and Ratugolea had more than him, would suggest that they at least played a functional role in the game.
Nic Nat had 39 Hit Outs, 6 Tackles and a Goal off 50% ToG. By you're use of fantasy points then NN should be closer to 140 if spend the same time on ground as Ratugolea (who spent 90% ToG)? You're kidding yourself if you don't think NN was one of the key WC players that won us the game. Ratugolea will be a great player but he was no match for NN in the ruck yesterday

May 5, 2016
Nic Nat had 39 Hit Outs, 6 Tackles and a Goal off 50% ToG. By you're use of fantasy points then NN should be closer to 140 if spend the same time on ground as Ratugolea (who spent 90% ToG)? You're kidding yourself if you don't think NN was one of the key WC players that won us the game. Ratugolea will be a great player but he was no match for NN in the ruck yesterday

Can you read?

‘He was colossal in the last quarter’

You know, the quarter where WC kicked 6 goals in 10 minutes? F*** my f***ing face.

The fact is, the two Geelong nominal ruckman, excluding hit outs, did a fine job compared to their counterparts in terms of general play. Considering how s**t Stanley, and usually Smith, are around the ground, in relative terms we didn’t do any worse in that battle than we would have done if we picked one of the specialists

Benji85

Aug 22, 2013
Can you read?

‘He was colossal in the last quarter’

You know, the quarter where WC kicked 6 goals in 10 minutes? F*** my f***ing face.

The fact is, the two Geelong nominal ruckman, excluding hit outs, did a fine job compared to their counterparts in terms of general play. Considering how s**t Stanley, and usually Smith, are around the ground, in relative terms we didn’t do any worse in that battle than we would have done if we picked one of the specialists
And my point is, sore face, that by not playing a decent ruckman and letting NN run riot in the last quarter (and the first as well) Chris Scott and his MC were poor both in their coaching and selection.

You think it didn't contribute much but I think it did, and there's a good consensus in your own match day thread that seems to indicate a problem with both Scott and the MC for that game

Most of you guys who are critical of anything CS does seem to ignore the fact that his decisions come after week long discussions with multiple people- the defensive coach, the forward coach, the mid coach, the assistants etc. Within that group is a variety of educated opinions sometimes as disparate as ours here.

Everything is measured and considered. None of his choices are random just to see if he can give some posters the irrits.

Anybody critical of Sav playing this week? He was a revelation. CS and his MC know exactly how well Smith and Stanley are training, (not impressively evidently)and if not for our 3 injuries, we would have won that game. Then all the attention would have been on WCE letting go a 5 goal lead.

Towmotar

Jun 4, 2015
download.jpg

Apr 3, 2006
I think it’s simplistic to just say it’s the coaching that is the issue. I just reckon the issue is deeper than that. That’s my point.

I have to admit to scratching my head at the team selection though - surely Scott gets the final say amongst the match committee?

Having said that, it nearly worked out.

The fact that they were so dismal in the first half then all of a sudden come out in the 3rd quarter and completely dominate - leads me to believe there was something seriously wrong with either game plan, structure, or player attitude. Coach has to wear that blame I'm afraid - and he has shown in the past an inability to get the playing group sufficiently motivated to start big games well.

Apr 22, 2007
Bentleigh
I have to admit to scratching my head at the team selection though - surely Scott gets the final say amongst the match committee?

The fact that they were so dismal in the first half then all of a sudden come out in the 3rd quarter and completely dominate - leads me to believe there was something seriously wrong with either game plan, structure, or player attitude. Coach has to wear that blame I'm afraid - and he has shown in the past an inability to get the playing group sufficiently motivated to start big games well.
I sometimes wonder whether Scott overthinks and over strategises, where everything is a game of chess complete with the ducks and drakes moves of late changes at the death, which seem to happen each and every week at Geelong.

