QAFL 2018

Got no idea where it’s going, a very shallow talent pool in Qld for both players and coaches yet we need a points system where ex AFL players are 6 points and clubs are discouraged from recruiting them.
60 million dollars a year is pumped into Qld Footy each year, where is it? QAFL clubs are paying over the odds to be in this competition, are they subsidising AFLQ? Has the standard of play, administration, coaching, umpiring improved in the last few years?
It needs people with vision and talent to move it forward, too many people looking to take advantage and not enough selflessly contributing.
And Smy not sure why you are calling me mate.

Would say yes to quite a few of those questions. Be xareful you arent using your club as exemplar A B and C. Maybe things arent rosy there right now and as usual club people looking out rather than in...
The standard of coaching at qafl level is incredibly good right now. The guys in charge at most clubs have incredibly good credentials.certainly better than 4 years ago. Includes neafl as well now that southport recognise playing at afl level doesnt make you a good coach....
The competition is as even as it has ever been, no idea whether the points sustem will be good or bad but it works in other regions of australia, afl players arent discouraged but encouraged to go bk to junior club and put in there on retirement from afl. Is that a terrible thing?

How far back do you want to go with administration? Think you will find people were bitching and moaning 20 yrs ago so its a fact of life. Significantly worse back then imo.

As for player talent from qld? Well thats your opinion.

Quiet only because we don’t agree with where QAFL footy is going,and Qld footy in general. As for success that is always sweeter when you have been down which we were for along time. Just to remind everybody 4 grand finals,3 minor premierships, 2 premierships and at one stage 31 games in a row including a premiership. Premier2010 when you put it out there you better deliver,look forward to your Broadbeach 2018 Premiership.

Actually I said PBC then daylight.....

Look I agree with some of your sentiments around the costs associated participating in this comp. Seems crazy, and suggests that there’s too many office people up at AFLQ. And the onfield success or lack of it of the AFL teams is the biggest issue for QLD footy.

But I think the talent base and coaching in QLD is definitely getting better. The academies are helping in this area. And definitely strides have been made with facilities, women’s footy and the Auskick stuff has been well done for a decade.

Actually I said PBC then daylight.....

Look I agree with some of your sentiments around the costs associated participating in this comp. Seems crazy, and suggests that there’s too many office people up at AFLQ. And the onfield success or lack of it of the AFL teams is the biggest issue for QLD footy.

But I think the talent base and coaching in QLD is definitely getting better. The academies are helping in this area. And definitely strides have been made with facilities, women’s footy and the Auskick stuff has been well done for a decade.

The academies are a joke and the focus on womens footy to the detriment of grassroots footy that pays the bills is abhorrent.

60 million dollars a year is pumped into Qld Footy each year, where is it? QAFL clubs are paying over the odds to be in this competition, are they subsidising AFLQ? Has the standard of play, administration, coaching, umpiring improved in the last few years?

Standard has improved, unsure on adminstration. Umpiring is a moving target. Coaching has improved dramatically, probably why your club is where it is - got a magnet mover coaching a bunch of stars. Can't get by like that anymore.

How are clubs paying over the odds? Does it cost more to play in the QAFL than Div 1? If so, how much more and why? 1 extra umpire and recorded games?

What does it cost to compete in the QWAFL?

Reckon
Standard has improved, unsure on adminstration. Umpiring is a moving target. Coaching has improved dramatically, probably why your club is where it is - got a magnet mover coaching a bunch of stars. Can't get by like that anymore.

How are clubs paying over the odds? Does it cost more to play in the QAFL than Div 1? If so, how much more and why? 1 extra umpire and recorded games?

What does it cost to compete in the QWAFL?

Reckon women's footy is paying the way of a few senior men's clubs atm! I think finding ways to decrease costs to clubs should be a priority. 3 umpires for the standard of footy being played is ridiculous, mandatory videoing I'm not 100% sold on either. If clubs want to do it then good on them but to impose a cost on all for the sake of live streaming is a bit rich imo. But then some clubs are happy to pay a guy $1000/wk to play at this level as well... AFLQ probably argue - well hang on...

Welcomed advice or comment, please.

Situation:

Our Senior men's team is scheduled to play but opposition side forfeits on the morning of the game.
So coach decides to take the team to watch a local game of two opposing teams in the comp and socialise as a team.
One of our top players wants to play with the opposition side were watching, because they only have 3 on the bench.
Coach says no way, because he doesn't want to risk injury and plus that team isn't short.

President cracks the shiits and says it's not the coaches choice to make and blames coach for driving a wedge between clubs now.
Coach say bull to that.

President calls a committee meeting in the following days with-out the coach knowing and sells his side of the story to the committee.
Committee vote with the president.

President then contacts coach about the meeting and new club rule. New club rule is now President has say on all players playing for opposition clubs whenever he sees fit.

