Maybes:
Back - wood (only due to time/age).
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Lipinski (positive signs)
Dunkley

Gap fillers: Dahl, wallis, Crozier, Trengove, Wallis, Suckling, Biggs, gowers

Adams is a question mark. He can add to our team at either end of the ground, but can’t rely on him to get on the park.

The forward line (now, and into the future) is scary. Can’t pencil in a single player with any confidence at all. Unbelievable.

LittleG

Nov 18, 2015
Taking another review of our next finals team. Guys I’m very confident of:

FB: Williams Cordy.
HB: JJ. Naughton
C: Richards Macrae. Hunter
HF:
FF:
R: English. Bonti. Libba
IC: Mclean, Daniel, Boyd

Maybes:
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Dunkley

Adams is a question mark. He can add to our team at either end of the ground, but can’t rely on him to get on the park.

The forward line (now, and into the future) is scary. Can’t pencil in a single player with any confidence at all. Unbelievable.

Forwards:
Boyd as forward/Ruck, Bont as CHF

Also, missing Adams. IF he gets his body right he has shown more than Cordy & Naughton.

HF:
FF:

Maybes:
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Dunkley

Boyd and Schache have to be played together and develpes in tandem. Bont and McClean rotating through there 30% is a start. Daniel as a small forward also is a good start.

Main thing is we need to start developing our forward line as a foward line not a place to rest players we are developing or playing heavily else where. It is ok to rotate a couple mid/forward or take one from back to develop forward but we seem to do this for ALL of our forwards so none are learning specific forward craft and none are truely practicing goal kicking

Boyd and Schache have to be played together and develpes in tandem. Bont and McClean rotating through there 30% is a start. Daniel as a small forward also is a good start.

Main thing is we need to start developing our forward line as a foward line not a place to rest players we are developing or playing heavily else where. It is ok to rotate a couple mid/forward or take one from back to develop forward but we seem to do this for ALL of our forwards so none are learning specific forward craft and none are truely practicing goal kicking

Daniel is a terrible small forward. He’s slowish, can’t tackle, can’t compete in the air and doesn’t kick goals.

bullish23

Oct 2, 2002
Arsenal

HF:
FF:

Maybes:
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Dunkley

Agree with all of that. For me Young is big maybe. Maybe we have to do what the tigers did with Rance and leave him in the 2s for a few seasons.

A lot relies on Schache going by that which is a bit scary.

Apr 8, 2005

HF:
FF:

Maybes:
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Dunkley

I agree with most of that but think you're being a bit harsh on Wallis. Genuine B grader (in a good way), not elite but a solid performer.
I'd also think Richards probably fits in the backline and think we lack another genuine winger

SCRAY72

Jun 20, 2002
Footscray

HF:
FF:

Maybes:
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Dunkley

Won a flag with Dunkley, Clay, Stringer, Cordy, Boyd and Dickson playing forward.
Richmond got their goals from a variety of different players. Teams with traditional forward set ups like GWS and Adelaide fell short.
I agree our current forward line is all over the shop and they need to sort it out but history shows that teams have won flags with inferior forward lines if you have a settled back half and midfield depth.

Apr 8, 2005
Won a flag with Dunkley, Clay, Stringer, Cordy, Boyd and Dickson playing forward.
Richmond got their goals from a variety of different players. Teams with traditional forward set ups like GWS and Adelaide fell short.
I agree our current forward line is all over the shop and they need to sort it out but history shows that teams have won flags with inferior forward lines if you have a settled back half and midfield depth.
If we could improve our goal kicking accuracy across the board, i would be comfortable with the current forward set up. But we are atrocious kicking for goal and part of that has to be due to players not specialising in forward craft (getting to the right spots and kicking for goal)

Mar 10, 2007
Charlton Athletic, Roys FFC
We would be up there as one of the higher scoring sides if our accuracy was up to scratch.

Had we converted properly this season we would have had 2 additional games in our wins column.

A couple more last year too....

SCRAY72

Jun 20, 2002
Footscray
If we could improve our goal kicking accuracy across the board, i would be comfortable with the current forward set up. But we are atrocious kicking for goal and part of that has to be due to players not specialising in forward craft (getting to the right spots and kicking for goal)
That is why they should give Schache a chance, he might only get 5 kicks but that 5 kicks could return 4.1 or 3.2.
This crap about not being ready for senior footy , FFS he has played 27 senior AFL games.

The Inbetweener

Nov 25, 2011
Footscray
Getting back to this, I reckon we have:

2 A grade mids in Macrae and Bont - although Bont is clearly injured.

A really good player in Maclean.

A good future ruckman in English who is a few years away from being steady.

The potential of a good backline with the likes of Adams, Cordy, Williams and Naughton.