As you say the fact we only kicked 2 goals to half time last week, before the injuries struck hard, suggests something was off

Another distinct possibility is that Geelong isn't as good as we think

May 2, 2007
WA
Chicago Bears, de Boer, Arsenal

Please mate spell his name properly!

Apr 3, 2006
I sometimes wonder whether Scott overthinks and over strategises, where everything is a game of chess complete with the ducks and drakes moves of late changes at the death, which seem to happen each and every week at Geelong.

As you say the fact we only kicked 2 goals to half time last week, before the injuries struck hard, suggests something was off

Another distinct possibility is that Geelong isn't as good as we think

There is a late change every week without fail. I agree that Geelong aren't much chop at the moment, but the difference between the 2nd and 3rd quarters points to more than that for mine.

gbatman

Mar 26, 2008
Behind You...
Justice League
Still laughing from that time they went into finals a few years back and after a year he hadn't realised Henderson couldn't play forward. But neither could Malthouse. Taylor should have been forward that night. Taylor forward last year was ok, but not needed and it robbed peter to pay paul too much.

He's an ok coach who has had a very good list.

The Ablett, Selwood, Dangerfield thing can be misused.

Ablett is too old for bulk midfield time. Hence another injury. He's a forward who should pinch hit. Geelong went well last season breaking up Selwood and Dangerfield, playing Dangerfield forward more.

There's a lesson to learn here.

Cats must use this to make their midfield deep and have good rotations. Not to make their midfield's total quality value high.

He's ok but he makes mistakes.

Mar 4, 2015
Port Adelaide
Central Districts
I actually feel kind of sorry for Chris Scott to be honest, he's sort of a victim of circumstance to a certain extent.
He took over a brilliant team and won a flag in his first year but because Geelong had been so dominant in the previous 4 seasons many put it down to the list and experience he inherited and gave him very little credit for it.
So what was he to do, he was basically in a catch 22 situation, if he let them slide down the ladder early on in his tenure it would justify those people who said he didnt really earn the flag so it almost forced his hand to keep them up and about in the hope that another flag would quieten the rumblings and cement his place in history as being worthy of the tag Premiership Coach.

Reality says you'd take a flag any day of the week and let the haters hate, but i often wonder if history would have a different opinion of Scotty had he not won that flag.
Now only a fool would write Geelong off this early in the season, but it would be fair to say they are staring down the barrel.

I couldn’t believe you didn’t go in to the game without a bonafide ruckman. Having said that, injuries to Henderson and Taylor in the back half aren’t helping.
I can’t recall a start to the season injury wise for you guys like it has started this season. Reality is, it’s round three and there’s a bloody long way to go. You just have to try and win as many as you can while you’re 4 players down out of your top 20 in the first 10 rounds.
Interesting on Scott though, he’s never really had scrutiny on him before. This could be the first time the media may turn the screws a bit on him.

May 5, 2016
I couldn’t believe you didn’t go in to the game without a bonafide ruckman. Having said that, injuries to Henderson and Taylor in the back half aren’t helping.
I can’t recall a start to the season injury wise for you guys like it has started this season. Reality is, it’s round three and there’s a bloody long way to go. You just have to try and win as many as you can while you’re 4 players down out of your top 20 in the first 10 rounds.
Interesting on Scott though, he’s never really had scrutiny on him before. This could be the first time the media may turn the screws a bit on him.

I don’t blame people for finding it an odd selection, but the question that needs to be asked is this:

What would we have gained by having Smith or Stanley in that side?
- slightly more even share of the hit-outs
- possibly a couple of goals out of Stanley
- more effective tap work from smith.

Now, Ratugolea kicked two goals. So that cancels out the biggest thing Stanley offers which Smith (or Blicavs for that matter) doesn’t.

We have a midfield that, ok, would be even more deadly with a ruckman tapping it down their throat, but will Smith give them enough extra hit-outs to advantage that it will make a huge difference to what they already do courtesy of being such good ball winners? No.

