Universal Love Chris Mayne

Not to mention the 15 hospital handpasses he dished out to people under pressure and how about he actually scores a ****en goal or 2, he is useless. And of his 9 tackles, 7 were only attempted tackles where the opposition easily broke them, stats can be misleading

There’s a difference between tackles and attempted tackles...

I thought he was solid today as a wingman - did some good things. Took some risks that didn’t come off, but overall he was probably in our top 6 or so players.

Although he played on a wing today, I think he has edged ahead of Crocker, and I think his tackling pressure would actually allow Fasolo to come in. We struggled at times when Fasolo and Elliot weren’t on their game defensively last year, but the way things are going on the injury front we won’t be seeing them together for a while.

Not to mention the 15 hospital handpasses he dished out to people under pressure and how about he actually scores a ****en goal or 2, he is useless. And of his 9 tackles, 7 were only attempted tackles where the opposition easily broke them, stats can be misleading

9 tackles mean they actually stuck Parvey, unlike your exaggerations.

Can’t believe Mayne is getting praise for playing on the wing. You want your wing men to be guys who can get the outside ball and drive it forward. The best wingers in the game have between 300-600m gained per game. Maynes contribution yesterday? 154m gained from 25 disposals, meaning he was gaining an average of a whopping 6m per disposal. That’s as bad as Blair’s effort the other week. Non damaging disposals, and heaps of tackles because he’s constantly second to the ball. Can’t kick more than 30m. He’s not AFL standard anymore and we’ve been a significantly worse outfit since he and Blair were recalled.

These two posts above pretty much spot on. Good that he's worked his way back in from the wilderness and been ok, but the standard shown versus the standard required, there is a bit of a chasm there.

If he continues to play, I don't want it to be that high up the ground.

I keep recalling one moment yesterday, he beat his man to the ball, turned him inside....then handballed to Trav Varcoe who was hotter than Mercury. Makes me shudder a bit thinking back on it

Can't question his commitment but sick of watching him chasing tail all game. He's just too slow... and he goes to ground far too easily. Plus as a wingman he is not adept at linking the play... just not damaging enough in the role

He's a depth player who is currently doing an ok job. Unfortunately, we have too many injuries. There are probably youngsters in the VFL with more potential, but at the moment would they actually outperform Chris Mayne? Considering he outperformed a few regulars in the team yesterday, I'd say probably not.

I keep recalling one moment yesterday, he beat his man to the ball, turned him inside....then handballed to Trav Varcoe who was hotter than Mercury. Makes me shudder a bit thinking back on it

I reckon every one of our players did something pretty similar to that on Sunday. The Cats were sweating on our handball chains and cut them off willy nilly.

He's a depth player who is currently doing an ok job. Unfortunately, we have too many injuries. There are probably youngsters in the VFL with more potential, but at the moment would they actually outperform Chris Mayne? Considering he outperformed a few regulars in the team yesterday, I'd say probably not.

i appreciate that we are running out of troops and as i said i am giving Mayne plaudits for putting in. But Fasolo in for Mayne and put WHE or Stephenson on the wing.

I thought he got a few too many cheapies today playing further up the ground than normal.

Still, did some good things. Will hold his spot.

Not worth what we are paying him, but oh well, move on.

Just nothing about him is striking. He doesn't give much X factor. He reminds me of how Didak was his last few games for us, vanilla, uninfluentual, just picking up the easy possessions and not really doing anything to impact the scoreboard .

His body could have had enough since his game style used to be all based about crashing and bashing.

Wash your mouth out mate! Never ever mention 'Didak' and 'doesn't give much X Factor' in the same paragraph again! :p

I said the last few games he played though. Maybe I should have added a huge asterisk. *

His last few games his body was shot and he clearly had a deal on with Swanny and Shaw to give him a few cheapies.

All credit to him for putting together a couple of solid games. I think he has done enough to edge our Blair and Crocker.

But I wouldn't call his game overly damaging and I still don't think his defensive pressure is so good that it should keep out Fasolo. I think it is ok, but not that elite that it excuses his lack of scoreboard impact.

He'll keep his space, but I would like to think that a few players like Daicos or Sier start pushing him out of the side.

Mayne's last 2 games have been reasonably solid! Building nicely, hopefully he can start impacting the score board!
Give us a break, he was recruited as a forward and as forward he is ****en hopeless, now plays his best footy on a wing where he is way too slow and weak, who does he replace on a wing if you don't mind me asking?, he is ****en useless

I'm pretty sure that you're wrong.
It's the same as kicking efficiency, as long as your kicks go over 40 meters they are regarded as efficient, as long as both arms have attempted to tackle the player it is a tackle, watch the game agian and you will see, an absolute ****en spud, his best possy is now on the wing but he too slow and has no penetration to play there, so who does he replace on the wing?, what happened to the great forward he was supposed to be?

I reckon that you have just made that up.

According to the AFL website, you've got to stop the player effectively disposing of the ball.

Here's how it's defined on the AFL website:

Using physical contact to prevent an opponent in possession of the ball from getting an effective disposal.

I'm pretty sure that you're wrong.

Having played Dream Team for 15 years, I've never understood what classifies as a tackle, and what doesn't. Sometimes, a player half sticks a tackle and the opponent has no trouble getting the ball away, and it is paid. Other times, a player lays a beautiful tackle and they don't pay it.

I've come to realise that what constitutes a tackle depends largely on the guy doing the stats, and also certain players seem to get them paid easier than others.

I must admit I didn't really notice 9 Mayne tackles yesterday, but I concede he had a dip defensively.

I reckon that you have just made that up.

According to the AFL website, you've got to stop the player effectively disposing of the ball.

Here's how it's defined on the AFL website:

Using physical contact to prevent an opponent in possession of the ball from getting an effective disposal.
Go to the champion data consenses and you will see it, what you have describes is holding the ball, watch the first quarter and you will see 2 ATTEMPTS where he gets brushed aside

Universal Love Chris Mayne