That’s about it for positives.

Big question marks over the likes of
Wallis
JJ
Libba (how we will return. At his best he is an A grader)
Dahlhaus
Wood
Daniel

Most seem to have reached their peak or are in decline (possibly harsh on Daniel)

We just need to inject more talent into the list and draft some forwards. Think it will be a long slog.

BRWB

10k Posts The Cult of Robbo
Oct 7, 2012
Getting back to this, I reckon we have:

2 A grade mids in Macrae and Bont - although Bont is clearly injured.

A really good player in Maclean.

A good future ruckman in English who is a few years away from being steady.

The potential of a good backline with the likes of Adams, Cordy, Williams and Naughton.

That’s about it for positives.

Big question marks over the likes of
Wallis
JJ
Libba (how we will return. At his best he is an A grader)
Dahlhaus
Wood
Daniel

Most seem to have reached their peak or are in decline (possibly harsh on Daniel)

We just need to inject more talent into the list and draft some forwards. Think it will be a long slog.

I actually think it can turn around real quick. Particularly if we recruit a couple of mature mid/fwds via FA while retaining our own FAs.

Move on excess talls like one of Rough/Campbell, Roberts, Honey and a couple of injury prone players and replace with 2 gun draftees and a couple of mature mids and fwds and we wont know ourselves.

The Inbetweener

Nov 25, 2011
Footscray
I actually think it can turn around real quick. Particularly if we recruit a couple of mature mid/fwds via FA while retaining our own FAs.

Move on excess talls like one of Rough/Campbell, Roberts, Honey and a couple of injury prone players and replace with 2 gun draftees and a couple of mature mids and fwds and we wont know ourselves.
Could be right mate and hope so. Right now I’m pretty content to pump as much talent in the next two years and have another dip with Bont and macrae entering their primes and Libba still being around the mark at 28

HF:
FF:

Maybes:
- young

Mid -

Forward - Schache
Dunkley

I just keep coming back to this. Not much has changed in this regard.

Lipinski looks a player.

Backline built around Naughton, Cordy, JJ and Williams will be fine.

Midfield needs some more speed and class, but Bonti, Macrae, English, Libba, Hunter, Richards, McLean and West is an excellent foundation.

The forward line?? Still a massive Yikes!

Lipinski looks a player.

Midfield needs some more speed and class, but Bonti, Macrae, English, Libba, Hunter, Richards, McLean and West is an excellent foundation.

Like that you have Richards in the mids. Would look at small rotations through there for the remainder of the year.
I agree with the forward line but think too much focus is on the gun KPP when mediums and small who can also apply pressure are at least if not more critical.

how bad would our forward line be if we actually played Boyd there, developing Schack and Gowers, rotating 2 mids and had a fit and healthy Picken, Dickson and Smith.

Firstly strengthen the midfield as a priority which will get us competitive immediately, then work on rebuilding the forward line to work back towards chellenging

LittleG

Nov 18, 2015

Lipinski looks a player.

Boyd will make the FF spot his own. Schache will play the CHF role but we really need a Bont playing forward taking the number 1 defender.

This draft has some good inside midfielders in it, plus West (F/S who will play forward early career). Buku looks like a potential wing/HBF and can fill in another spot.

I would love an extra first rounder at about pick 10 but not sure we can turn Dahl comp + Wallis comp + Rough comp + other fringe players into that top ten pick.

EDIT: actually I think we could do it with North needing points and their first rounder will disappear for their F/S. same with Swans first rounder, so we might be able to get those picks that way.

redmania

Jun 19, 2016
FB: Williams Adams ???
B: Richards Cordy Naughton
C: Hunter Macrae Mclean
F: Dunkley ??? Lipinski
FF: Gowers Schache Dale
Fol: English Bont Libba
Int: Young, JJ, Rankine, West

Richards to captain/coach from 2021.
He'll go to Collingwood by then.

Updates:

1. Crozier is nice. Excellent overhead, athletic and great by foot. Anyone who’s had an MCL will tell you it takes time to get back from. Finally looks fit and coming into his own the last 2 weeks.

2. Schache starting to show real promise as a CHF. He’s reasonably weak in the air (not what I expected), but his wheels and his ball use (both hand and foot) are very good. We want him kicking it inside 50, not kicking it to him inside 50.

3. Gowers moves on to the “maybes” list.

FB: Williams Cordy. _________
HB: JJ. Naughton Crozier
C: Richards. Macrae. Hunter
Hf: Mclean. Schache. __________
FF: __________ __________. ___________
R: English. Bont. Libba
IC: _________. _________ __________ ___________

Maybes - Boyd, Daniel, west, Dunkley, wood (body), Adams (body), gowers, lipinski.