News Lindsay Thomas - Eastern Park Senior Coach

Giant Roo put this little all angle montage together for people who are still asking about where he hit Selwood first.

On those angles, I see zero head contact. Thomas' hip/rump make contact with Selwood's chest. I reckon the concussion, if there was such, occurs from the Selwood family instinct of throwing back the head to win a free. In effect, Selwood concussed himself by being a flog.

Open your eyes a bit there is plenty of head contact. But its the 3rd part of the body hit not the first.

I'm expecting 4 weeks tonight for Lindsay. Ever since the Tom Jonas hit on Gaff, Port have been made an example of by the AFL. If it were Trent Cotchin or similar, they'd have no case to answer. But because it's Lindsay Thomas, they will throw the book at him.

The AFL has become more and more VFL-centric since Gill took over as the head honcho. It's farcical knowing that tonight is supposed to be a fair hearing when we all know Thomas has been reamed in the public eye before it's even taken place.

Open your eyes a bit there is plenty of head contact. But its the 3rd part of the body hit not the first.
Sorry, I just don't see it. Certainly impact to the body, right arm and under the right shoulder, but I don't see any direct head contact.

I'm expecting 4 weeks tonight for Lindsay. Ever since the Tom Jonas hit on Gaff, Port have been made an example of by the AFL. If it were Trent Cotchin or similar, they'd have no case to answer. But because it's Lindsay Thomas, they will throw the book at him.

The AFL has become more and more VFL-centric since Gill took over as the head honcho. It's farcical knowing that tonight is supposed to be a fair hearing when we all know Thomas has been reamed in the public eye before it's even taken place.

The ex-players that make up the tribunal are probably just there for the free snacks and an excuse to share a few rounds at the local afterwards. It's a free night out.

Sorry, I just don't see it. Certainly impact to the body, right arm and under the right shoulder, but I don't see any direct head contact.
What do you reckon his shoulder is touching in this photo?

upload_2018-4-24_14-5-43.png

Hocking has to pull his ****en head in. He has prejudged the case and he reckons Thomas went for Selwoods head - despite hitting forearm/elbow first then shoulder then head and his MRO saying it was careless because you are allowed to bump, but it wasn't intentional. How can the Footy Ops GM say it was an intentional hit to the head?? How does he read Thomas' mind?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-23/match-review-full-statement-weekend-round-five
Charges Laid:
Lindsay Thomas, Port Adelaide, has been charged with engaging in rough conduct against Scott Selwood, Geelong Cats, during the second quarter of the Round Five match between Port Adelaide and the Geelong Cats, played at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday April 21, 2018.

In summary, he has been referred directly to the Tribunal and cannot accept an early plea.

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Geelong Cats’ Football Club, the incident was assessed as careless conduct with severe impact to the head. The incident was classified as a direct referral to the Tribunal and the player cannot be offered an early plea.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-23/match-review-full-statement-weekend-round-five

Christian plays the potential injury bullshit. Does that mean if someone throws a punch and misses the potential injury will be part of the penalty? You know the one punch stuff we have passed lots of legislation around Oz to try and stop. Will that potential be considered into the future?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-23/thomas-star-hawk-to-tribunal-selwood-ban
Christian told reporters on Monday afternoon the impact of Thomas' bump would normally have been classified as high, which would have resulted in a two-match suspension. "With the potential to cause a more serious injury we decided to upgrade it to severe based around three key factors," Christian said. "The first was the speed at which Thomas was travelling, the second was the position from where he came to bump Selwood and that was from a front-on position, and (there was) also the vulnerability of Selwood."
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-23/thomas-star-hawk-to-tribunal-selwood-ban

Then in the video he explains why its not intentional. See first minute of embedded video
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2018-04-23/lindsay-star-hawk-sent-to-tribunal
MT: Why Careless and not Intentional?

MC: Well under the rules of the game Matt you are allowed and
permitted to run past the ball, as long as the ball is within
5m and execute a bump, so I think its really important to understand
that. It's permitted within the rules, but also to understand that
players get it wrong, and the cut and thrust of the game, the game
has never been quicker. The decision making on the basis of players
has never quicker, so we understand that players get it wrong.
BUT to say he intentionally set out to bump him in the head is a
bridge to far. You're allowed to do it
, You're allowed to bump
under the rules of the game and the balls within 5m, but we understand
players sometimes get it wrong but its not intentional

Hocking speaks some shit. He should disqualify himself from anything to do with the Tribunal system. He still has biased man love for Geelong players after being there so long. He has already pre judged Thomas.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-24/afl-backs-the-bump-but-commits-to-review
Asked whether the Burton and LeCras decisions sent a message to players that they now had a free rein to bump, Hocking said players could opt to bump rather than tackle but were under an onus to do so fairly. "I think the game wants the bump retained, I think that's really important," Hocking said.

"In the Lindsay Thomas case, he chooses to make contact with the head (of Scott Selwood, and was referred directly to the Tribunal on a charge of rough conduct). "I still think there is a duty of care that's required there. Burton, in this case, his duty of care was execution of the bump to a certain standard, which in our view he's ticked all the right boxes
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-24/afl-backs-the-bump-but-commits-to-review

What do you reckon his shoulder is touching in this photo?

View attachment 487484
I'd like a still of that from the reverse angle. I see what you're saying, but I think the reverse of that could show a gap between shoulder and head. That still shows body to body. I don't have the skills to do it, but the reverse at that point would be interesting.

The speed he was travelling at there is only one place where the Thomas' shoulder ends up and that is Selwood's head.

upload_2018-4-24_14-19-2.png upload_2018-4-24_14-19-17.png

If potential injury is the basis for the panel's finding why has duckys trip only attracted a fine?
That's right it used to be a free + 50m and a fine because after Bulldogs player Foster broke his leg in the 1990's, agfter he was deliberately tripped, they said it was dangerous play. They have now scrapped the 50m.

The speed he was travelling at there is only one place where the Thomas' shoulder ends up and that is Selwood's head.

View attachment 487492 View attachment 487494
Thanks for going to the effort. I must be doing this wrong, because I think the first image shows shoulder to arm/shoulder and the second is between the line of Selwood's sternum/shoulder, impacting collar bone area. Selwood is on his knees and leaning forward, keeping his head out of the way. I'm prepared to accept I'm just seeing it wrong.

The reality is, it won't really matter. Thomas has already been found guilty by the media.

Thanks for going to the effort. I must be doing this wrong, because I think the first image shows shoulder to arm/shoulder and the second is between the line of Selwood's sternum/shoulder, impacting collar bone area. Selwood is on his knees and leaning forward, keeping his head out of the way. I'm prepared to accept I'm just seeing it wrong.

The reality is, it won't really matter. Thomas has already been found guilty by the media.
Use the Fox Sports link I put up to blow up the vision if you are struggling to see vision in that tweet.

Yep, it's a bleak outcome predicted.
Not less than 4; not more than 6, I suspect.
Running past the footy to execute the hit - that's a problem.

News Lindsay Thomas - Eastern Park Senior Coach