I'd love to know anyone's thoughts or recommendations.

Thanks

Haha - I'd say that's crap.

Situation:

Our Senior men's team is scheduled to play but opposition side forfeits on the morning of the game.
So coach decides to take the team to watch a local game of two opposing teams in the comp and socialise as a team.
One of our top players wants to play with the opposition side were watching, because they only have 3 on the bench.
Coach says no way, because he doesn't want to risk injury and plus that team isn't short.

President cracks the shiits and says it's not the coaches choice to make and blames coach for driving a wedge between clubs now.
Coach say bull to that.

President calls a committee meeting in the following days with-out the coach knowing and sells his side of the story to the committee.

President then contacts coach about the meeting and new club rule. New club rule is now President has say on all players playing for opposition clubs whenever he sees fit.

Thanks
President has a massive ego, coach would be peed off

Situation:

Coach say bull to that.

President then contacts coach about the meeting and new club rule. New club rule is; 'now President has say on all players playing for opposition clubs whenever he sees fit'.

Thanks

If there wasn’t a forfeit then the player in question would’ve played for his own club and risked injury correct?
Presidents role is to run the club not the team, this is the player and coaches call, President should be informed but not part of the discision.

Good morning Thomo 42,

I've read many of your posts over time and I respectfully appreciate your opinion.
To be honest I was hopeful of comments by someone like yourself when I raised this topic.
On this occasion I beg to differ though.

This is a club in Queensland and in a Queensland league and its AFL.
I'm sorry if you consider it something different.

Please feel free to pm me and explain why I have it wrong in this circumstance.
Again I value your input, so feel free to pm me.

If the club isn’t in the QAFL, it is not relevant to this thread. Post it in the comp thread it relates to.

When you decide to go public with something like this, but won’t say who or where, but still post specifics on the incident without names, it seems quite weak and spineless to me.

Good morning Thomo 42,

I've read many of your posts over time and I respectfully appreciate your opinion.
To be honest I was hopeful of comments by someone like yourself when I raised this topic.
On this occasion I beg to differ though.

This is a club in Queensland and in a Queensland league and its AFL.
I'm sorry if you consider it something different.

Please feel free to pm me and explain why I have it wrong in this circumstance.
Again I value your input, so feel free to pm me.

I'm unsure if you understand, but the QAFL is a league with 9 clubs. There hasn't been any forfeits in this league (lol!) so it has ZERO relevance.

find whichever league it relates to and go and post your dribble there.

Sure, I understand your reference to relevance now.
Sorry I'm not as educated or as polite as you.

Obviously I've misinterpreted what decency and respectfulness is and have overlooked your righteous indignation.

Good day to you sir.

Probably my favourite post on Bigfoot’s ever. Cop that Thommo.... good day to you sir... classic

I don't recall saying it isn't in Queensland.
I've pointed out that it is Queensland.

Thanks for your opinion. Which your entitled too, however I'd appreciate you refrain from making your direct comments regarding weakness and spineless purely on the aspects that I'm not naming individuals.
obviously relates to Darling Downs, there is a thread here for that. Take your whining over there. QAFL is not all footy in Queensland, its the elite competition where people don't permit to opposition and have forfeits

You are already a prolific poster in the AFL Darling Downs thread, so why drop your smelly turds in this one?

Also, get back on your meds.

or you could just post stuff in the appropriate thread rather than trying to overuse your thesaurus in a poor attempt to look intelligent.

I feel for whichever president and coach of the club you refer to here, but don't wish to name, having to deal with someone like you. Maybe go and ask in the NEAFL thread?

Longy_Zillmere, who am I to argue with a self proclaimed guru like 'Fan the Man' who believes the meaning of elite is his morning bare chested flex in the mirror screaming out "I am elite, I am elite" to his reflection.

When really everyone knows he is just a Goru (Urban Dictionary)

Please don’t confuse my comments for support. You could be the biggest nuffy to grace these pages for some time, Fan included. My love is for the stupidity and also using the term “good day to you sir”, like some sort of medieval knight...

And using insults off urban dictionary, well that was icing on a very stupid and funny cake...

Surfers ran Palmy to within two goals on the weekend, how do you guy's rate Surfers chance of playing finals. They are certainly going along better than predicted.

or you could just post stuff in the appropriate thread rather than trying to overuse your thesaurus in a poor attempt to look intelligent.

I feel for whichever president and coach of the club you refer to here, but don't wish to name, having to deal with someone like you. Maybe go and ask in the NEAFL thread?

The seriousness of the incident I feel warrants a full blown inquiry. Perhaps AFLQ needs to step in, perhaps with a few AFL representatives. Gill would no doubt need to be updated each week on progress.

My advice to the president is to beat his shield upon his shield and to no man or beast yield.

Comedy gold.