Will Smith tackle as well as Blicavs? No.
Will he be as accountable as Blicavs? No.
Will he be a goal scoring threat like Ratugolea?
No.
Will Stanley outrun Blicavs? No. He’s quick and athletic for his size but he’s inferior.
Will Stanley tap as well as Smith, who it’s already established hasn’t got a great case for playing? No.
So really, while I can understand the ‘you HAVE to play a specialist ruckman on Naitanui argument, at the end of the day I don’t think it’s going to make a lick of difference.

I actually think Smith is a lot better than what he’s given credit for but against the genuine top-tier ruckman like NicNat, Goldstein, Gawn etc it’s just as easy to say ‘ok we accept that we’re going to get belted in a lot of areas of that battle, let’s pick a combination that we think can at least win a few areas of their own.’

Apr 3, 2006

If there's no improvement I have no doubt you're correct. I think with 6 day break, travel to Perth plus injuries he's got a pass this week, if we can't beat St Kilda at home there will be a sizable Geelong board meltdown.

Have actually drafted more players since 2011 than the last two premiers. The assertion the Cats and Hawks have topped up for now and neglected the future is erroneous. Some will point to draft pick quality but I'd say Wells and Wright (Buckenara before him) have good track records at finding players after that first 20 pick range that's deemed the cream of the crop.

51 Draft (both drafts) 9 Trade 3 FA’s since 2011 for the Tigers
52, 9 and 4 for the Dogs.
49, 10 and 4 for the Hawks.
56, 10 and 3 for the Cats.

Also think Scott is coaching better this season, As per Baudolino it appears more of the centre bounce slack has been picked up by Kelly, Duncan, mena etc.
Danger was only at 50% of centre bounces on the weekend. Seems like Scott has made it a priority to get more contributors and not rely on the same two guys. Sav coming in and providing a chop out in the ruck has meant we don't have to field both Stanley and Smith who are both in average form. Fogarty, Gregson, Parfitt, Parsons (lol) are pulling their weight up forward more so than last season.

The defence is holding up well. Going into this round were 18th for I50's conceded yet had the equal 5th best opposition goal rate by I50's (22%). So they've held up so far despite the weight of inside 50's, borne largely out of a ruck division getting spanked. I'd attribute that more to Scarlett and Enright's defensive coaching however. Got them all playing the system.

+ Kolo 51 Bews 54 GHS 47 Thurlow 39 Menegola 34 Stewart 25.
Many sides given that inexperience would be 0-5 or 1-4 and I'd say even us last season would have dropped more games by relying on Danger and Sel more. Interesting 3 weeks coming up with both Sydney clubs and our bogey side, the Pies. Would take 2/3 wins right now.

King Cold

Nov 9, 2011
Geelong VFL
Chris Scott coaches his 200th game this weekend, and with a career win percentage of 70% is easily the best coach going around today and the stats say that he is up there with the best coaches of all time.

No other coach in history has coached as many games at such a high win percentage.

He is currently eyeing off his 5th top 2 finish in 9 seasons as coach, and it'll be our 9th top 2 finish in the last 13 years.

Lots of people criticise his coaching which I don't understand, the only fault that I can pick is that when he took over as coach, our win percentage since 2007 was 83% and it has since dropped to 75% since 2007.

May 5, 2006
Really? That's the the only fault that you can pick?

There has been one criticism levelled at Geelong since the 2011 Grand Final over and above all others by a huge margin and it is performances in finals.

2012 - home EF vs Fremantle, lost
2013 - home QF vs Fremantle @ KP, lost, won home SF vs Port, lost PF vs Hawthorn
2014 - QF vs Hawthorn, lost, SF vs North, lost
2015 - 9th
2016 - QF vs Hawthorn, won because of Isaac Smith, home PF vs Sydney, lost
2017 - QF vs Richmond, lost, home SF vs Sydney won, PF vs Adelaide lost
2018 - EF vs Melbourne lost

3 wins, 9 losses.

At Rd 9 Chris Scott is in a nothing situation. His team is playing well but they've been 6-3, 7-2, 7-2 and 8-1 under him also. He literally can't do anything to change the opinions of those that don't rate his coaching until September. What are you going to do as a journo? Go along to the Rd 10 press conference and ask how he thinks the team will go in the finals? It's kind of like GWS this week. They have take over from us as the "can't win at the MCG" specialists. They are having an excellent season and even knocked off Geelong in Geelong but that has done zero to change perceptions of their MCG hoodoo.

I'd expect Geelong to finish in the top 4 from here which gives them the platform of a double chance and at least one home final though with Collingwood and Richmond looking strong that is neutralised to some degree. Take it to the bank if Geelong win 18 or 19 games in the H&A season and then don't make the GF everyone that says 'Chris Scott sucks' will be saying 'Told you, Chris Scott sucks'. Footy is harsh, just ask Ross Lyon. Scores level 20 minutes into Q4 of the 2009 GF, up by 5 points 21 minutes into Q4 of the 2010 GF. No flags.

Dec 5, 2012
Knicks, Giants
Chris Scott coaches his 200th game this weekend, and with a career win percentage of 70% is easily the best coach going around today and the stats say that he is up there with the best coaches of all time.

No other coach in history has coached as many games at such a high win percentage.

He is currently eyeing off his 5th top 2 finish in 9 seasons as coach, and it'll be our 9th top 2 finish in the last 13 years.

Lots of people criticise his coaching which I don't understand, the only fault that I can pick is that when he took over as coach, our win percentage since 2007 was 83% and it has since dropped to 75% since 2007.
1558588046452.png

99cents

Dec 4, 2011
GWS
Geelong Cats
Really? That's the the only fault that you can pick?

There has been one criticism levelled at Geelong since the 2011 Grand Final over and above all others by a huge margin and it is performances in finals.

2012 - home EF vs Fremantle, lost
2013 - home QF vs Fremantle @ KP, lost, won home SF vs Port, lost PF vs Hawthorn
2014 - QF vs Hawthorn, lost, SF vs North, lost
2015 - 9th
2016 - QF vs Hawthorn, won because of Isaac Smith, home PF vs Sydney, lost
2017 - QF vs Richmond, lost, home SF vs Sydney won, PF vs Adelaide lost
2018 - EF vs Melbourne lost

3 wins, 9 losses.

At Rd 9 Chris Scott is in a nothing situation. His team is playing well but they've been 6-3, 7-2, 7-2 and 8-1 under him also. He literally can't do anything to change the opinions of those that don't rate his coaching until September. What are you going to do as a journo? Go along to the Rd 10 press conference and ask how he thinks the team will go in the finals? It's kind of like GWS this week. They have take over from us as the "can't win at the MCG" specialists. They are having an excellent season and even knocked off Geelong in Geelong but that has done zero to change perceptions of their MCG hoodoo.

I'd expect Geelong to finish in the top 4 from here which gives them the platform of a double chance and at least one home final though with Collingwood and Richmond looking strong that is neutralised to some degree. Take it to the bank if Geelong win 18 or 19 games in the H&A season and then don't make the GF everyone that says 'Chris Scott sucks' will be saying 'Told you, Chris Scott sucks'. Footy is harsh, just ask Ross Lyon. Scores level 20 minutes into Q4 of the 2009 GF, up by 5 points 21 minutes into Q4 of the 2010 GF. No flags.

Selective statistics

Scott has won 6 finals, lost 9 finals.
Finals stats are skewed by the fact that every team loses one a year, apart from the premiers.
What % of finals campaigns results in a premiership?

For some context. Collingwood have won
79, drawn 5, lost 97 finals

This is basically the same as Scott's finals record.

geelong overall 52 finals wins, 66 losses
Giants are 3 wins 4 losses